We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
9
4
4
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
4
4
3
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2018

The rooms are clean and tidy but very basic for the price. The bathroom was poor and we only had one towel.

The front desk staff are friendly but not very experienced.

The airport pickup was not at the airport on our arrival, and so we had to get someone to make a call to the hotel on our behalf. However the hotel is very close to the airport and so convenient and reasonably quick to respond.

The worst part of the hotel is the restaurant, where we really struggled to get breakfast properly. A simple dinner was okay.

Room tip: higher floors are better
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LindiBoy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017

1. Even if you have confirmation the Shuttle will pick you up, it is unlikely to be there, and you will have to call.
2. This is hotel without any sound proofing, and where the central 'shaft' across all floors acts as echo chamber. Very noisy.
3. This is overwhelming a 'transit' hotel where people stay one night. So they should little attention to the guests possibly asleep if they come in late, while the stay if also not inclined to extend effective hospitality to those who are only in short 'transit'.
4. The included breakfast, with eggs, rice, vegetables etc. even at 7 am is cold. Not sure whether it was made that morning? Cutlery may be missing, but staff will not proactively notice it. On my 4th and last morning, they had run out of coffee- in the land of coffee.
5. The taxi driver that the front desk staff call, actually charges double the rate. Complaints have been made in front of reception, which doesn't stop them from calling the same person again. Saying that it is unsafe to walk under the fly over, 50 m away, to a main commercial street, encourages you to take the taxi again. Actually there are lights under the fly over, and courting couples after dark.
6. When I checked in and paid two nights advance, I got a 'currency exchange' receipt, and not an advance payment one. Fortunately I noticed it and requested the proper one, or I would have had no proof I had paid!
7. When asked what the day rate is i.e. keep the room beyond check out time, if you have late evening flight, three different staff said 'full rate' (US 55), 'half rate', and US 30 respectively. Within the span of 10 minutes!!??

The Bole Skygate may just serve your needs if you arrive at 11 pm and leave at 6 am. Otherwise, go somewhere where there is a minimum sense of customer service, trained staff that takes some active responsibility, and oversight that passing through customers are not being taken advantage off.

Date of stay: November 2017
Thank Koenraad V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

The rooms have really nice beds. All meals at the hotel was really bad. Broken lights in the rooms. Bathroom was not clean. Most of the staff was not helpful and unfriendly. Some of the staff wanted to help and did and I am thankful for that. They suggested a really nice taxi driver who showed us the local hot spots and who was an excellent tour guide. Terrible wifi and whats app dont work without VPN.

Date of stay: October 2017
Thank mrleewp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017

Had a long lay-off in Addis from Harare, so had to spend the night at Bole Skygate Hotel. It was a nice stay. The hotel was convenient and quite close to the airport. The restaurant offers a beautiful view of Addis Ababa's skyline. Food was just okay. No bottle water in the room is a disappointment for me anywhere. I expect at least a bottle. What if someone is choking and needs to drink water in the middle of the night? Drink from the tap, or call room service to buy a bottle of water? Anyway, the hotel is very modern and nice, structurally.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Omoniyi_David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

Due to a delayed connecting flight in addis, we were assigned to Bole skygate for the rest of the day and night before departing on our flight the next day. One gets the impression that you are treated completely different if you are guest in transit due to the fact that the airline has a very limited budget they spend on their transit passengers.
Good points: overall the room was clean, spacious and neat with a very comfortable bed.
Bad points: it was impossible to take a shower without the floor flooding as there was a leak in the shower floor.
WiFi was barely working.
Restaurant (breakfast, lunch and dinner) was very poor. If you are a transit customer, you are only allowed vegetable spaghetti with water. When we tried to order from the menu, they didn't have anything we asked for and realised that they could only serve Chicken.
Breakfast was cold and very limited.

Maybe I'm not objective as I haven't stayed in any other hotels in addis, but based on service and comfort you would expect from any standard hotel, this unfortunately does not match up to it.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank LC K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews