We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Labourdonnais Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Port Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2017

Stayed two nights, far too long.
The service to our room was the poorest of any five star hotel I have experienced.
No point listing all the problems, far too many.
Staff in the restaurant would rather talk to each other than check the requirements of their guests. Bar staff were the best. Will not be returning.

Room Tip: Does not matter which room you have, the service was awful
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Clive Ian Keeve... F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IndigoHotels, General Manager at Labourdonnais Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Dear Clive,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your experience with us. Although I am quite surprised as this does not reflect our hotel standards. Please feel free to reach out to me so that I can have a better idea of your time with us and how we could improve and make our guests time more enjoyable.

I look forward to hearing from you and trust that you will reconsider your decision so that you enjoy the true hospitality of our property.

Best regards,
Rolph Schmid - Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 31 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

Fantastic staff. We checked in at 0900 and with half an hour we had a room. Fantastic service. Truly 5 star. Great breakfast with everything you could imagine. No kippers but eggs Benedict with salmon was super. Night time on the Terrasse cocktails ok. Pina colada not recommended. Great stay.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Malcolm D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IndigoHotels, General Manager at Labourdonnais Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Dear Malcolm,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Labourdonnais Waterfront Hotel and thank you for having taken the time to rate and share your experience with us. Enjoying the terrace in the evenings are ever so pleasant, sipping on cocktails while our pianist plays soothing melodies that create a lovely ambiance. I'm pleased to read that our staff members provided your with a memorable experience. We all look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Rolph Schmid - Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017

As senior tourists who wanted to experience Mauritius and its people rather than spend our time at a beach resort, we chose the Labourdonnais in Port Louis as our base to travel out from. It was a great choice!
By the end of our 11 nights the Labourdonnais felt like home. Its standout feature was the friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff. In particular, we must mention the Guest Services staff - Barbara, Karine, Chaya, Prisca, Gaelle and Kirthy. We enjoyed our chats in the Executive Lounge over our pre dinner drinks!
For breakfast, the menu itself was fairly standard but the food was good. My wife liked the curry buffet option.
We had dinner in the Brasserie Chic restaurant only a few times as we preferred to eat out. On each occasion the food was good, particularly the lobster. In the Yuzu restaurant we had a fusion style de gustacion which was excellent.
A few minor issues - something forgotten by housekeeping or an error with the breakfast order - all were resolved quickly by the friendly helpful staff. No real complaints.
Our last evening was spent on a complimentary hotel-arranged sunset catamaran cruise - a perfect way to end a great stay!
Sandra and Frank, Perth, Western Australia

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Francis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IndigoHotels, General Manager at Labourdonnais Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Dear Sandra and Frank,

I am very pleased to read that you decided to stay with us for your holiday in Mauritius. Labourdonnais Waterfront hotel gives you the flexibility to enjoy a luxurious and serene environment all while being able to discover Mauritius in all its beauty through excursions and just being able to walk into the capital to embrace the local architecture, historical monuments and cultural diversity.

Being able to contribute to our guests feeling a unique ‘home away from home’ is the ultimate gratification that we could ask for. Our staff pay extra attention to details and strive to provide a memorable experience to all of our guests. Rest assured that we have passed on your kind words to the Executive Lounge staff. We have also taken note of your suggestions to maintain our hotel standards. Guest feedback helps us get to the root of any challenges that arise.

You could not have completed your stay with us without enjoying the sunset cruise. Sandra and Frank, I look forward to welcoming you back the next time you decide to come back to Mauritius.

Kind regards,
Rolph Schmid - Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017

Well situated in Waterfront of Port Louis, Labourdonnais Waterfront hotel will provide all the amenities you need for your business stay in Mauritius.
Comfortable rooms, excellent breakfast and dedicated staff will make you enjoy your stay there

Room Tip: Book a room at Executive floor (6th) where you get private check-in and personalized service
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ben642016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IndigoHotels, General Manager at Labourdonnais Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Dear ben642016,

Thank you for such a warm review of your experience at the Labourdonnais Waterfront Hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed our facilities and catering for your business needs. I look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in town.

Kind regards,
Rolph Schmid - Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017

The hotel is beautiful and the location is good in Gaudan where you can do shopping, wake under the hanging colored umbrellas. I booked with half board and I regretted, breakfast is poor and dinner every night is the same only curry buffet and drinks not included.

Rates out of 10:
Staff: 10
Suite: 8
Services: 10
Swimming pool: 5
Price: 7
Location: 7
Breakfast: 6
Dinner: 4

Overall: 7 out of 10

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salgarni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IndigoHotels, General Manager at Labourdonnais Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Dear slagami,

I would like to thank you for your in depth review of your experience at the Labourdonnais Waterfront hotel. I ampleased that you enjoyed your room and that our staff provided your with a memorable experience. Your breakfast experience does not reflect our hotel standards in any way as it is unfortunate that you find our selection of over 80 breakfast items limited. To have a choice ranging from fresh pastries, smoked salmon, fresh fruit & juice station, cereals, dim sum, a variety of cold cuts, cheese and a curry bar just to mention a few, is quite an appealing breakfast suitable for all tastes.
We also have a wide selection of items on our menu for dinner. We do look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Rolph Schmid - Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Louis
0.3 km away
Le Suffren Hotel & Marina
Le Suffren Hotel & Marina
#2 of 5 in Port Louis
608 reviews
20.8 km away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,667 reviews
36.1 km away
Holiday Inn Mauritius Mon Tresor
Holiday Inn Mauritius Mon Tresor
#1 of 1 in Plaine Magnien
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 km away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
3,234 reviews
8.9 km away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,584 reviews
15.4 km away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Labourdonnais Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Labourdonnais Waterfront Hotel

Address: Caudan Waterfront, Port Louis, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Port Louis District > Port Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Port Louis
Price Range: €160 - €273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Labourdonnais Waterfront Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Labourdonnais Waterfront Hotel, the flagship of Indigo Hotels is acknowledged as Port-Louis' foremost address for luxurious comfort and refinement. The premier 5 star business hotel in Mauritius, has undergone a serious make-over with extensive renovations, for a new and refreshed look. Five minutes from the financial and business centre of the Mauritian Capital, the Labourdonnais Waterfront Hotel is within easy reach of the CyberCity and offers direct access to the Caudan complex, the island's premier commercial and entertainment centre. An institution on the waterfront, the hotel has become a landmark for its high profile conferences and world-class cosmopolitan cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Labourdonnais Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Labourdonnais Waterfront
Labourdonnais Waterfront Hotel Port Louis, Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing