We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7)
Filter reviews
7 results
Traveller rating
0
0
2
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
0
0
2
3
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 7 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2012

I've stayed in plenty worse but it is cheap and if you don't mind a basic place which does a roaring trade in under the counter rooms by the hour (its in the red light district) then go for it. Some of the staff are very friendly but other tended to merely grunt at you unless you're greasing their palms....

The two cafes opposite are both excellent as the hotel doesn't have a restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YWAlco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

I stayed in this hotel for three weeks in room 61. The hotel staff are keen to help guests, but english language is a little problematic. We have to bear in mind that this could not be their communication language.

I found the old man who manages the reception during daytime to be a vey helpful person.

The hotel has rooms with very good panoramic view of the port and part of catembe. I really enjoyed viewing ferries plight to and from Catembe. Big ships were also a sight of my appreciation. There is a Police unit a few meters away. There is a small but good bar. A good restaurant with affordable meals.

I WOULD RECOMMEND PEOPLE TO STAY AT THE PLACE.!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexius Noel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I travelled to Maputo during a busy season and ended up Hotel Tamariz. quite frankly that place must be stopped from operating. it is way below any standard. First of all the location is too noisy, the entrance of the hotel is quite a cover up of what is actually up there.

The passage to my page is filthy and I noticed a dead bug for the during of my stay. the door to my room was faulty and old, the toilet had a terrible urinary smell, roaches made a party in the room, nothing worked. wardrobe doors,- broken, telephone- no working and dirty, the serve over all needs some serious attention. no internet, and to make it matters worse the elevator was out of order.
So if you are looking for a place that is far worse than your house, i guess this is the place to be and as for, this was the first and definitely the last Hotel Tamariz episode in my life.

Room Tip: Usually the smell of the room and the colour of both the bed sheets and towel(white is the best) are good indicators the hygienic level of the facility. Big windows or a balcony and light paint
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RosaWHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2008

my husband and i stayed at the hotel tamariz for one night and wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone. it was pricey ($50) considering it was very basic, the mini-fridge had bugs in it, and the toilet would not flush after repeated attempts. the staff did try to fix the toilet, without success, but weren't keen for us to change rooms. since we were leaving early the next day we decided to save our energy and back down. the hotel also doesn't accept credit cards though i gather this is quite common in smaller places in maputo.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank makeminealargeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews