We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$81
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Business Hotel(Tunis)(Great Value!)
US$82
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ibis Tunis(Tunis)
US$69
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dar Hayder(Tunis)
US$103
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carlton Hotel Tunis(Tunis)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$115
US$108
Novotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveller rating
49
47
14
21
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
47
14
21
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroof terracedrop off pointtraditional tunisiandarheating
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 139 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2015

We stayed in a wonderful room up top and it was very nicely done. The breakfast was great also. Lots of bread as is the Tunisian way. It could have used a little more fruit. This place is a traditional house/ hotel in the Medina and you won't go wrong staying here. The location is great also.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank OnePackJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julien020, Propriétaire at Dar El Medina, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2015
Google Translation

L’hôtel Dar El Medina et son personnel s’excusent d’éventuels désagréments involontairement survenus et nous espérons que vous avez passé ou passerez un excellent séjour parmi nous.

Merci de continuer à nous faire part de vos sentiments. Marahbé.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2015

Second stay at the Dar and yet again they accommodated us at short notice. This is a great hotel with the most helpful and pleasant staff, but with little things detracting that could so easily be fixed: Good breakfast, but the same thing every day; staff smoking in reception (Tunisia is still a "smoke-indoors-country"); dead light bulbs, etc. The heating struggled in one of the rooms (as most places were during an exceptionally cold spell in Tunis) but the other was fine. But with its great location, great staff and special prices if you ring or book in person, this is terrific.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julien020, Propriétaire at Dar El Medina, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2015

The hotel Dar El Medina and his staff apologize for any inconvenience occurred .

we are sorry for this misunderstanding

please be advised that we are currently training our staff

Again , your comment is helpful and welcomed in order to improve our shortcomings

Thank you for continuing to give us your feelings. Marahbé.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2015

We expected a lot from this hotel, after seeing its pictures from the web site and after reading some reviews. The result was sad, unpleasant and absolutely deceiving. The hotel in itself is a restored, lovely and not large old building with plenty of romantic and exotic touches. The cleaning however leaves much to be desired (a lovely old sitting room facing the larger courtyard was completely covered by dust!). The maintenance/housekeeping also is far from good: a lamp in the bathroom was out of order, we notified this, they promised to fix it but nothing happened and we had to shower in semi-darkness for a week; furthermore our tv had only one channel working, we complained, receptionist promised to fix it but nothing happened as well. The breakfast was absolutely cheap, monotone and nonsense at times: same miserable slice of processed cheese wrapped in plastic every day?! Tea which tasted like murky boiled water?! The location in the heart of the medina implies 'pros' like historical interest and atmosphere but also serious 'cons' like 1) difficulty to get a taxi nearby (you need to walk at least 200 meters to get one: think about it if travelling with heavy/large bags, and remember that Tunis taxi driver are not known for their honesty and reliability...), 2) terrorizing neighbourhood at night (avoid at all costs to walk after dark in the medina!), 3) total lack of restaurant/bars/cafés after around 6pm, 4) steep and narrow stairs to upper floors (no lift). the worst point of the hotel is in any case the service provided: the two receptionists show a disturbing mix of laziness, unprofessionality, trickiness, boredom, inaccuracy and definitely don't leave a good impression of their hotel. I really wonder if the owner knows this and/or if he really cares. Hotel recommended? Definitely not!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank supersamtrieste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julien020, Propriétaire at Dar El Medina, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2015

The hotel Dar El Medina and his staff apologize for any inconvenience occurred

Thank you for your comment ; we appreciate it .

Please be advised that dar El Madina is situated at the heart of the medina of Tunis .and as you know the traditional houses have their own characteristics and charms.

Concerning , the breakfast,please , be informed that is composed by :

- An orange Juice
-Homemade cake
-Coffee,chocolate milk or Tea .
-Melaouis (Tunisian Pancakes)
-Traditional Breads
-Butter,jam and chamiya
-Boiled egg
-Cheese, Tomatoes and cucumbers.

For "The desert and dark at night "As you know, Dar El Medina is located in the heart of Tunisia ; where you can find all kinds of entertainments, restaurants and shopping ,even at night.

Again, we appreciate your comment

Thank you for continuing to give us your feelings. Marahbé.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2015

We spent the last two nights of our 12 days in Tunisia here. It's a beautified older house right smack in the medina, down the street from the Casbah, where there's the changing of the guard and other government buildings. We were in a top floor "junior suite" that had sweeping views of Tunis. The room was a bit odd; the bathroom was on a lower level that made any in the middle of the night trips precarious. It was well appointed but a little short of 4-start quality. And then there was some little things: the hallways were unlit at night, making the trip upstairs difficult, and a morning breakfast where they never seemed to have it together, even though we seemed to be the only guests. A shout out though to the night staffer Muhammed Ali, who went overboard to help, particularly when their laundry service "lost" some of our clothes. This is a nice place in a suberb location, just needs some finishing touches and someone to keep the staff on its toes.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julien020, Propriétaire at Dar El Medina, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2015

The hotel Dar El Medina and his staff apologize for any inconvenience occurred.

We are sorry for this missunderstanding

Again, your comment is helpful and welcomed in order to improve our shortcomings

we hope that you spent or will spend a great time with us.

Thank you for continuing to give us your feelings. Marahbé.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2014

If you want to stay in a museum like building - and the plumbing etc though ancient does work - this is the place for you. But be prepared for a very odd breakfast (a small ration of cake, orange juice, bread, processed cheese, butter, halva and jam) served in a ritual and painfully slow fashion. The staff are well meaning but don't seem to grasp the idea that a hotel provides what the customer wants rather than what the hotelier wants to give them. Note: out of season the medina is also deserted and dark at night, with no places to eat nearby.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ianw33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julien020, Propriétaire at Dar El Medina, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2015

The hotel Dar El Medina and his staff apologize for any inconvenience occurred.

Thank you for your critics we appreciate it.

Concerning, the breakfast,please , be informed that is composed by :

-An orange juice
-Homemade cake
- Coffee, chocolate milk or tea
- Melaouis( Tunisian pancakes )
- Traditional Breads
-Butter, jam and chamiya
-Boiled egg
-cheese ,Tomatoes and cucumbers
For The deserted and dark out of season .As you know , Dar el Medina is located in the heart of Tunisia , where you can find all kinds of entertainments, restaurants and shopping.

Again, we appreciate your comment

we hope that you spent or will spend a great time with us.

Thank you for continuing to give us your feelings. Marahbé.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews