We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (552)
Filter reviews
552 results
Traveller rating
209
224
86
25
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
209
224
86
25
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssouth wingla fontainehigh tearooftop poolthe club loungeleading hotels of the worldnew wingold world charmgrand hotelroom servicebusiness meetingsouthern africarooms are spaciousair conditioningenjoyed my staycity centrezimbabwe
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 552 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2018

This is beautiful place to stay, I felt comfortable, staff was very respectful , knowledgeable about the food and the location. Food was appetizing , was clean , linen on bed and table was clean and the place smell fresh and clean . All the staff were polite. You will have no regret staying at this hotel . The other upscale hotel that I have been in other parts of the world have nothing over this one.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank Violet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThamMpofu, Director of Sales at Meikles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Thank you for the feedback following your recent stay with us.
Our mission is to provide excellent and unsurpassed service, quality and warm Zimbabwean hospitality to all our guests. This is what Meikles Hotel has been proudly renowned for over the past century and more, and we are therefore pleased that your experience of Meikles Hotel was enjoyable and memorable.
We are very uplifted by this wonderful review and greatly appreciate your choosing Meikles as your hotel of choice.
We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Harare.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018 via mobile

First time to Zimbabwe, first time to Meikles...hotel definitely clean, rooms are big and comfortable. Wifi acceptable, all in all. I would recommend the place after all. Maybe they should improve the restaurant... while the courtesy and simpathy of personnel is top class!
But this typical in Zimbabwe

Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
Thank Michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThamMpofu, Director of Sales at Meikles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Thank you for this very complimentary review.
We are pleased your stay at Meikles Hotel was enjoyable and exceeded your expectations.
Meikles Hotel has a proud history of providing warm hospitality to all our local, regional and international guests for more than a century.
We are greatly uplifted by such positive feedback, and continue to strive to raise the bar in areas of quality and service delivery in a truly five star fashion.
We appreciate your support, and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

Resided again at this hotel after about a year's absence. Have always found that Management and Staff at this establishment sought to rise above the difficult circumstances faced by business in Zim.

Due to late commitments, decided to dine in the pub downstairs (Explorers?) on two occasions during the stay. On first dine the burger was more than adequate. Second dine was a chicken dish. Well, the less said the better.... I thought possibly the lateness of the meal may have been a factor. Seemingly not so. Another diner few tables away asked how my meal was - I indicated so so... He was a little more vocal about his - also chicken - dry, seemingly not fresh - extremely disappointed he was. Actually called for the duly "manager". We both expressed our disappointment.

Some sympathy but that was about it.....?

Come on guys - even if a Chinese business delegation was in town "for business" this is not encouraging kitchen service. You have been able to provide much better meals.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Muzungu007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThamMpofu, Director of Sales at Meikles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at Meikles Hotel.
Please accept our sincere apologies for the less than satisfactory culinary experience which you had in the Explorers Bar.
Your feedback is valuable to us, and we have highlighted the concern you raise with both our Executive Chef as well as our Procurement Manager to ensure that we continue to maintain the highest standards which you have previously experienced at the hotel, and that strict quality control continues to be enforced in our food purchasing, receiving, preparation and serving of meals.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Meikles Hotel on your next visit to Harare, and would be pleased to offer you a complimentary meal in Explorers which we are confident you will enjoy. Our apologies once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

It is an old hotel but , probably, suffered too much the situation of the country.
Had to change one room since the heating was not working, the second one had the shower that was flooding the toilet, and the third one had the hair dryer in such a bad shape that could not stop it (I attach a picture)
Can understand HARARE is not NY but than don’t charge 250 usd per night!
With 50 usd down payment that they try, in any Wayne to discount from your credit card and keep the cash.
If this is the top in Harare, I can only guess the others...

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank 328gts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThamMpofu, Director of Sales at Meikles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at Meikles Hotel.
We are sorry that your experience did not meet expectations, and have noted the various defects which you encountered in the rooms, and which we have highlighted to our Maintenance team for corrective action to be taken.
We thank you for your support, and would be pleased to welcome you back to Meikles on your next visit where we can assure you of a memorable and enjoyable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018 via mobile

I was let down by this hotel because I thought it would’ve been more than just ok. It was just ok. We had to wait over an hour to get into our rooms even though we checked in the late evening. Offering us free tea was ok but didn’t make up for the inconvenience.

The hotel itself is really DATED. Wow. The room size is fine but again updates are needed....no outlet at the bed is annoying.

I spotted one roach at the writing desk. And our sink leaked all over the bathroom floor...so not very good.

Great city views of downtown Harare. Good, extensive breakfast.

Overall just ok...just

NB: taxis are super expensive: 30 USD (15 min) from airport to hotel, 40 USD for a return trip to a nearby restaurant (about 10 min) and 40 USD back to the airport.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank mskradtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThamMpofu, Director of Sales at Meikles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Thank you for making time to review your recent stay at Meikles Hotel.
We value your feedback as this helps us to continuously strive to raise the bar in our delivery of service to our guests.
We apologise for the slow check in on your arrival. We experienced challenges with our property management system and were operating manually during the period of your stay which affected our reservations and check in operations. I'm pleased to advise that the glitches have now been satisfactorily resolved.
We have noted your comments on other aspects which need corrective action, and these are being addressed by our Maintenance team. I would like to confirm that official hotel transport costs $25.00 for a one way trip from the airport to the hotel. Guests are encouraged to use official hotel transport.
We thank you for your support, and look forward to welcoming you back to Meikles Hotel when you next visit Harare.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews