We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
24
57
19
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
57
19
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews reception team centrally located hotel indian food nice food stayed here rooms are clean breakfast buffet wi fi hot water nice hotel tidy facilities market tana madagascar corridor toilet
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 112 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

Had to spend three nights here between trips. Hotel is good, central, with good amenities but totally lucked out with the room - 202. Avoid this one as it is so noisy. Rooms are very clean and comfortable, staff friendly and efficient.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMManagment, Manager at Le Grand Mellis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking some time to review our hotel.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and you were generally happy with our service and staff.
We are sorry about the noise, it was because of seminar going on next door. Since the hotel was full we couldn't put you in another room. Apologies for that once again.
We will make sure to give you a much calmer room for your next visit.

Looking froward to welcome you soon.

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

If you are looking for a hotel with internet, look elsewhere. The internet in this hotel does not work properly. Many rooms have no internet at all. And you have to spend half an hour every two days getting a new code as it keeps on expiring. Do not go to this hotel!!!!!

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank TravelFunH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMManagment, Manager at Le Grand Mellis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking some time to review our hotel.
We are sorry to hear that your stay was not up to your expectations.
We understand that your internet connection was not working well.
We have transferred your message to the internet network manager and we have also maid a claim to the internet provider.
Once again , we are sorry about this issue and we assure you that the problem is taken care of and will be solved very shortly.

Thank you

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

I was a little concerned about this hotel considering the amount we paid for 2 x 4 nights B&B. The hotel was well situated from small bars/restaurants just around the corner. Rooms were very clean, tidy and for the price spacious.The staff couldn't have been friendlier, pool looked clean and well kept (didn't venture in) .

Room tip: All rooms appear to look out over the street, but double glazing keeps most of the noise out
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Departure805620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMManagment, Guest Relations Manager at Le Grand Mellis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share us your review.
Within the three stars standing in Tanà, Le Grand Mellis Hôtel & Spa is the one of those Hotel having the best price/performance ratio in Tanà.
We are happy that you've appreciate your stay with us.
We look forward to welcome you in your next trip in Antananarivo.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed there in July 2016. The best about this Hotel is reception staff and location. In our room shower was broken (we informed reception but no one fixed the issue), wi fi didn't work, heater didn't work properly as well (maintenance staff came to fix it once, during the night it stopped working again) we requested for room move but have been refused. Breakfast and dinner was ok, not big choice of food, but this problem we faced in almost all Madagascar hotels. Reception staff, however, was nice, willing to help and gave us some advises about city, but didn't follow up on our requests and issues in the room.

Please, improve your service and pay attention to guest needs and requests.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank ElenaShindina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMManagment, Guest Relations Manager at Le Grand Mellis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, even if it was after a year :-). Reviews are always needful for us.
We are happy that reception staff served you well.
Since your last visit, a lot of thing has changed and improved.
We fixed out the wifi software and hired an IT specialist to make sure wifi works well.
Our entire A/C system has totaly changed and it works very well now.
We improved our breakfast buffet as well.
We agree that guest requests have to be honored and we are sorry about that.
Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back in the future.


Best regards.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

We were there for a 3 day convention and stayed a whole week. They really couldn't keep up with the quantity of visitors. Breakfast is the same everyday and they have trouble setting the buffett up on time. No one is in a hurry. Internet is poor in rooms. The lady a desk quoted 2 different prices for exchange to people in our group.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank aswad9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMManagment, Guest Relations Manager at Le Grand Mellis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for your message.
Your comment are important , because they help us to improve everyday our services to satisfy your stay.
We are sorry to read your complaints. Please find below the explanation regarding the comments:
- the restaurant manager is informed about you breakfast feedback, we will do the best to variate the buffet.
- At this periode, the hotel was full, the reason why, the internet connexion was unfortunately saturated.
- we are surprise what you've noted about the exchange rate, the hotel has only one exchange rate, once a week every monday after consulting the bank.

we hope that our return has clarified your solicitation.

The whole team wishes you a good day along and hope to welcome you back at the Grand Mellis hôtel & Spa in the next future.

Sincerly yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews