We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
14
47
12
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
47
12
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river nice hotel great place to stay wifi business security desert
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

Smashing view, efficient service. Cool and calm by the river, this place has nice French food, not too expensive and a menue which is fairly varied. Security is a bit varying, so better to avoid weekends.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
Thank Gust S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

I was staying at a nearby hotel and had had great meals, but wanted to try someplace new, one with a view of the Niger River, so this was a 5-minute walk. Although the security checks were excellent and thorough and the interior trees and gardens were perfect, the service was anything but. I choose a seat right on the riverfront, and true, this view was undeniably one of the best in Bamako;; however, be prepared for slow, inefficient service. Sure the mosquitoes were a big nuisance, but it is Mali, and I'd say don't go to a city with a huge river in July if you are worried about bug bites. I had an ok meal, just ok, and a bit overpriced, but then thought to change to the AC room inside. This is where the real service issues became worse. The young girls inside could not be more unpleasant. I had asked for tea, a Mali staple, but instead got some foreign brand tea bags with an unfriendly faced waitress. I tried hard to find a reason for her rude behavior and gave up. The outside is by far the nicer seating area. I would say go earlier when the bugs aren't biting, have a desert, and load up on your DEET sprays beforehand, and you won't regret the stunning river view with the pinasse boats going up and down.
On a more positive note, the Touareg jewelry seller at the entrance to the garden couldn't have been more pleasant and friendly. He was from Niger and probably in need of money, and so I did end up buying several nice pieces from him. His wares were well displayed in a very clean environment. I bargained a bit, but the prices were really very cheap compared to American pricing for silver.

Room Tip: You'd want a view of the Niger River
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Service
Thank MsLinRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017

This is a great place in Bamako, the hotel is very well secured, rooms are charming and typical basic African style, the hotel is split in two facilities (across the road). Reception rooms and pool is in one facility and the restaurant, rooms and garden are across the road (Small dirt road) which is not a hinder during the stay. the Restaurant has fantastic food, the breakfast however is basic, a choice of a couple of pre-prepared menus with limited choice and lacking presentation however great view over the river during breakfast, lunch and dinner. Very friendly staff, even the owner is around to have chat. Unfortunately most of the staff don't speak English with exception of the reception. Overall great place to stay specially if you want o enjoy some rest and peace during your travels.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cohiba_ec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

Enjoyed my stay at the Badala thoroughly. My room was spacious and cool, but the staff had forgot to remove some items belonging to the previous guest. The restaurant, on the Niger river, is very good - and the Badala breakfast is excellent! Staff could be nicer, though, and unfortunately no food can be ordered to the pool area so you have to cross the road to the restaurant to eat.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DANIEL h, Responsable réception at Hotel Badala, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear Sir ,

Thank for your stay among us . We apologize profusely. This incidence will not be repeated again.

Have a nice day .

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017

I've spent four months at the Badala over the course of two visits.The hotel's location is on the Niger River is quite special, although that is completed by the charming ambience of the entire establishment. Rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated with Malian crafts with a full complement of air conditioning, ceiling fans and mosquito-netting (although I never required the latter). Hotel staff is helpful and friendly, going out of their way to ensure the comfort of guests. The hotel has a small, but lush and lovely poolside garden. The restaurant, overlooking the river, is one of the most charming spots in Bamako, with an excellent menu, particularly skilled with grilled meats and fish dishes. Frequent staff turnover during the past year has had a negative effect on the quality of service, although this should not deter visitors.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sweetbriar15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews