We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Carlton Hotel Tunis(Tunis)(Great Value!)
US$82
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Business Hotel(Tunis)(Great Value!)
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$159
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Tunis(Tunis)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dar El Maa(Tunis)
US$103
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveller rating
49
47
14
21
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
47
14
21
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroof terracedrop off pointtraditional tunisiandarheating
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 139 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2015

I liked a lot the hotel, it is an old-style house with extremely nice rooms and decorated with taste that I would recommend to anyone.
So nice place, the service is a different story: slow, they forget to bring you things (including salt and napkins) when you ask for them. They are extremely friendly and useful but also inconstistent...the first time I stayed I was served tea for free and the second time, 5 days later, they charged me 10 Dinars for 3 tea (how would you divide 10 by 3 by the way?)
They also have rooms with window on the courtyard, very silent and quiet, and other on the street, relatively quiet but not so much
I would go there again and again, just stay clear of meals (and tea)

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank marcopollo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julien020, Propriétaire at Dar El Medina, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2015

The hotel Dar El Medina and his staff apologize for any inconvenience occurred unintentionally and we hope that you spent or will spend a great time with us.

We are sorry for this misunderstanding
please be advised , that we are currently training our staff

Thank you for continuing to give us your feelings. Marahbé.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2015

It's always a good sign when you wish you could stay longer. My review of the Dar El Medina is being written months after we stayed there last June 2014 - but my sentiments still hold true: the hotel is adorable and perfect for a stay in Tunis' old Medina. When we arrived, Ramadan was in full swing. Upon check-in, the front desk attendant asked if we wanted to partake in Iftar or the sunset meal of Muslims when they break their daily fast. What a treat. We were able to share the occasion with locals, adding to our experience of Authentic Tunis. The rooms were cozy and clean - maybe a bit too warm for my husband. But there was AC and it eventually cooled down enough. I enjoyed the local interior design, a mix of antique and modern locally crafted pieces. And you can't beat the location. The hotel is within walking distance to small little shops throughout Medina and other tourist spots nearby. Because of Ramadan, things were shuttered until the sun went down, so we didn't get to experience much in the day. And because the streets come alive at night, the noise level was an issue when we finally turned in for sleep. But it was minor. You'll love it here for at least a one-to-two night stay on your way to the coast.

Room Tip: There's a room with a giant balcony. Ask about that. We had one with a window that opened over the courtyard. Just as nice.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julien020, Propriétaire at Dar El Medina, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2015

The hotel Dar El Medina and his staff apologize for any inconvenience occurred unintentionally and we hope that you spent or will spend a great time with us.

Thank you for continuing to give us your feelings. Marahbé.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2015

Was excited to stay here, expecting an experience akin to the riads in Morocco. Unfortunately we were very disappointed, enough so to cancel our second stay and go elsewhere. The room was tiny; couldn’t even walk between the bed and the wall without stubbing my toes on either the wall or the bedframe. The bed was rock-hard, and the pillows seemed like bags of cement. There was one small rickety chair to sit in, and no outlets to plug chargers in unless you unplugged the lamp. The bathroom was down a set of stairs, but had no heat, so it was freezing in the morning. The sink was stopped up on arrival, and we were promised this would be fixed, but it never was. Internet only worked in one corner of the room, next to the door. Stairs to get to the room were had no lights; needed to use our phone flashlights to see up the stairs. Needed ice for a knee injury; was promised it would be sent to the room right away, but ever received it despite several requests. The restaurant at which the hotel made a dinner reservation for us turned out to be closed. Breakfast was quite frustrating; took 45 minutes and 3 requests just to get coffee, despite there being two waitresses and only two occupied tables. Finally got the coffee and some bread and butter, along with a slice each of processed American cheese (yes, the singles in the plastic wrapper). Despite numerous requests, we never received the promised eggs or yogurt, and after almost 90 minutes we finally left as we were now late to start our day. Very disappointing experience; if you want to experience a charming restored intimate inn, wait for Tozeur and stay at the Dar Saida Beya.

Room Tip: Choose a room in a different hotel!
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Vnyrdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julien020, Propriétaire at Dar El Medina, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2015

The hotel Dar El Medina and his staff apologize for any inconvenience occurred unintentionally and we hope that you spent or will spend a great time with us

We are sorry for this misunderstanding

pleased be advised , that we are currently training our staff
Again, your comment is helpful and welcomed, in order to improve our shortcomings

Thank you for continuing to give us your feelings. Marahbé.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2015

We stayed in a wonderful room up top and it was very nicely done. The breakfast was great also. Lots of bread as is the Tunisian way. It could have used a little more fruit. This place is a traditional house/ hotel in the Medina and you won't go wrong staying here. The location is great also.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank OnePackJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julien020, Propriétaire at Dar El Medina, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2015
Google Translation

L’hôtel Dar El Medina et son personnel s’excusent d’éventuels désagréments involontairement survenus et nous espérons que vous avez passé ou passerez un excellent séjour parmi nous.

Merci de continuer à nous faire part de vos sentiments. Marahbé.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2015

Second stay at the Dar and yet again they accommodated us at short notice. This is a great hotel with the most helpful and pleasant staff, but with little things detracting that could so easily be fixed: Good breakfast, but the same thing every day; staff smoking in reception (Tunisia is still a "smoke-indoors-country"); dead light bulbs, etc. The heating struggled in one of the rooms (as most places were during an exceptionally cold spell in Tunis) but the other was fine. But with its great location, great staff and special prices if you ring or book in person, this is terrific.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julien020, Propriétaire at Dar El Medina, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2015

The hotel Dar El Medina and his staff apologize for any inconvenience occurred .

we are sorry for this misunderstanding

please be advised that we are currently training our staff

Again , your comment is helpful and welcomed in order to improve our shortcomings

Thank you for continuing to give us your feelings. Marahbé.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews