We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“care with the crook”
Review of Alokhowa Hotel

Alokhowa Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alokhowa Hotel
Ranked #10 of 21 Tripoli B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 May 2012

I stayed 7 nights at this hotel. The first impression of the hotel isn't good, because it is located on a street without lights. However, as strengths I'll highlight cleaning and friendliness of staff. As weaknesses I highlight breakfast without fruit, the sewage smell that sometimes invaded my bathroom and the slow internet connection.
However, undermining the overall assessment of the hotel and the title of this review was the attitude of the owner of the hotel on check out day. The account that was presented to me in the morning had a value higher than the agreed on check in. The extra value was justified as the laundry service. On check in they told me that laundry would be free, so I've decided to complain about this charge. The hotel owner was called and decided that the desk clerk who told me that the service would be included would pay my bill. Given the situation, I explained that I did not want to harm the employee and I've decided to pay the extra price. At this moment, I've decided to confirm with the hotel owner that I could make the check out up to 2 PM, as I had been told by staff at the reception the day before. He told me that the time limit to check out was 12am, and that if there's a delay he will charge me an extra day. I protested, telling him that the reception staff had told me that there was no problem in doing the checkout at 2PM, since the hotel was practically empty, and he contended that the hotel was full (what was clearly a lie: only two of the hotel 10 floors were being used).
It is a shame the attitude of this crook owner. Be careful if you decide to stay on this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vitor96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 5 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2010

This is the 'better hotel' of the ones in the area. Rooms are spacious and all have clean bathrooms with bathtubs! Yes, trust me, once you are in Libya you will get to appreciate clean bathrooms and bathtubs a lot. =) Room service was pretty good, full mini bar, good cable TV, with a nicely sized double bed and very good breakfast on the 10th floor overlooking the city. Staff is also very nice and helpful and the entrance lobby is much better to anything we have seen in Libya. The location is about a 20minute walk to the old medina or green sq, which is fairly decent. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Tripoli on a medium budget as I understand the top 5 star hotels are totally overpriced....

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viguela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2009

This is a good three star hotel. It is in a backstreet not far from a main shopping street. It looks a little rough outside but inside it is fine. Rooms clean and tidy and a good size. Surprisingly quiet at night as well. Staff friendly and two free internet computers in the coffee bar/foyer area.

Breakfast OK. Some cereal - eggs/salad/cake. An unusual mixture I suppose for western tastes - but there you go.

Only a ten minute walk from the museum which is well worth a visit. The old town and market are in the same area as well - as is the water front. Plenty of local places to eat within five minutes walk.

This is a perfectly acceptable hotel and I would be more than happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klou35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tarmix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tripoli hotels
0 km away
Al Mahary Radisson Blu Hotel, Tripoli
0 km away
Awal Hotel
Awal Hotel
#6 of 27 in Tripoli
34 reviews
0 km away
Corinthia Hotel Tripoli
Corinthia Hotel Tripoli
#2 of 27 in Tripoli
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Plasma Hotel
Plasma Hotel
#18 of 27 in Tripoli
18 reviews
0 km away
Al Waddan Hotel
Al Waddan Hotel
#12 of 27 in Tripoli
26 reviews
0 km away
El Khan
El Khan
#5 of 21 in Tripoli
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alokhowa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alokhowa Hotel

Address: Al Rafai Sub-Street | P.O. Box 10095, Tripoli, Libya
Region: Libya > Tripoli District > Tripoli
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Tripoli
Number of rooms: 72

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing