We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
3
14
18
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3
14
18
7
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2017 via mobile

Where else in the world can you eat breakfast to the sound of continuous rolling 80’s pop on half speed. The New Ambassador morning playlist consists of Cyndi Lauper, Paul Young and lots of other long forgotten western pop icons in a hypnotic soundscape that leaves you wandering if something psychedelic has been dropped in the (watery) coffee. This is one of the strangest hotels I have ever stayed in. The staff have been excellently drilled on the brand values of the chain and everyone welcomes you with the unexpected phrase ‘Have a refreshing day Sir’. The breakfast is not great and priced implausibly high along with the laundry service. It feels like no one bothered to check the tariff since the currency collapsed in 2007. Standard wise, the New Ambassador is basic and this is reflected in the cost. I get the sense that the staff do what they are told and no-one is allowed or expected to make changes to improve the place. This hotel is living in the 80’s on half speed. Let’s hope the collapse of Robert Mugabe can give the team here the energy to step into the future... Would you want to spend breakfast with Justin Bieber or Beyoncé - please make your suggestions at the reception desk on arrival. Have a refreshing stay.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank stevesmith127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementRep2016, Guest Relations Manager at New Ambassador Hotel Harare, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Thank you for staying at New Ambassador Hotel stevesmith127 and for rating your experience on TripAdvisor.

We were grateful to have you as our guest. Thank you for indicating out areas that are in need of attention. It is through feedback channels like this that we can continuously aim to do better. We value your feedback and hope to host you again.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

New Ambassador Hotel is one of Harare's old hotels surviving from the colonial era but the service there is still great. The room was very clean and very spacious. Check in was easy and without any fuss. Staff were helpful and professional. There was complimentary free Wifi which was great. The linen was clean and room well made. This hotel exceeded my expectations as I expected it to be run down and sub-standard. In the morning we had very good breakfast and the chef was very nice and helpful. I recommend New Ambassador Hotel to anyone who wants to have great service without breaking the bank.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementRep2016, Guest Relations Manager at New Ambassador Hotel Harare, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Alex D. thank you for your review on trip advisor.
Thank you for taking time to give us feedback on your recent stay at New Ambassador Hotel. We are pleased to have been of service to you, and that you enjoyed your stay with us.Your feedback is important to us as it allows us to continuously improve our products and services.
We thank you for your support, and look forward to welcoming you back to New Ambassador Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

This is a well-priced hotel with an excellent location within easy reach of Harare's CBD. I have seen this hotel in its different stages over the last 17 years. The infrastructure deteriorated over the years, but the Rainbow group that operate this hotel have to be commended for their efforts at restoring this establishment to its former glory over the last couple of years.
Pros:
Location
Friendly staff
Price
Clean linen

Cons:

Bar noise on Friday evenings
Some rooms have doors that show signs of significant wear and tear

Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
Thank Mazila N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementRep2016, Guest Relations Manager at New Ambassador Hotel Harare, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Thank you for your review on trip advisor Mazila N.
Thank you for staying at New Ambassador Hotel Harare. We were honored to have you as our guest. We appreciate your feedback on areas needing improvement. We are continuously working on improving and are quite humbled that you noted and appreciated our effort. We look forward to hosting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017

Stayed in room 321.....the room had no keys, so each time you went out you had to be escotted by the guard.

l was moved to room 212 on the 3rd night......the shower was broken.....there was too much noise from outside, sounded like a generator running next to my window. It was a horrible experience.....Please avoid these two rooms.

In both rooms there was only one towel. This is unacceptable standard for a hotel. We expect at least 3 towels per guest. Please improve on this.

Room Tip: Avoid room 212 and 321
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank EnockMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementRep2016, Guest Relations Manager at New Ambassador Hotel Harare, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Thank you for sharing your feedback on trip advisor EnockMan. We would like to apologize sincerely for the undesirable issues that arose during your stay with us at New Ambassador Hotel on June 6 2017. Management is quite disturbed by the issues highlighted and we would like to reassure you that matters are being resolved to ensure that such matters do not reoccur. We are proud to announce that we have replenished our linen supply with new stock and will keep working on our rooms to meet and exceed your expectation. Looking forward to hosting you again in the foreseeable future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile

i stayed at new ambassador in harare the staff are very welcoming and friendly . i can recommend anyone there the food was fantastic i enjoyed every meal there. anyone visiting harare and if you want a good package new ambassador all the way

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank lloyd m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementRep2016, Guest Relations Manager at New Ambassador Hotel Harare, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Amazing feedback!! Thank you for the positive review and recommendation. We constantly aim to ensure our customers are satisfied with our services and it is exhilarating to hear that we have hit the mark. We aspire to exceed your expectation We are grateful for your review and look forward to future business from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews