We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must see”
Review of Dar El Jeld

Dar El Jeld
Ranked #3 of 281 Restaurants in Tunis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Tunisian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

I place you have to visit if you go to Tunis.. Really traditional Tunisian inside, as it was an old house. The food was good and the service exceptional

Thank Lefteris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (885)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 885 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2018

The place is one of the very authentic and luxurious house, beautiful and original.
Service and food are one of the best you can have in Tunis. Prices are quiet high, but deserves it!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MonaZ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Habiba A, Propriétaire at Dar El Jeld, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018
Google Translation

Merci pour votre avis positif et vos encouragements.Nous tâchons d'être toujours à la hauteur de vos attentes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

The only value of this restaurant is the Estate, besides that appreciation of history we were left with literally nothing.

First of all, food is not authentically prepared: Tunisian salad is tasteless and salty, Blankit were way too soggy and quiet unenjoyable. Nwasser were the most terrible I had in my life, add that to low level ingredients for sure such as shrimp/prawns and calamari.

We dined with a pregnant lady, we asked for brik to have an egg that's not runny, unfortunately we never were served even if the backwaiter repeated the order.

I felt service was at the edge and about 2 members out of 3 were at the edge of even being impolite. The waiter has been there for 27 years, took the order and never touched the table until we paid and tipped of course.

The other disappointment is that they promoted different menus online but we didn't have much choices for the main courses. It's not honest in my opinion.

I talked to the waiter mentioning that we didn't like the food since I can deal with impolite bussers, he said he'd report it the chef. I know that nothing will change as after dinner I talked to friends and family and they mentioned the food quality went down even from a year ago, too bad too late.

We spend 630 TD plus gratuity and I didn't want to cause an issue because I was dining with my parents and never wanted to stress them out in this deceiving restaurant.

The restroom has no toilet paper in couple of occasions, it says a lot about the level of people who are running this place.

I won't go back even for a free dinner, the name of this place and the history behind it is important but that doesn't make theur food tasty. Their possibly new chef/cook is skill less and doesn't put any effort to find any pleasant flavors that technically he's not even supposed to create then, all he needs to do is copy them but he apparently isn't capable to do so.

I do not recommend this place for anyone who discovered true/authentic Tunisian cuisine.

This business needs new staff and possibly new owners since it's going on autopilot to a wrong direction.

2  Thank Hichem E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

An excellent choice. The restaurant is very beautiful with Classic and traditional cuisine located in the old city.

1  Thank Sofian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Habiba A, Propriétaire at Dar El Jeld, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018
Google Translation

Merci de votre avis favorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2018

This is by far my favorite restaurant in Tunisia. Being a Tunisian and living abroad. It is one of the highlights of every trip back home.
The discovery menu is great for those who don't know the Tunisian cuisine. My favorite dishes are the brika and the couscous. A must try if you visit this magnificent place. The seating plan is in a traditional Tunisian house. You will have a musician playing Qanun throughout the night. If you have a big group, I recommend to book one of the rooms upstairs and feel like a royal for the night.

Thank Seif K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Habiba A, Propriétaire at Dar El Jeld, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018
Google Translation

Merci pour vos encouragements

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dar El Jeld also viewed

Tunis, Tunis Governorate
Tunis, Tunis Governorate
 
Tunis, Tunis Governorate
Tunis, Tunis Governorate
 
Tunis, Tunis Governorate
Tunis, Tunis Governorate
 

Been to Dar El Jeld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing