We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveller rating
2
3
5
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2
3
5
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 12 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

The hotel is quite old. The rooms are basic, dark are fairly dodgy. AC works but leaked in my room. The management is a bunch of ridiculous Lebanese guys, hitting on every female customer. Very poor standards.
The local staff are very nice though. The cleaners are nice and trustworthy. The hotel is safe. Location is not the best. The price is too high for the quality.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank Foodies8883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

After my first night at Laico El Farouk hotel (former 5-star Kempinski Bamako ...lost few stars with the time though), here i am in Plaza hotel (4 stars).
Better maintained than El Farouk but no garden and no swimming pool (but very ok for short duty trip).
Free, ok wifi, with some slow down here and then.
Helpful staff and restaurant is good (mainly italian and libanese cuisines + classical meat and fish dishes).
Prove very OK: single room with queen size bed, clean and good state for 45,000 FCFA a night, breakfast included.
UN rate: 40,000 FCFA
breakfast a bit weak: mainly pastries and few fruit.
On UN list of currently recommended hotels.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank michelw221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

It is one of the security approved hotels in Bamako. Price for accomodation are comparatively reasonable. Very simple basic amenities. Do not expect alot. In-house meals are expensive (local standards). Breakfast very very basic. Omlettes etc available at extra cost.

Rooms are very basic, but clean. Hot water and mini fridge + AC. No conference facilities as far as I could tell.

Access can be rather unsettling (have to cross a huge open drain in the adjacent street.) but not unusual for Bamako

Poitive points:
-Reasonable price
-Simple, practical
-Within accessible distance from city centre.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Leavis2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

we stayed here as part of business trip. the hotel is clean and tidy. rooms are spacious with min bar fridge, kettle and coffee and tea. Bath room acceptable if you get passed the excessive sealant around the bath, plenty of hot water but the towels where rough and not always looking "clean". Rooms are cleaned daily to a good standard. New addition I have noticed is mosquito nets so this good.
Breakfast was poor, the bread rolls and cake which where nice the fruit was badly bruised, when there was any, juice is unknown and looks more like curdled sick then juice. You get a bottle of water with the breakfast as well as tea and coffee.
staff are polite and friendly. waiters are like zombies with a lack of urgency but we are in Africa.
Only gripe was the power kept tripping off the ast two nights and they changed the password code daily without telling anyone. this needs improving or at least just communicate with the guests.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Roy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017

I would actually rate this as 3 and a half (Good) rather than Very Good. It doesn't look like much from outside but inside is clean, the room I had was simply furnished but comfortable and spacious and the wifi was better than I've had at some four or five star hotels. I had a dinner and breakfast at the hotel and both meals were fine. The breakfast buffet is 'continental' and you can order a hot breakfast (eggs cooked in a variety of styles) for an additional charge. The menu for lunch/dinner was quite extensive and caters for all sorts of tastes. The owners/management were always on hand and very helpful. It isn't a luxurious hotel by any means but you wouldn't be uncomfortable here at all. It also has the smallest elevator I have ever seen!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Saffer73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews