We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveller rating
65
48
9
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
48
9
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small hotel peaceful oasis quiet street wifi worked well home away from home best feature excellent wifi lovely pool would highly recommend this hotel restaurant staff good size nice stay late check swimming pool annex airport business
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 125 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Mahogany Lodge is homey, quiet and very clean with a nice pool and a good restaurant. There is plenty of hot water and good water pressure, beds are comfortable and rooms have flat screen TVs. The wi-fi is strong and room service is no problem, so it is a good location for business travelers who need to work in their rooms. There is not much of a lobby but there are several outdoor tables in the shade near the pool for meetings if the restaurant is crowded. The lodge is close to the US Embassy and not far from the airport, so getting there after a long flight is quick, if they remember to pick you up. Bring the front desk phone number with you and call as soon as you land to remind the shuttle to pick you up. It is more expensive than several other hotels I've used in Accra, but it is by far the most comfortable, so I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank drsh99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahogany123, General Manager at Mahogany Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2017

Thank you for your kind words. We are humbled by your comments and apologize for any miscommunication in your airport pickup session. Since your departure, our front desk and driving team have further fine tuned this service which now includes access to a premium parking facility thus enhancing the ease of your departure from the airport's arrival hall.

Our goal is to continue to improve on our service delivery to you and all of our guests.

It will be our great pleasure to host you again once you are back in our wonderful city

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

We booked in for one night at the end of our holiday. We had grand plans for the last day and the hotel were very helpful in offering advice.

The hotel itself is very modern and tranquil in the heart of a big dusty city. There is a little swimming pool, the rooms are a good size with air con, tv and a well proportioned bathroom.

We did have a ridiculous moment where they told us we were in the annex and would need to drive. The drive was led than 10m in an un-air-conditioned. Really bizarre that they think that is nicer than walking.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful, they even allowed us a late check out. Our flight was late and we wanted to explore and have a shower before flying.

The breakfast was easily the best of our stay in Ghana. Though the timing was a bit odd. It said you could get breakfast until 10, but we were asked to leave at 10 so they could clean. Don't arrive after 9.30 is my advice!

A very good stay and one I would use again if in Accra.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank coxy_gj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahogany123, General Manager at Mahogany Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2017

Thank you for your kind words. We are humbled by your comments.

Our restaurant is opened for breakfast from 6.30 am till 10 am. However, we provide a very good level of flexibility which ensures that even after 10 am, our already seated guests can enjoy the full facilities of the restaurant until their departure. We therefore apologize for the miscommunication that occurred in this instance . Our goal is to continue to improve on our service delivery to you and all of our guests.

It will be our great pleasure to host you again once you are back in our wonderful city

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

They were so great to us! Good breakfast included, comfortable, nice courtyard for relaxing. On our last day we had a late freight and they let us stay for free until 7 at night when we went to the airport, so accommodating, great place.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahogany123, General Manager at Mahogany Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2017

Thank you for your kind words. We are humbled by your comments. Our goal is to continue to improve on our service delivery to you and all of our guests.

It will be our great pleasure to host you again once you are back in our wonderful city

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

Hmmmm... Words elude me right now because my stay at Mahogany Lodge, East Cantonments, Accra, Ghana was indeed magical!
The hotel was very comfortable - quiet and cozy just the way I like it; and not over priced for a bed and breakfast arrangement. The staff, warm and friendly and the services? Top notch. My friend and I sure had loads of fun visiting all the historic and fun places in Accra especially as first timers and if we do again? Mahogany Lodge will be our first pick for a place to stay!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Laura U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahogany123, General Manager at Mahogany Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2016

Thank you for your kind words. We are humbled by your comments. Our goal is to continue to improve on our service delivery to you and all of our guests.

It will be our great pleasure to host you again once you are back in our wonderful city

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2016

Tucked away in quiet neighborhood, Mahagony Lodge is a gem of a hotel. Our room was clean and air-conditioned, service was great, and wi-fi worked well. The staff were all friendly, and the food in the restaurant was excellent. There is a pool in the middle of the hotel, with chairs and tables where you may eat if so desired. Mahagony Lodge is also close to the airport. Traffic in Accra is a challenge however. I definitely recommend this hotel. We enjoyed our stay there.

Room Tip: Our room, one floor up, was sunny and had large windows with a good view.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Purplestar096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahogany123, General Manager at Mahogany Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2016

Thank you for your kind words. We are humbled by your comments. Our goal is to continue to improve on our service delivery to you and all of our guests.

It will be our great pleasure to host you again once you are back in our wonderful city

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews