We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (408)
Filter reviews
409 results
Traveller rating
383
17
7
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
383
17
7
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mara river chef john other guests northern serengeti game drives wildebeest migration hot water bucket shower within sight wish list black rhino long table sitting area spent nights wonderful experience bottle of champagne once in a lifetime
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 409 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2018

We really enjoyed our stay at Olakira Camp by the Mara River. It was the best location for viewing river crossings. The tents were very comfortable and the meals were excellent. Staff is very warm and welcoming and we enjoyed the cocktails around the campfire and the group dinners. Our driver and guide, Lucas, was first- rate and very knowledgeable. Our highlight, besides the 7 - 8 wildebeest crossings we viewed, was an hour spent with a family of about 30 elephants and the opportunity to observe them closely as they did a river crossing. Our only suggestions for improvement at Olakira is that, for the price of the stay, we expected a private driver/guide experience, as we had at our other safari camps, instead of sharing the jeep with another couple for the majority of our time in camp.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank walzhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review and share you experience at Olakira Camp. We appreciate your feedback and should you one day hopefully return to Olakira Camp, make sure to request a private vehicle prior to your arrival and we will most certainly assist accordingly.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and had such an amazing wildlife experience, 8 wildebeest river crossings wow!

The team humbly appreciates your compliments with such pride.

Do come back soon, the cocktails around the campfire will be waiting!

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Olakira Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

We spent 3 nights at Olakira Camp in the Serengeti at the end of our 3 week safari. We honestly didn't think any camp could top some of the others we stayed at before. Olakira was quickly moved to one of our equal favorites (there with Sanctuary Swala in Taragire). Both were different types of camps- Olakira a mobile camp where we couldn't have been closer to the Mara River and all the action. You could see Hippos sunbathing down below from the porch area and hear Wildebeest, Leopards and Hippos wandering through camp at night- no need to worry- completely safe in your luxury tent! Hot water, great pressure, flush toilets, terrific amenities and the best- a moveable bed that can be rolled into the sitting area at night for star gazing!

Move on to staff- From our arrival with greetings from Pascal and Goodluck (managers) to my champagne brunch/bartender friend and Chef John who will both adhere to all your needs (which Chef John had to do for me- even "debbie sandwiches") to the excellent drivers- William and Elisante ("Eli') who put us in amazing sight for a crossing of 2500 Wildebeest, in front of a Rhino (only their two jeeps found him), leopards, the Kenya/Tanzania border, Hyenas, Lions, elephants, etc...Oh, and bless Eli for having fun with John and Me in the making of our Africa music video!
I have told Audley, our tour company, this is a camp you could easily spend 4 nights at....so wonderful!

Note: We did the hot air balloon ride and I would highly recommend it- peaceful wildlife viewing ending with a wonderful champagne breakfast !

Asante' Sana to all our friends at Olakura!

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank debbie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Dear Debbie

Thank you for this wonderful review and sharing your Olakira Camp experience. We are so proud to be one of your favorite stops on your African Adventure Trip and what an adventure it was with all the great wildlife sightings and experiences!

The team sincerely appreciates your compliments and with such pride.

We so enjoyed having you in camp with us and hope to welcome you back again in the near future for a longer stay perhaps?

Karibu Sana!

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Olakira Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

We spent 3 nights in Olakira Camp in the Serengeti. The experience exceeded all our expectations. The tent that was our room was very luxurious and comfortable with running water hot showers. It was indeed glamping at its best! All the staff in the camp were lovely and so helpful and cheerful. Special mention to our guide William who was fantastic and tried so hard to make sure we saw all we wanted to see especially the river crossings and encounters with all the big cats and black rhino! Kudos to the Camp manager Pascal and also the chef John for whipping up amazing meals, the food was very very good. The bush breakfast experience on the last day we were there was also very special. Would highly recommend to anyone who is planning a safari to the Serengeti.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
Thank StimintzT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Hello,

It is an absolute honour to hear that we exceeded your expectations! We take great pride in that accomplishment and truly appreciate this wonderful review.

We do hope that the special memories made with us will have you longing to return. It would be a pleasure for us to be able to welcome you back for more incredible wildlife encounters, delicious food, and a very comfortable stay!

Warmest regards from the Serengeti,
The Olakira Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018

The tent was comfortable with proper toilet and hot shower. Better than expected. Food was of very high standard and the service second to none. The drink flowed and there was plenty of chat around the camp fire and dinner table. The guide was brilliant and we saw far more than expected.A lovely friendly atmosphere amongst all of the staff. Exceeded all our (high) expectations.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank psandts2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Hello,

We are extremely proud to have exceeded those high expectations and truly appreciate this wonderful review of your time in camp with us.

We do hope that the special memories made will have you longing for more. It would be an absolute pleasure to welcome you back!

Warmest regards,
The Olakira Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018

We spent three days and nights at Olakira, the closest camp to the Mara River in the Serengeti and the ideal camp for viewing the river crossings.The staff was great and provided excellent personal service (each staff member remembering the name of every guest); the food was exceptional; and our guide, William, was excellent. Great value for the money.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Hello Steve,

We take great pride in receiving feedback such as this. Thank you for posting your great comments on your time in camp with us. We look forward to a possible return trip!

Warmest regards from the Serengeti,
The Olakira Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews