We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Inconvenient, but otherwise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Suffren Hotel & Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Suffren Hotel & Marina
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Port Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Inconvenient, but otherwise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

First the inconveniences :

* Internet - This hotel is expensive, and the internet is not free. Thats a bad combination. To get the free internet you have to sit in the bar. It doesnt make sense in a business hotel.

* City Centre access - City Centre access is via a boat (free) , if the boat isnt working you have to take a slightly long walk around the marina.

The quality of the rooms is very good. Showers had good pressure, rooms were quiet. Sleep quality good.

If they had free internet access I would have rated it excellent.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nanasaheb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    195
    71
    22
    18
See reviews for
27
50
31
294
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Before i start the review let you share that this hotel had the BEST EVER room service experience i ever had :-) Cheers to that.

I visited this hotel with my husband and 6 month old son. While my husband was on a work visit. We were nervous about the hotel choise but were delighted by the assistance provided by the staff with our baby. It was very warm and welcoming. They seem to b going a step further in to help us making my son's first travel memorable.

The hotel is about an hour from the airport and right at the port. We had a decent checkin experience and were alotted a room on the reception floor but didnt quite like it because of the palm tree view and difficult access to t port with a strollar and works.

We were then shifted to a ground floor room facing t port and lovedddd it. We could walk onto the water edge and t bar anytime. They had beachbeds right outside and some cool log benches. It has t best bar and night-life in town at "on t rocks" which lights up on weekends and had a great vibe to it.

The room service was awsome and the food that we would order would be thrre is 10-15 mins. The french influence is clearly seen in t trendy plating of the food. The plum brule' is to die for :-)Once they got a hang of a baby feeding routine the room service would themselves knock on the door to collect t baby sterliser for microwave and back! That was super thoughtful.

The hotel has a nice cozy TV lounge area and rooms etc was really clean.

The breakfast was good and great music playing and the Cappuccino was Excellent. The service at t bar was a little slow as the servier seemed to new but then the manager would come and confirm the orders and send t desired thing. It was however strange that snacks from other hotel resturents were not served at t bar for even t hotel guests.


The hotel had a free ferry service to other end of the port where t waterfront area was which was buzzing with action and a million places to eat.

it is the best hotel in t area and really good for a lively holiday.

Room Tip: The reception is the First floor. For direct port access you need rooms on ground floor. Room 122 12...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ParulVirenKhanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

I stayed in the Le Suffren for 5 days in January 2011, and the one thing that stuck out for me is the fact that the service is not oriented towards customers, but more on that later.
The Hotel is centrally located, and is not a bad looking hotel. The rooms are nice and clean (as is the majority of the hotel).
Internet is free in Public Area's, however you have to pay MUR1150 almost $40 per 24 hrs for wireless connectivity in your room. I know that other people have mentioned the fact that if you get a room close enough to the reception you will have signal, however I was in the 2nd room away from reception and I had no signal.

The second thing is that th service is rubbish. On the 1st evening, I sat down at the dinner table, waitied 20 minutes to be given a menu (After I asked twice and ordered a beer twice). Eventually I asked the Manager who promptly said he would sort it and i never saw him again ... The good news is that after getting zero service, I went to my room and ordered room service which was there within 15 minutes.
To prove my point to my colleague around the service, we went to the bar the next day, and even though the bar was empty, it took 15 minutes to get a beer. This is not only shocking, but poor customer service.
If it was not for the Service and the cost of the Internet, this hotel could have a much better rating...

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

This is a great hotel for people doing business in Port Louis. Really good!! But my travel agent booked me this hotel when I was coming to Mauritius looking for some time at the sun. No beach at all and the swimming pool is on a property across the creek. So, if you are coming just for business, great; if you want the sun, go somewhere else!
Positive points: very comfortable rooms, excellent food.
Negative: no beach or pool.

Room Tip: If you get a room on top of the reception you can get free wifi! If you get a room too far away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ericcbrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

Stayed at Le Suffren while attending a conference in Mauritius. I was travelling with my husband and 9 month old so wanted a hotel that was central enough for them to be able to walk around while I was away. Le Suffren was great for that - it's just opposite the Cauden Water front which has food courts, entertainment areas and shopping complexes. The hotel offers a complimentary water taxi surface so it's really convenient to get about. The hotel is comfortable. We did get a room that's facing the car park but it didn't bother us too much as we were out most of the time. Mixed reviews about the staff - some are really friendly and helpful while others can do with some manners .... but no major complaints. Overall, if you need to be close to / in Port Louis this is a good place to stay. La Cauden Water Front shuts down by 5 / 6 p.m. though so it's not ideal for nights out .... BUT the hotel has an awesome lounge bar by the water.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAR28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Louis
0.3 km away
Labourdonnais Waterfront Hotel
20.7 km away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,038 reviews
36.0 km away
Holiday Inn Mauritius Mon Tresor
Holiday Inn Mauritius Mon Tresor
#1 of 1 in Plaine Magnien
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 km away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
20.0 km away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#3 of 29 in Grand Baie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,090 reviews
8.8 km away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Suffren Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Suffren Hotel & Marina

Property: Le Suffren Hotel & Marina
Address: Le Caudan, PO Box 91, Port Louis, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Port Louis District > Port Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Port Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Suffren Hotel & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the waterfront node in Port Louis next to the Caudan Waterfront and the Labourdonnais Waterfront Hotel, Le Suffren Hotel & Marina offers both business travellers and holiday makers alike a unique location in the capital of Mauritius. Ideally located within walking distance of the central business district and close to the Pailles International Convention Centre and Cybercity, Le Suffren is also within easy reach of the various cultural and tourist sites in Mauritius. Facing the marina or the mountains, our 102 bedrooms offer great levels of comfort in a modern décor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Le Suffren Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Suffren Hotel And Marina
Le Suffren Hotel & Marina Port Louis, Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing