We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (416)
Filter reviews
416 results
Traveller rating
129
201
61
14
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
129
201
61
14
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews reliable internet bottled water the hotel staff swimming pool money exchange comfortable stay travel agent breakfast buffet city gym tana madagascar atm renovation conference volunteers treadmill
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 416 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2018

The only good thing about this hotel is the treadmill in the gym. So if you're a runner you will like this hotel. Beyond that, I can't think of anything that stands out about this hotel. The rooms are a bit dated, the catering is average and the service is in line with the general service sector in Tana.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank fotomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMadagascar, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us, it helps us to improve our service and rooms decoration.

However, we hope you spent nice time with us. All staff purpose is to make your stay memorable.


With kind regards,

The Guest relations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018

Our first hotel in Tana, we stayed in the older wing however the rooms were spacious, air conditioning worked well and hotel security was excellent. Breakfasts were fantastic with fresh pastries and pineapple so sweet it makes you question what we pass off as this fruit in our own country

Room tip: Old wing has large rooms
Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank gorjeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMadagascar, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Dear Precious Guest,

Thank you for taking time to leave us a comment.

We hope to see you soon in our hotel!


With Kind Regards,

The Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018

Stayed for two nights. Room was very clean. complimentary stuff for tea/coffee was good. Toiletries were replenished every day. AC worked well. Free wifi was of reasonable speed. The need for the room key to go up in the lift (the button gets activated only when you show the room key against the sensor) is a good safety feature but really annoying since only one card is provided for two members in the room. Complementary breakfast has good varietybut it would be very helpful for the vegans if things are marked clearly as to what is vegetarian and what is not because at times even the staff are confused. In the dinner party I could not find a single hotel staff who could guide me to vegetarian food and all that I could eat on that night in the party was just white rice with salt. Pathetic in a star hotel that none of the staff (I tried with all staff in different uniforms in the hall) new what was vegetarian.
The rooms have a good view of the ancient french monument on the hill and the lake.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krishna h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMadagascar, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Dear Krishna H,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us, it helps us to improve our service.

We are delighted that you spent a nice stay with us. And we will do our best to offer you a range of vegetarian food for your next stay.

With Kind Regards,

The Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018

I liked this hotel. Everything was excellent ; the staffs , the services , the food .

But I didn't like one thing in the room : the mattress was very soft and wasn't at ease for me.

But overall it was excellent.

I highly recommed it

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Zubexpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMadagascar, Manager at Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear guest,

We thank you very much for taking time for giving your opinions and for choosing Carlton Hotel during your visit in Antananarivo as well. We are delighted to see such a comment about the hotel and to know that you could have fun and enjoy your stay with us.

Hope to see you soon!

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018 via mobile

Avoid this hotel like the plague. Frequently keen to host empty protocol and foreign dignitaries, you will be forced to use the dirty kitchen stairs after waiting for the lift for half an hour, with all lifts blocked by hotel for those whom they consider more ‘privileged’. If you do not want to be treated as a third class citizen at your own expense, go stay in any other hotel as this hotel does not know how to value its own well-paying clientele.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank rpertev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews