We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Ready for Prime Time”
Review of Dar El Medina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dar El Medina
Ranked #19 of 55 Hotels in Tunis
Reviewed 1 April 2015

Was excited to stay here, expecting an experience akin to the riads in Morocco. Unfortunately we were very disappointed, enough so to cancel our second stay and go elsewhere. The room was tiny; couldn’t even walk between the bed and the wall without stubbing my toes on either the wall or the bedframe. The bed was rock-hard, and the pillows seemed like bags of cement. There was one small rickety chair to sit in, and no outlets to plug chargers in unless you unplugged the lamp. The bathroom was down a set of stairs, but had no heat, so it was freezing in the morning. The sink was stopped up on arrival, and we were promised this would be fixed, but it never was. Internet only worked in one corner of the room, next to the door. Stairs to get to the room were had no lights; needed to use our phone flashlights to see up the stairs. Needed ice for a knee injury; was promised it would be sent to the room right away, but ever received it despite several requests. The restaurant at which the hotel made a dinner reservation for us turned out to be closed. Breakfast was quite frustrating; took 45 minutes and 3 requests just to get coffee, despite there being two waitresses and only two occupied tables. Finally got the coffee and some bread and butter, along with a slice each of processed American cheese (yes, the singles in the plastic wrapper). Despite numerous requests, we never received the promised eggs or yogurt, and after almost 90 minutes we finally left as we were now late to start our day. Very disappointing experience; if you want to experience a charming restored intimate inn, wait for Tozeur and stay at the Dar Saida Beya.

Room Tip: Choose a room in a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Vnyrdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julien020, Propriétaire at Dar El Medina, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2015

The hotel Dar El Medina and his staff apologize for any inconvenience occurred unintentionally and we hope that you spent or will spend a great time with us

We are sorry for this misunderstanding

pleased be advised , that we are currently training our staff
Again, your comment is helpful and welcomed, in order to improve our shortcomings

Thank you for continuing to give us your feelings. Marahbé.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2015

We stayed in a wonderful room up top and it was very nicely done. The breakfast was great also. Lots of bread as is the Tunisian way. It could have used a little more fruit. This place is a traditional house/ hotel in the Medina and you won't go wrong staying here. The location is great also.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank OnePackJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julien020, Propriétaire at Dar El Medina, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2015
Google Translation

L’hôtel Dar El Medina et son personnel s’excusent d’éventuels désagréments involontairement survenus et nous espérons que vous avez passé ou passerez un excellent séjour parmi nous.

Merci de continuer à nous faire part de vos sentiments. Marahbé.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2015

Second stay at the Dar and yet again they accommodated us at short notice. This is a great hotel with the most helpful and pleasant staff, but with little things detracting that could so easily be fixed: Good breakfast, but the same thing every day; staff smoking in reception (Tunisia is still a "smoke-indoors-country"); dead light bulbs, etc. The heating struggled in one of the rooms (as most places were during an exceptionally cold spell in Tunis) but the other was fine. But with its great location, great staff and special prices if you ring or book in person, this is terrific.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julien020, Propriétaire at Dar El Medina, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2015

The hotel Dar El Medina and his staff apologize for any inconvenience occurred .

we are sorry for this misunderstanding

please be advised that we are currently training our staff

Again , your comment is helpful and welcomed in order to improve our shortcomings

Thank you for continuing to give us your feelings. Marahbé.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2015

We expected a lot from this hotel, after seeing its pictures from the web site and after reading some reviews. The result was sad, unpleasant and absolutely deceiving. The hotel in itself is a restored, lovely and not large old building with plenty of romantic and exotic touches. The cleaning however leaves much to be desired (a lovely old sitting room facing the larger courtyard was completely covered by dust!). The maintenance/housekeeping also is far from good: a lamp in the bathroom was out of order, we notified this, they promised to fix it but nothing happened and we had to shower in semi-darkness for a week; furthermore our tv had only one channel working, we complained, receptionist promised to fix it but nothing happened as well. The breakfast was absolutely cheap, monotone and nonsense at times: same miserable slice of processed cheese wrapped in plastic every day?! Tea which tasted like murky boiled water?! The location in the heart of the medina implies 'pros' like historical interest and atmosphere but also serious 'cons' like 1) difficulty to get a taxi nearby (you need to walk at least 200 meters to get one: think about it if travelling with heavy/large bags, and remember that Tunis taxi driver are not known for their honesty and reliability...), 2) terrorizing neighbourhood at night (avoid at all costs to walk after dark in the medina!), 3) total lack of restaurant/bars/cafés after around 6pm, 4) steep and narrow stairs to upper floors (no lift). the worst point of the hotel is in any case the service provided: the two receptionists show a disturbing mix of laziness, unprofessionality, trickiness, boredom, inaccuracy and definitely don't leave a good impression of their hotel. I really wonder if the owner knows this and/or if he really cares. Hotel recommended? Definitely not!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank supersamtrieste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julien020, Propriétaire at Dar El Medina, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2015

The hotel Dar El Medina and his staff apologize for any inconvenience occurred

Thank you for your comment ; we appreciate it .

Please be advised that dar El Madina is situated at the heart of the medina of Tunis .and as you know the traditional houses have their own characteristics and charms.

Concerning , the breakfast,please , be informed that is composed by :

- An orange Juice
-Homemade cake
-Coffee,chocolate milk or Tea .
-Melaouis (Tunisian Pancakes)
-Traditional Breads
-Butter,jam and chamiya
-Boiled egg
-Cheese, Tomatoes and cucumbers.

For "The desert and dark at night "As you know, Dar El Medina is located in the heart of Tunisia ; where you can find all kinds of entertainments, restaurants and shopping ,even at night.

Again, we appreciate your comment

Thank you for continuing to give us your feelings. Marahbé.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2015

We spent the last two nights of our 12 days in Tunisia here. It's a beautified older house right smack in the medina, down the street from the Casbah, where there's the changing of the guard and other government buildings. We were in a top floor "junior suite" that had sweeping views of Tunis. The room was a bit odd; the bathroom was on a lower level that made any in the middle of the night trips precarious. It was well appointed but a little short of 4-start quality. And then there was some little things: the hallways were unlit at night, making the trip upstairs difficult, and a morning breakfast where they never seemed to have it together, even though we seemed to be the only guests. A shout out though to the night staffer Muhammed Ali, who went overboard to help, particularly when their laundry service "lost" some of our clothes. This is a nice place in a suberb location, just needs some finishing touches and someone to keep the staff on its toes.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julien020, Propriétaire at Dar El Medina, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2015

The hotel Dar El Medina and his staff apologize for any inconvenience occurred.

We are sorry for this missunderstanding

Again, your comment is helpful and welcomed in order to improve our shortcomings

we hope that you spent or will spend a great time with us.

Thank you for continuing to give us your feelings. Marahbé.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tunis hotels
12.4 km away
Ibis Tunis
Ibis Tunis
#2 of 55 in Tunis
396 reviews
14.1 km away
Dar Ben-Gacem
Dar Ben-Gacem
#9 of 55 in Tunis
100 reviews
12.7 km away
Carlton Hotel Tunis
Carlton Hotel Tunis
#3 of 55 in Tunis
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 km away
Africa Hotel
Africa Hotel
#6 of 55 in Tunis
431 reviews
12.9 km away
Hotel Majestic
Hotel Majestic
#17 of 55 in Tunis
131 reviews
7.4 km away
Hotel Les Berges Du Lac- Concorde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar El Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar El Medina

Address: 64 Rue Sidi Ben Arous, Tunis 1006, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > Tunis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Tunis
Price Range: €50 - €127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar El Medina 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Dar El Medina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar El Medina Tunis, Tunisia, Africa
Dar El Medina Hotel Tunis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing