We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“FANTASTIC STAY” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kingdom at Victoria Falls

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Kingdom at Victoria Falls
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Eastern Cape
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“FANTASTIC STAY”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2010

We had a fantastic vacation at the Vic Falls. The hotel is clean and up to standard, and the staff frienly and helpfull. Tour operators Wild Horizons were well organized with the Zambezi Cruise and Elephant Safari, which were big fun and educational. Will go back again, and again and again....

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mschoeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingdomfo, Front Office Manager at The Kingdom at Victoria Falls, responded to this review, 7 July 2010
dear mschoeman

Thank you for choosing the Kingdom Hotel & taking time to give us your valuable feedback. It was a pleasure to host you and we feel gratified to have managed to make your stay pleasant & enjoyable. we will also pass your compliments to Wild Horizons...

Please take care of yourself and hope to see you again soon.

Kindest regards...
vincent
for: The Kingdom At Victoria Falls
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    456
    179
    53
    26
See reviews for
230
367
76
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2010

The Kingdom was in excellent shape, the pool was great, the location excellent and the people were friendly and accommodating. The restaurant at the hotel was good and plentiful, but if you want a more authentic African experience, walk 5 minutes just across the railway tracks and visit Mama Africa's for great food. It is also worthwhile to walk down and see the Victoria Falls Hotel for the best of old colonial England. Victoria Falls was safe, interesting and expensive, but should be a must see when in Southern Africa. Splurge on at least one experience while there such as the Elephant Rides. Pack a bit of water when walking and have small bills to buy some carvings and trade goods to barter or give away. It will make you feel good

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drmism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingdomfo, Front Office Manager at The Kingdom at Victoria Falls, responded to this review, 21 August 2010
hello, drmism
thank you for choosing to stay with us on your holiday, and sharing your experiences with the world. i am mostly pleased we made your experience wonderful, and sincerely hope you will call on us again when next you are in this part of the world.

take care...

vincent
for: the kingdom at victoria falls
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2010

We stayed this past weekend (4-6 June) at the Kingdom at Vic Falls on a package tour which included flights etc.

The place is awesome - 5 minutes walk away from the falls! The staff are great, and always said hello when you passed them in a corridor. The food was fine, I suppose, but there was nothing we were unhappy with.

We had a helicopter tour over the falls which was AMAZING. You can't imagine how beautiful the falls are until you've been there.

The whole ambience is bitter-sweet. The hotel was clearly built with grand intentions since it is very big and well decorated in an african theme. The lobby and dining area are very impressive. But there's no-one there. I would be surprised if 10% of the rooms were occupied over the weekend we were there because I think people mainly still go to the Zambia side of the falls. More's the shame actually because 70% of the views from the falls are from the Zimbabwe side and the town itself is far nicer than Livingstone in Zambia which is a few minutes drive from the falls anyway. There are no politics at Vic Falls - they're too far away from the big towns to be affected - but nevertheless there are nowhere near enough tourists. The casino was deserted both nights we went in which was a strange experience. The rooms were clean but towels were slightly threadbare. I guess this is owing to the political climate.

The Zimbabwean people are lovely too. Everyone seems to speak very good English and always smile.

Some tips:
1. Make sure you take lots of $1 bills as change is a problem.
2. Take old clothes and ball-point pens with you. The local curio sales people will normally take a dollar or two and barter the rest in these goods because they really need them.
3. Spend time walking around the town, it is safe and interesting.
4. Walk across the bridge even if you just get your passport stamped on the other side. The views are fantastic and it is cool to be able to say you walked to another country!
5. Buy the now defunct Zimbabwe dollar as a curio - I got a whole pile of notes including a 100-TRILLION dollar note for a few dollars and a couple of pens.
6. Barter everything including taxis. If you don't you are being ripped off.
7. Go to the Victoria Falls Hotel (built 1903) for high tea. It takes you back in time to more elegant times!

I would return there in a heartbeat. The packages are also very cheap for the Zim side. The hotel is lovely, if a bit faded, but we really enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoziMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingdomfo, Front Office Manager at The Kingdom at Victoria Falls, responded to this review, 21 August 2010
hey there
thank you, for such a detailed review; much appreciated. it is through guests like you that the world can read for themselves how truly amazing our destination really is. very useful tips you gave there. take care. we look forward to hosting you again.

regards...

vincent
for: the kingdom at victoria falls
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnaminson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2010

I stayed at the Kingdom Hotel over Easter weekend with my 11 year old daughter and our family friend. We had a wonderful time. The hotel was beautiful, and I loved the decor. The lobby/restaurant area was open and spacious and I love how the restaurant is part indoors/part outdoors. It gave us a unique experience. The dinners at the restaurant were ok. My daughter is very picky, and the buffet dinner was ok.

Our room was on the second floor overlooking the lake. In the morning, there were exotic birds in the trees just outside our room.

The pool was beautiful, and the kids realy seemed to enjoy it.

My one complaint was the internet service. You could get free wifi in the lobby area, but the signal was very very faint and the connection was very slow. I think that I spent three times as long to send an email and post photos than I would on a high speed line back home. (But, we're on vacation....I shouldn't complain about internet.)

Tip: Bring small US dollars. A previous poster suggested bringing $1 bills. I can't stress this enough. It was very difficult to get change for larger bills.

Overall, I highly recommend this hotel. It's a great value for the money.

(PS - I am impressed that the hotel management reads and responds to these reviews. I think that this is a very nice touch.)

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WorldTravlingNJMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingdomsalesmgr, front office manager at The Kingdom at Victoria Falls, responded to this review, 3 May 2010
dear WorldTravlingNJMom

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at The Kingdom At Victoria Falls.

we acknowledge the challenges of connectivity we had during the period of your stay though these where beyond the hotel’s immediate control. Nevertheless as a long term solution the hotel has embarked on setting up a VSAT link that will combat the loss in connectivity and will improve connection speeds as this will be a 2MBps link meaning 5 times faster than what we currently have.

We would like to thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback, we value your Comments and it is through guests like you that we can improve our product.

looking forward to hosting you again...

kindest regards...
vincent
for: The Kingdom At Victoria Falls
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2010

The Kingdom hotel is very close to the falls, few minutes by walk. But that is not the only reason for choosing this hotel! Our rooms were large, very clean and in a good position(second floor, front of the pool). Personnel were very kind with us. During our stay we wanted to go out for dinner, we asked to the staff and they organized everything for us. Another evening we had our dinner in hotel and it was great, the cook suggested me very good dishes!
This hotel offers everything you need for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalli28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingdomsalesmgr, front office manager at The Kingdom at Victoria Falls, responded to this review, 3 May 2010
Dear Kalli28

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at The Kingdom At Victoria Falls. it was a pleasure to host you and we feel gratified to have managed to make your stay pleasant & enjoyable.

Thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback. Please take care of yourself and hope to see you soon.

Kindest regards...
vincent
for: The Kingdom At Victoria Falls
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.3 km away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
3.7 km away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#11 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
2.5 km away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#12 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
#15 of 16 in Victoria Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.3 km away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
2.7 km away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#4 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kingdom at Victoria Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kingdom at Victoria Falls

Property: The Kingdom at Victoria Falls
Address: 1 Mallet Drive, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Victoria Falls
#7 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
#9 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kingdom at Victoria Falls 3*
Number of rooms: 294
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Kingdom at Victoria Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kingdom At Victoria Falls Hotel Victoria Falls
Kingdom Hotel Zimbabwe
Kingdom Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing