We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$154
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Rivendell Guest House(Windhoek)(Great Value!)
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$72/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Arebbusch Travel Lodge(Windhoek)(Great Value!)
US$60
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$62/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$240
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$185
US$138
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vineyard Country Bed & Breakfast(Windhoek)(Great Value!)
US$58
US$56
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hartmann Suites Serviced Apartments(Windhoek)(Great Value!)
US$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
17
37
27
13
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
37
27
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclose to the airportwindhoek airportlast nightbetween flightsperfect locationearly flightwalking trailslounge areashort drivefarmwarthogsklmcampsitereceptionkmaccommodationfireplace
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2017

Con's:
- The transfer was very expensive for the short drive (15 EUR p.p. per way...)
- No possibility to go out for dinner. Dinner at the property was ok, but the food was luke warm
- It's all about location, but the price per night with approx. 120 EUR (for double bed room) was compared to other places in Namibia we stayed very much overpriced.

Pro's:
- Location: It's just a 10min drive from Windhoek Airport which makes it great as first or last night location
- Airport shuttle to / from hotel can be booked
- Good wifi for free
- Beds have mosquito nets all over
- Good water pressure
- Comfortable and large beds
- Very green and lovely maintained pool and garden
- Possibilities to take short walks on the property (the look out tower is very recommendable!)

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luzifrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline R, Owner at Ondekaremba, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2017

Thank you very much for the long list of "pro's" - and for mentioning the "con's", too.

For a standard room we charge 1,040 N$ (67 Euro) pp., but please note that it includes also dinner - for the very reason you mention, that you can't really go out for dinner. This is on the lower end of the medium price segment lodges in Namibia. By the way: There is no surcharge for singles.

For a transfer we charge 235 N$ (15 Euro) for a single person and 160 N$ (10.40 Euro) pp. as from 2 persons. In order to offer the transfer service reliably on a daily basis, we have to permanently employ three drivers (with public drivers license), in case one of them is on leave and another one falls sick. We invested in a quantum bus. Cars need to be imported and therefore are very expensive. In Namibia the rate of interest is more or less 10 percent. So kindly understand that in our case petrol and wear & tear only make up a very low part of the total costs.

Best regards from Ondekaremba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

My husband and I stayed here in two different bungalows for the first and last nights of our holiday in Namibia. The lodge is conveniently situated to the International Airport and for the 10km journey a member of staff collected us in a taxi for N$340. By comparison we rented a taxi to take us to and from The Grove shopping Mall in Windhoek, a journey of 89km for N$300.
We were given a nice welcome by the lady on reception. The proximity of the lodge to the airport gives it great potential but the owners are not cashing in on this.
The furniture and decoration in the communal areas and bungalows are dated. They look original and need to be replaced to bring the lodge up to the standard people expect.
Most of the curtains in the bungalows didn't cover the windows but left a gap at one side or the other; a clear glass window in the external wall of one shower room didn't have a curtain and a broken window catch in one kitchen was secured with a chord from the blind.
The beds, however, were comfortable and the bedding and towels of good quality. The showers were hot and the rooms clean and tidy. The kitchens were well stocked with cooking equipment and basic tea/coffee making ingredients. Each bungalow had a kitchen area, lounge, bedroom, shower room, separate toilet and a nice outside sitting area with chairs and table. They also had a wood burning stove in the lounge.
The grounds are attractive, well maintained and frequented by a small family of warthogs. We didn't use the pool.
We had two dinners and two breakfasts at the lodge. The only vegetarian alternative for me was omelet, which was odd since at the second dinner the accompanying vegetable dish was a very nice cheese filled marrow. My husband and the two other diners had difficulty eating the badly cooked, tough meat on the first night. The second dinner was much better. At breakfast, the yolks of our fried eggs were broken.
On our second stay, the dining room was filled with flies and not helped by having all the windows opened. The flies were walking over the uncovered breakfast cereals that were on a side table in preparation for the morning. At breakfast, everything including the same cereals were hygienically covered in cling film.
Apart from the receptionist, the staff were not friendly but this may be due to their hesitance to communicate with foreigners.
We paid N$2350.26 for each nights dinner, bed and breakfast and for this expected European standards but didn't get them.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MgtAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline R, Owner at Ondekaremba, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Thank you very much for your detailed feedback, which we forwarded to the lodge manager to discuss with his team.

You stayed in one of our large apartments. For a standard room (without kitchen) you would have paid N$ 1,950 (incl. dinner, bed and breakfast).

As explained in our response to an earlier comment (below), it is not possible for us to calculate the costs for our transfer by the number of kilometres. True: The airport is only 10 km away. But in order to offer this service reliably on a daily basis, we need to permanently employ three drivers, just in case that one of them is on leave or on off-days while the second one falls ill. In addition, we use a Toyota Quantum for our shuttles. Cars are very expensive in Namibia. So our basic costs are much higher than those of a taxi company, using cheaper sedan cars.

And yet, our service allows guests to save on costs for transport, because they can do without a hired car for the time of their stay - which costs much more than the N$ 320 we charge for an airport transfer for 2 persons.

Best regards from Ondekaremba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

Ondekaremba Farm is a convenient place near Windhoek's International Airport. Its history goes back to German occupation and some of that history is part of the experience staying at Ondekaremba Farm. It looks in many ways that it hasn't changed much, so facilities are clean and functional, but not really give the feel of a lodge or resort. The farm has several hiking trails and there are many places to enjoy the great diversity of birds in the savanna type countryside. The wild hogs are very tame and they seem to serve as the local lawnmowers, while I also managed to find a few oryx on my evening walk. My service requests about my reservation were sadly not processed after calling and emailing the management, resulting in extra expenses, while the only transport into Windhoek is by calling a taxi from the airport. Supper and breakfast was included in my reservation and the food is very nice and served in smaller dining rooms to seat from 10 to 20 people. If they upgrade the facilities a bit and manage it a bit better, it could become a good place to come back to.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Durkfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline R, Owner at Ondekaremba, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Thank you for your positive feedback on your stay at Ondekaremba.

We tried to keep the atmosphere of the historic farm building instead of turning it into yet another stereotype lodge. In order to achieve an even more unique appearance, we plan an upgrade in the near future.

Sorry to hear about the hiccup concerning your service requests. We recommend to contact our booking office (as mentioned on our website) instead of the lodge reception, because the latter is operating in shifts and it has a lot of additional responsibilities.

We offer transfers to and fro the International Airport and on request arrange transfers to and fro Windhoek.

Kind regards from Ondekaremba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the self catering units and had all meals in lodge. The units are very basic, small, not to clean and they don’t clean during your stay. The pool at the lodge is nice. Food was from a poor level but service team was great!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Katrijn_Jeroen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline R, Owner at Ondekaremba, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

The rooms of our self-catering bungalows ("Erioloba Village") are indeed basic, as you would expect from a budget accommodation.

However, it is unacceptable that your rooms were not clean. Our staff would have cleaned it without any doubt if they were notified. There must have been a misunderstanding: The rooms are cleaned every morning, same as in the lodge, unless guests explicitly tell our room service not to.

Kind regards from Ondekaremba (10 min from the International Airport)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

Nice lodge with big, spacious rooms. It is very close to the airport. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Lovely garden and pool. Nice walks around the lodge. Dinner is included but you have to eat the same set menu as everybody else. They charge too much for transportation to/from airport: about 10 € each way per person. If you are in a group they will charge you individually, which I find unreasonable.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank aner g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline R, Owner at Ondekaremba, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Thank you very much for your feedback, especially with regards to the transfer, as you give us the opportunity to explain the cost calculation which is not only based on petrol.

Yes, you are right: It is only a 10 minute drive to the airport. However, in order to offer this service reliably on a daily basis, we need to employ three drivers (with a public drivers licence), as one might be on leave or on off-days while the second one might get ill. In addition, we invested in a Toyota Quantum - and cars are very expensive in Namibia.

You are also right: When there is a group, we score a bit. But don't forget the many times we have only have two passengers on our transfers.

Great that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Greetings from Ondekaremba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews