We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my FAVORITE places to stay in Dar!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
Ranked #6 of 97 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2017

The DoubleTree in Oysterbay is always like a vacation for me, even on a work trip. The hotel is clean, the staff are absolutely wonderful! The food is good, the drinks are great. I just really enjoy my stay each and every time. Congrats to GM Ian you have built a great team at the DoubleTree. And a very, very special THANK YOU to Naima, she is the absolute best! Until the next time...

Oh...and the sun setting over the Indian Ocean is beautiful!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Indian Ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank cwilli64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, as your “home away from home”, we really appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel following your recent stay with us. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that, overall you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Tanzania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (891)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 891 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

Very nice hotel, amazing ocean view, friendly staff specially Mr Izack and Madame Paulina very helpful & nice..you gonna enjoy seafood night and delicious food also nice pool by the ocean nice band on saturday and Thrusday seafood night

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
2  Thank Karim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, as your “home away from home”, we really appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel following your recent stay with us. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that, overall you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Tanzania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Excellent 5-star accommodation for less money - good value. Lovely hotel, great location and spectacular views - but the staff are what sets this hotel apart from others. Nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
3  Thank ArletteCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, as your “home away from home”, we really appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel following your recent stay with us. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that, overall you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Tanzania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

My husband and me stayed at the hotel 8 days for our fall break. Our first time in Africa south of Sahara. We are very satisfied with our stay. Pros; we got a new room the second day (upgraded with no extra cost with sea view) because a rooster crowed and woke us up. The service was excellent, friendly staff, good food in the restaurants and clean areas and room. The best thing however, was that we could keep our room for free until 19h in the evening our last day due to a late flight. That we have never experienced before - and we travel a lot! The private transportation to the airport and the port was on time and comfortable. The wifi worked pefectly and the beds were perfect for our taste.
There is room for improvement in the following areas;
The gym was small and not so clean. They should have bought more mats than just one and a bosuball with enough air in it. Or maybe two? The towels by the pool had stains and the towels in the gym were worn out.
The staff at the pool seemed to have little to do, so in our opinion they could have helped clean the pool and the pool area. We had three treatments in the spa. There is room for improvements in doing the pedicure more thoroughly, (remove more dead skin with a better tool than a file) and do the deep tissue massage harder. Another good thing to mention, is that the management told some people at the pool with their own loudspeaker with loud music, to shut It down. We appreciated that.
All in all a relaxing and very nice holiday at this hotel.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Catarina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, as your “home away from home”, we really appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel following your recent stay with us. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that, overall you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Tanzania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

Very good hotel to stay in, friendly staff, good food. Close to city and beach. Walking distance from resturants and shopping centres. Great shuttle service to and from airport. Various taxi's to pick from at hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Neels v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, as your “home away from home”, we really appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel following your recent stay with us. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that, overall you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Tanzania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
7.3 km away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
5.1 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
6.7 km away
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
#2 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel
#3 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
526 reviews
1.6 km away
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
#5 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
530 reviews
8.5 km away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#9 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay

Address: Slipway Road Msasani Peninsular, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#9 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: €124 - €178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highlights •Located 4.3 Miles from the City Center •Oceanfront property with bay views •Swimming pool and jetty •Three onsite restaurants •5 Meeting Rooms .What to do around here Select the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Dar es Salaam and be close to shops, restaurants and boating. Our hotel offers beautiful bay views and tropical, lush gardens. Enjoy staying in the most affluent area of Dar es Salaam when choosing our hotel. We are within walking distance of restaurants, shops and clubs. Spend a day on the beach. Go snorkeling, fishing and diving. Tee off at the Gymkhana Golf Course, only three miles away from the hotel. Take a 20-minute flight to Mikumi Wildlife Reserve. Visit the Dar es Salaam Yacht Club and go sailing. Visit the Slipway Arts and Crafts Center only two minutes away from the hotel. This popular recreation area offers bookshops, open-air restaurants and pubs. Be sure to visit the Village Museum, Sea Cliff Village and Shoppers Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Dar Es Salaam-Oysterbay Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing