We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Decent, once you get past the reception area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Maison-Blanche

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel La Maison-Blanche
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in Tunis
Gaborone, Botswana
Level Contributor
72 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Decent, once you get past the reception area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

At first view, this does not appear a top class hotel, mainly due to the reception area being small, understated and lacking the kind of concierge one would normally find in an established business hotel. However, the rooms are spacious, full of character and well-equipped with desk space and excellent wi-fi internet. The food served by the hotel restaurant is also impressive - the breakfast spread is substantial and the menu for lunch and dinner reasonably broad-ranging with the food of excellent quality. All in all, although my first impression was not great, at the end of the stay i left feeling quite satisfied with the place.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Adam_in_Africa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    31
    26
    13
    23
See reviews for
5
11
15
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
108 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

This hotel looked great from the website and I had high expectations. Although my stay was fine, I certainly wouldn't call it a 5* property. The rooms are spacious and well equipped, with a table and sitting area, and traditional in style (I believe each one is different). This is memorable as you don't feel like you're in any old international hotel. But the hotel could do with a renovation: my bathroom had a persistent drain smell throughout my 3 days; the shower regularly oscillated between warm and freezing cold water; and the beds (although large) are very hard and come with one thin blanket - which was not really adequate in the winter. The restaurant was good, and I was on the 7th floor so unaffected by the noise, but I echo the recommendations of previous reviewers to request a room on a high floor if you don't want to be disturbed by the nightclub on the first floor! I would probably stay here again if in Tunis on business, but if I wanted a 5* hotel, I'd look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor to avoid noise from the night club
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentTravellerKV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano
Level Contributor
94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

La Maison Blanche is a very good hotel in downtown, in Tunis, very closer to the Avenue Bourghiba and to the Medina. Anyway the taxi in Tunis are very convenient and you can move easily in other point of interests (as the Bardo Museum, 5dinars (2,50 euro), La Goulette (nice place on the sea, 8dinars (4euro) the aeroport (8dinars=4euro), Carthage (8 dinars=4 euro). The hotel La Maison Banche has nice room, real junior suite, very confortable, but you must keep attention and you must ask for a room NOT GIVING ON THE MAIN STREET (these are very noisy!), the rooms in the other side are very quietly.
The breakfast in the morning is excellent!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kripu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
107 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

I stayed here 4 nights for business and had a good stay. Agree w/ the reviews about the disco; it's loud and smoky, very popular chique place to be for locals & tourists. I stayed on the 6th floor and was not bothered by it, couldn't hear it at all. The rooms are beautiful - big, with canope bed, nice tiled bathroom w/ bath and shower. Service was excellent. Food was great - they served lunches and snacks during the work meetings and these were excellent French/Tunisian cuisine. If i were travelling privately i would rather be closer to the center of Tunis but this was fine for business travel.

Room Tip: request 6th or 7th floor. Back side of the hotel is quieter (off the street)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Davis123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

I was kept up late by the disco in the hotel and on checking out was ripped off by q*the sneaky receptionist. This place really gave me a bad impression of Tunis. I left dissilusioned.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank P J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tunis hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tunis hotels
2.3 km away
Dar Ben-Gacem
Dar Ben-Gacem
#6 of 54 in Tunis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Majestic
Hotel Majestic
#17 of 54 in Tunis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
8.9 km away
Le Corail Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Novotel Mohamed V
Novotel Mohamed V
#5 of 54 in Tunis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Du Parc
Hotel Du Parc
#43 of 54 in Tunis
3.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
1.0 km away
Golden Tulip El Mechtel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Maison-Blanche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Maison-Blanche

Property: Hotel La Maison-Blanche
Address: 45 Avenue Mohamed V, Tunis 1002, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > Tunis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Tunis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel La Maison-Blanche 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel La Maison-Blanche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Tunis
Best Western Tunis
Tunis Best Western
Hotel La Maison-Blanche Tunis, Tunisia, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing