We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (647)
Filter reviews
647 results
Traveller rating
352
197
61
20
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
352
197
61
20
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main building grand dame grand old lady maisha spa beautiful hotel turn down service old style swimming pool old world charm indian ocean guest relations five star hotel bars and restaurants overlooking the ocean maputo bay rooms are large prawns
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 647 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

We stayed for one night on way to WhitePearl. It was ok but very disappointing room (meant to have sea view deluxe) but was a dark room and just a small view of sea covered mainly by a huge crane. Was ok for quick stop over.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Beth018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

A hotel that is itself a legend and famous all over the world! When one talks about Mozambique and Maputo, "Polana Serena Hotel" will always come up to the conversation! And always bringing fond memories back! Chic, sophisticated and cosmopolitan! You should not absolutely miss it while visiting Maputo! At its trendy bar, enjoy the view and unforgettable gins! Extremely friendly service and prices, as expected, on the five stars side. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LuizDutraNeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, Manager at Polana Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Dear Mr. Luiz,
Greetings from Polana Serena Hotel,
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Polana Serena Hotel through the Guest Survey.

As a valued customer, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations.

We assure you of our commitment to turn your stay into a memorable experience. Your feedback is vital to our ability to continue to improve our service. Thank you again for your time and come visit us again soon!

Yours Sincerely

Polana Serena Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018 via mobile

I've been impressed since day 1.Great hospitality,food were all delicious(and halal too!).Not too mention great view!
Polana is located at the elite part of Maputo with 10-15 mins walking distance to great bars and restaurants.

They need improvement on housekeeping who kept on forgetting one or two things.My first day, they forgot to replace the soap.day two they forgot to replace my shower cap. Butnall of which can be settled by phone call for quick replacement.

I also love the chocolate which they put each day.Don't forget to try the indoor pool and jacuzzi for free!

Thank you for having me.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
Thank mbulss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, Manager at Polana Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Polana Serena Hotel,
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Polana Serena Hotel through the Guest Survey.

As a valued customer, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations.

We assure you of our commitment to turn your stay into a memorable experience. Your feedback is vital to our ability to continue to improve our service. Thank you again for your time and come visit us again soon!

Yours Sincerely

Polana Serena Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

We visited the Hotel twice, first time for drinks at the terrace, thinking we will catch the sunset, however the sun sets from the river side, not the ocean side where the hotel is. The second time we stayed at the pool all day, it was quite relaxing and nice, we ordered couple of drinks. The views are beautiful and the hotel is kept sparkling clean. The pool just needed a bit of cleaning as it was quite windy and had some leaves and bits of soil at the bottom of the pool. The hotel has an ideal location and it is really grand compared to everything else in Maputo.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank MahaGalieva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, Manager at Polana Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Dear MahaGalieva,

Greetings from Polana Serena Hotel,
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Polana Serena Hotel through the Guest Survey.

As a valued customer, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great moment. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations.

We assure you of our commitment to turn your visit into a memorable experience. Your feedback is vital to our ability to continue to improve our service. Thank you again for your time and come visit us again soon!

Yours Sincerely

Polana Serena Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

We took a pool access for one day as a treat in our last day. The cost is 750 MZN for each person. The hotel is amazing and everyone was smiling inside. It has a very nice ocean view from the pool. Prices were high however the service was exceptional. The only negative point was the pool was not clean so we did not swim much.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank TravElkouteini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, Manager at Polana Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Dear Sam Elkouteini,

Greetings from Polana Serena Hotel,
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Polana Serena Hotel through the Guest Survey.

As a valued customer, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great moment. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations.

We assure you of our commitment to turn your visit into a memorable experience. Your feedback is vital to our ability to continue to improve our service. Thank you again for your time and come visit us again soon!

Yours Sincerely

Polana Serena Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews