We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
18
41
28
14
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
41
28
14
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews close to the airport windhoek airport last night early flight perfect location walking trails short drive rooms are spacious farm warthogs klm campsite beds km accommodation units wifi
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2017

Ondekaremba is an old style rural hotel / hunting lodge. Differing chalets spread around spacious grounds, clean and well kept, each with a quiet stoep, front and back. Coffee/tea maker in room.

Central bar/reception/dining room.

Peaceful, pleasant gardens with pool and boma where complimentary afternoon coffee and cakes are served, a nice bonsella.

Welcoming chocolate bar on the pillows too, a kind and unusual touch.

Warthogs, buck and birdlife aplenty.

Dinner was good, staff were helpful and friendly, and a packed meal-to-go was offered for my pre-breakfast flight departure.

I did not see the standard brown hotel roadsign along the highway: the entrance is a prominent archway marked 'Rust'. Check in at the gate and the lodge is another 4km or so, becoming a narrow farm track past the campsite, with a riverbed crossing.

Could be difficult in a 2WD after good rains, and makes the claim of 10 minutes to the airport rather optimistic. Better to allow a half hour minimum if you're returning a rental.

I enjoyed my stay and my dinner and the staff made me feel most welcome.

Airport shuttle by arrangement.

Recommended for early departure or late arrival. Windhoek is almost an hour away.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irlantilainen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline R, Owner at Ondekaremba, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

;-) We like your "tongue-in-cheek"-ly remark about the optimistic 10 min you need to drive from the lodge to the airport. May we respond in the same winking tone and speak of confidence (of the driver) instead? Let's focus on the distance: From the lodge to the gate it's 2 km on a (good) farm road, from there it's 7 km on tar road to the airport and 35 km to Windhoek. The drivers of our shuttle need 5 min to the gate and a further 5 min to the airport / 25 min to Windhoek.

Thank you for mentioning the Namibian phenomenon of flowing rivers (which Namibians are so thrilled about that they drive to the nearest bridge after a good rainfall, by the way): When the Seeis river is wet or flowing after rains, guests can park their car on the "safe" side of the river and we offer a 4x4 shuttle service to and fro the lodge. Of course in that case you need to add 10 minutes.

We and our team are really delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Should you visit us again, don't forget your stop-watch ;-)

Winking greetings from Ondekaremba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

The property is very close to airport, like 10 minutes, although a very strange way to get there.
The room was like an apartment with two rooms, each with a bathroom with very simple, if any toiletries. There is no air conditioner or TV.
The bed linens were very worn, with holes and the mosquito nets were ripped and some of them didn't even got to the floor. I think they would benefit with new linens.
We couldn't eat dinner at the dinning area because all the little flies all over us and they didn't start serving until almost 1 hour after they said they will.
I don't think we will be staying here again.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank NadiaMex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline R, Owner at Ondekaremba, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

We like to apologise about the linen and the mosquito nets. We exchanged the linen and mosquito nets in all rooms in the process of our annual renovation of the lodge end of January to mid February. Your room must have been done just after your stay.

After rains in summer, everywhere in Namibia you will experience an increasing number of insects. However, our lodge manager cannot recall having flies in the restaurant.

Kind regards from Ondekaremba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2016

we stayed at the campsite, which a little bit (5 min. walk) away from the main building. the campsite was in the bush. we had to ask for new light bulbs otherwise it would have been pitch black to go to the ablutions. The lady at the reception was apathic and stuffily kind.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank stefanmrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline R, Manager at Ondekaremba, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2016

We like to apologise for the broken light bulbs. Our cleaning staff should have checked and reported it to our maintenance team. At the reception you might have met a new member of our staff, stepping in while our receptionist had to attend to an urgent task. No excuse, but please understand: There is a lack of trained personnel in Namibia. We have to train our staff from scratch and that does not happen at a moment's notice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016

Quiet big rooms, friendly staff, relaxing near the airport. (normally you don't hear the planes, depending on the wind, but even then there are no much flights and it doesn't disturb the silence of the place) Wonderul stay before heading home, also for two nights. Good meals, nice garden with pool. Interesting history. Walking and watching birds, warthogs, game. Possibility to let the car be cleaned.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoanaDortmund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline R, Manager at Ondekaremba, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2016

You could also save on costs for car hire during your stay, because we offer shuttles to and fro the airport and to and fro Windhoek... Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2016

This is a lovely lodge conveniently located near the airport. I had a beautiful house all to myself. I was very, very comfortable, and found my stay very enjoyable. I would love to return and as well as stay longer next visit. Food was excellent, and service too. My house had a full size kitchen, and a fireplace. There also was a patio with table and braai. It was all very comfortable.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank zenseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline R, Manager at Ondekaremba, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2016

Wow, five stars... Our staff like to thank you very much for your positive comment about your stay at Ondekaremba!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews