We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay in Victoria Falls.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
A'Zambezi River Lodge
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A great place to stay in Victoria Falls.”
Reviewed 24 January 2012

The rooms were renovated in March, 2011 and were some of the nicest we found in all of our 6 week trip throughout Africa. They are modern, very clean, have a deep lounging-type bathtub (with a head rest) and shower, lots of amenities, very effective air conditioning that's not too loud, and a nice heavy front foor. The bed has an easy to wrap around mosquito net as well. Our room had a plasma t.v.with lots of international channels, and an easy to use safe.

The meals are served in a large buffet and there is lots of very tasty things to choose from (including exotic animal meat). Beer is only $3 U.S. but water is a high $2 a bottle. There is free wifi but only one free computer for guests. Because the hotel is beside the river I would recommend wearing mosquito repellant since this is a malaria zone. We were buzzed only by the free computer. There are monkeys and warthogs on the grounds which are fun to watch. There is a free shuttle to the Waterfalls and back.

What really put this hotel over the top for us were the great rooms, and, the very friendly and helpful staff. Always a smile on their faces and wanting to help. We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We highly recommend the helicopter tour over Victoria Falls and going to Victoria Falls Hotel for hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobInSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
azambeziriverlodge, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to review our Hotel. W greatly appreciate the feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    369
    84
    29
    11
See reviews for
159
382
41
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Azambezi was just amazing,the rooms are done so well,the location along the Zambezi river and the dinner with live performance of traditional groups was just excellent.
Definitely a place to stay in Victoria Falls

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mogokg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
azambeziriverlodge, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback and we are pleased that you had a wonderful stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal qc
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

This is where we stayed for two nights when visiting the Victoria Falls. It is about 3 km outside the town of Victoria Falls located right on the shore of mighty River Zambezi. This lodge was refurbished recently and transformed from a 3 star hotel to a four star resort. There is even a miniature Victoria Falls at the entrance. The landscaping is superb and well maintained. The entire staff is efficient and friendly and wears the legendary everpresent Zimbabwean smile.

We stayed in the newer wing. The room was neat, tidy and comfortable equipped with modern furnishings, the beds with mosquito netting and the bathroom had a tub as well as a shower stall. Each room had an outside terrace with 2 chairs and a table.

Variety of food was available at breakfast and the eggs were prepared to your order. The dinner, buffet or a la carte, is served in a thatched roof outdoor dining area. Lively music is played every evening by the local artists while you dine or relaxing after the dinner.

The hotel operates a regular shuttle bus service to the town of Victoria Falls.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IKI1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
azambeziriverlodge, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
On behalf of the Management and Staff at A'Zambezi River Lodge we would like to thank you for taking time to Review our Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bloemfontein
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

we stayed in the A'Zambezi for 3 nights in Jan 2011, and loved most of it. The hotel is new and comfy, the staff could not be more friendly and helpful. However, the promised 'regular' shuttle service was a disappointment. The shuttle leaves only 3 times per day: at 9, 11 and 2. Since guests are totally dependant on the shuttle, you are stranded 5 km from town and the falls if these times to not suit you. In the hot summer wheather, I wanted to start exploring much earlier. We once took a taxi, which the hotel organized for us (cost: US$20 for a round trip). Could not afford this every day, so had to make do with the shuttle. Also: the food was expensive and really not that well prepared (R25 for a coke, an hour's wait for a simple lunch). In spite of the above, I will go to this hotel again. Listening to the hippos at night, the view over the river, the open-air restaurant, the baby crocodile in the pond in the garden, the friendly staff all made our visit worthwhile! Lastly: if you are a SA citizen, remember to take yr passport with when you visit the falls from Zim side - you may pay less but have to prove citizenship.

Room Tip: the ground floor seemed to have a better view, the top floor look into the trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annelie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
azambeziriverlodge, General Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Annelie

Thank you for choosing to stay at A'Zambezi River Lodge whist visiting Victoria Falls. I would like to thank you for your comments that you have posted taking note of the good ones and hoping that the highlighted problems we will be able to improve on. Our belief is that we can only grow stronger for guest feedback as then we know where to focus our attention.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor and we hope to see you again at A'Zambezi River Lodge

Best Regards
Shane de Lange
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Hotel has been newly renovated and had a fabulous stay over new years! Beautifully decorated rooms and welcoming helpful staff. I have stayed at many vicfalls hotels and these rooms are the nicest in town. Will be back again soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a river/pool facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Li_LiZimLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
azambeziriverlodge, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
On behalf of the management and staff at A'Zambezi River Lodge we would like to thank you for highly recommending the hotel. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
1.2 km away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
4.0 km away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,227 reviews
2.9 km away
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
#15 of 16 in Victoria Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#4 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
2.0 km away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,721 reviews
3.5 km away
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
#13 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A'Zambezi River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A'Zambezi River Lodge

Property: A'Zambezi River Lodge
Address: 308 Parkway Drive | P O Box 150, Victoria Falls +260, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#7 Spa Hotel in Victoria Falls
#8 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#8 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
#11 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — A'Zambezi River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A'Zambezi River Lodge, is a recently refurbished 4 star Hotel situated on the banks of the mighty Zambezi River, 5km upstream from the magnificent Victoria Falls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotelopia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your A'Zambezi River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a`Zambezi River Hotel Victoria Falls
Mercure Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing