We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Potential but.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
Ranked #6 of 98 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2011

The setting is nice, sitting on the terrace on the waterside, even if the service takes forever and a day. The rooms are good, but the last three times I stayed at Doubletree I didn't get the room I requested and had to change each time. Either no seaview which I had requested and PAID for, or a smell of sewage, or very noisy (extractor ducts on the go 24 hrs a day), etc. And last week the hotel driver that drove me to the airport was a kamikaze driver from hell - and that only for $40. And the food in the restaurant is very so so - the worst gazpacho and caprese ever! The business facilities are good. It has potential, but they have to clean up their act first. Next time in Dar I'll be looking out for a different hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephenGeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (897)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

809 - 813 of 897 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2011

I was finishing up a work stint in DAR and had to move out of my apartment early, so I stayed at the Doubletree for 10 days. First I have to comment that the beds are some of the nicest I have ever slept in. Great pillows, great sheets, great mattresses. Also, it is a really good thing they only give the free cookie when you check in because they are very decadent, but quite a treat. The doubletree is located on the water, so when the tide is in, or even out, there are nice views from the property. It is also next to Slipway, a collection of shops and restaurants, and bank, that you can walk to...Staff was very responsive and helpful to inquires. They have a very small gym, but worked well enough ( 1 bike, 2 treadmills, 1 strange elliptical, free weights)...pool area is nice, grounds are well maintained. 8-10 TV channels....breakfast was good, but I would recommend going out to dinner, as the food was okay, but higher end prices for DAR, though room service was always prompt. Wifi is free, though at times spotty and a little slower than the mobile modem I was using before ( though can't complain too much-as it was free) All in all I had a wonderful stay, and will miss it.

Room Tip: Some rooms have views ( mine didn't) but I think they cost more, so up to you. Otherwise the no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Good service, excellent business facilities, clean tidy rooms, good restaurant and as good a location as you can find in Dar

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Colin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

So the pizzas in the bar were good ... (and I went with an Italian) and they arrived in less than 40 minutes. Actually the fun started in reception, when they told me I had no room. Then they kindly gave me someone else's room (fortunately the person was out, but their baggage was in ... ). Finally I got a room - and it had a nice view of the pool. The road to the hotel was a bit like something out of a futuristic horror film - and one of my friends advised not to walk around after dark - since one of his friends was nearly put in the sea. However, in general the hotel was clean and tidy, and as long as you don't need anything doing its fine. I wouldn't recommend staying there though - there must be better places

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GenevaBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We were very disappointed to arrive at the hotel and be told that the type of room we had booked and paid for (King sized bed with sea view) was unavailable, the only room with a view available was with twin beds and a balcony, the view being over the swimming pool as opposed to the sea. The hotel is clean and spacious offering everything you need for a business trip. The swimming pool is not enormous but as it was rarely being used it wasn't too much of a problem. We found the service at the outside bars and eating areas slow, in the majority of cases we had to go and find a waiter to order and ultimately to pay for drinks and meals. Beds are comfortable, airconditioners effective and all amenities that you would expect of a Hilton hotel made for an enjoyable stay. Allow plenty of time to get to the airport, it took us 2.5 hours!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SANDJAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
7.3 km away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
5.1 km away
Protea Hotel Dar es Salaam Courtyard
6.7 km away
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
#2 of 98 in Dar es Salaam
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
#4 of 98 in Dar es Salaam
534 reviews
2.1 km away
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel
#3 of 98 in Dar es Salaam
528 reviews
8.5 km away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#9 of 98 in Dar es Salaam
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay

Address: Slipway Road Msasani Peninsular, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#9 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: €119 - €179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highlights •Located 4.3 Miles from the City Center •Oceanfront property with bay views •Swimming pool and jetty •Three onsite restaurants •5 Meeting Rooms .What to do around here Select the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Dar es Salaam and be close to shops, restaurants and boating. Our hotel offers beautiful bay views and tropical, lush gardens. Enjoy staying in the most affluent area of Dar es Salaam when choosing our hotel. We are within walking distance of restaurants, shops and clubs. Spend a day on the beach. Go snorkeling, fishing and diving. Tee off at the Gymkhana Golf Course, only three miles away from the hotel. Take a 20-minute flight to Mikumi Wildlife Reserve. Visit the Dar es Salaam Yacht Club and go sailing. Visit the Slipway Arts and Crafts Center only two minutes away from the hotel. This popular recreation area offers bookshops, open-air restaurants and pubs. Be sure to visit the Village Museum, Sea Cliff Village and Shoppers Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Prestigia, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Dar Es Salaam-Oysterbay Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing