We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Sea Cliff Hotel(Dar es Salaam)
US$360
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$209/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$123
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western CBD Hotel(Dar es Salaam)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$203
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sapphire(Dar es Salaam)
US$108
US$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
US$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (918)
Filter reviews
918 results
Traveller rating
315
398
124
53
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
315
398
124
53
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble treeoysterspool areamain buildingbusiness tripenjoyed my stayrooms are spacioussea viewbreakfast buffetnice poolcomfortable stayindian oceanslipwaytanzaniadargyminternet
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 918 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2017

I will write a review about spending time here as someone already living in Dar es Salaam. Sometimes you get tired of crowd but you still want to go out somewhere to hang out. I go to Double Tree to hang out and have a drink or coffee or tea and relax. It's also even a good place to have meetings. it is very secured and safe. It is quite and has a great view of suset from the bar area outside.

Stayed: June 2017
1  Thank Orcun B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

As a resident of Dar es Salaam we really value your opinion and thank you for choosing to spend some quality time at the hotel.Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that, overall you enjoyed your time with us, and look forward to welcome you back whenever you need to 'chill out'

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

This hotel went above and beyond for my husband and me. We did a 2 day safari and the hotel held our luggage while we were away. Every one was very nice and gave us advice on if we could walk or needed to have a ride to spots by the hotel. The slipway is very close and you can walk. There is also the locals who sell souvenirs right next door. Breakfast was delicious and it has international as well as African options. The airport was about a hour away with traffic.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Laurluke3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, as your “home away from home”, we really appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel following your recent stay with us. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that, overall you enjoyed your stay with us, and we were able to exceed your expectations we do hope to see you again and look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Tanzania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

We had fantastic stay @ DoubleTree Dar El Salam,Welcome Cookie during check in, clean room and stuff was very helpful, Drinks and food offer was very good, Amazing place to see sunset also, we enjoyed our stay so much that we will still gladly classify it with a five out of five score and would be very keen to return.

The hotel is absolutely amazing, everything was perfect, I recommend this hotel for both businesses and leisure travelers.

Room Tip: Ocean View is just amazing
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ramy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, as your “home away from home”, we really appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel following your recent stay with us. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that, overall you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Tanzania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

I came to the Hotel in the early am having departed the Slipway hotel which was a nightmare. The staff were very welcoming, gave me a temporary room until one on the ocean side came open. Since I am an Honors member, there was more attention and was able to stay in my room until my night flight as the weekend was not that busy.

Lovely location near the shopping and restaurant area, the Thai restaurant is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Of course go up as high as possible and the ocean view is lovely
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liketohike_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, as your “home away from home”, we really appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel following your recent stay with us. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that, overall you enjoyed your stay with us, and delighted that as a Hilton Honors member we were able to offer a complimentary late check out, it really makes a difference when you have a late flight. We do hope to see you again and look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Tanzania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

Had 2 evenings with a business stop in and out of Tanzania. Decent hotel for an African city. Very hospitable with good amenities. Had one problem- air conditioner leaked on the bed and soaked the pillow and mattress. When I mentioned it to front desk, they mentioned it would be looked at. As a Hilton Diamond, I was disappointed there was no compensation of money or points for a significant room problem. Had this been the US, there would have been immediate compensation.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank Ashtonariel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, we appreciate the time you have taken to review the hotel following your recent stay with us. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay and apologize for the inconvenience we caused you. Our Front Office Manager has been handling your complaint and is arranging bonus Hilton Honor points to your account. It was not possible to make a refund on your accommodation at the time as you had a pre-paid booking with Booking.com. Again our sincere apologies and we do hope that you will consider staying with us again and look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Tanzania.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews