We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
4
3
7
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
3
7
4
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2014

I stayed here following a booking mix-up when we had to find a hotel at short notice. The reception looks smart, but it is so bare, and there was no hotel literature. The room looked OK, large and clean, but abysmal lighting and some wall sockets that didn’t work for a 3-pin plug (possibly because a 2-pin had been forced into it). The desk was small, particularly given the generous size of the room. It is odd to have no kettle in what looks an upmarket hotel. The safe was locked with no instructions – indeed no hotel literature in the room, or any evidence of the name of the hotel. The TV magazine was “looking forward” to the World Cup held almost 6 months earlier. Then I read the Trip Advisor reviews and started worrying. The good ones are all a long time ago, and bad ones spread across the years. Dinner was fine – service a bit slow, but it seems the same in most hotels in Accra. I suggest room service – but you have to order in the restaurant, no sign of a menu in the room.
In the morning I got an early personal call saying that I could order breakfast (would have been very unwelcome if I was still sleeping). When I went to the restaurant later it was completely empty; the waiter said there were 15 people staying in the hotel. The breakfast was adequate (though the orange juice on the menu was not available). Getting the bill prepared took a long time, but luckily I wasn’t in a hurry. Adequate for a night, but I wouldn’t really recommend it as it seems so dead.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2014

I remember back in 2010 the Ghanaian National Football team stayed here - they wouldn't go anywhere NEAR it now!!
Rooms was dark - half the lights not working, the net curtains were GREY with dirt. The bathroom was shabby and the bath mat had a large whole in it. Not even a kettle in the room. A safe that didn't work and a television that looked like a museum piece.
Some if the literature (price list etc) in the room was dated August 2011.
The breakfast looked like it might be promising -eggs and bacon - only there was not any bacon.
I am sad to say there is absolutely nothing to recommend this place.
It has become run down and clearly no money has been spent on maintaining it.

Room Tip: Use another hotel!
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Grafter54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We booked two rooms for 2 South African guests who flew in to Accra for a meeting. Our guests arrived at the hotel, paid a deposit amounting to $200 upon check in and went up to the room and found the accommodation to be substandard. They returned to the reception within a few minutes and said they would not be staying in the hotel.

The cantankerous hotel owner Margaret refused to refund the deposit and insisted on keeping the money even though her unhappy and unsatisfied clients decided not to stay. This wasn't a no-show; it was a protest against the substandard level in the hotel.

Mind you, this is at 1.30pm in the day time, long enough to sell your room if you have any other clients at all.

Stay away from Congress Hotel. Instead of improving the customer service and poor standard, the hotel is busy extorting money from guests.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NayaAccra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Room and hotel neat and clean.

Shower and bath water pressure and temperature was extremely poor.

Breakfast is ok.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TZVistor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Spacious but plain and simple. Large room and bed. The mattress appeared to be very old. Could't get the tv to work. You are left with a air con remote on either of my visits. Aircon is turned on when you arrive and the remote is taken. Old style door knobs

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt_kal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews