We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel & Casino Malabata Tanger
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Tangier
Costa Dorada, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Morocco”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

This hotel is really nice, the staff is polite and the rooms are nice too. I've only stayed there for one night but I cannot complain about anything. Maybe it is a little bit pricey and far from downtown Tanger.

The casino is small compared to the other ones that I've been before, but the size is enough for the people that was there that night.

The food in Morocco is amazing. Everywhere you go the food is cheap and if you like the way they cook you'll love the experience.

The pool looked amazing, but the weather was awful so I couldn't enjoy it.

Room Tip: Visit the casino and bring your passport (they don't accept your national ID, even if you are Sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magi1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    123
    77
    56
    43
See reviews for
84
97
26
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Room is great but I've got not so nice view to the ocean. Staff is great and extremely polite. Service at the restaurant is not so prompt and if u order more than one dish be sure that they will forget it. Be avare that they speek either only franch or spanish beside arabic of course. They don't know much about original local things - for example I was looking for original moroccan massage and they wanted to send me to wellness western hotels :-/
Weird thing about taxis I found out driving to old city part Medina. He will stop on the road and without asking your permission take few more passengers.
U can change money in the hotel,the rate is better than in exchange office in the city.
Room service is fast and the lady in the lobby shop Wth watches and perfumes is really nice.
And one more thing -there's no tea/coffee in the rooms. As I'm tea addict its a issue for me that matters.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stjuardesamd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
205 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

I am always cautious about giving a negative review when I visit an area for the first time, as you are never sure where the "baseline" is for hotels, but I left the Movenpick feeling a little flat. I don't mind staying in expensive hotels, and I don't mind staying in cheap and cheerful hotels, but I do mind expensive cheap and cheerful hotels. Tangiers is a very cheap place, but the Movenpick was fairly pricy (especially the food - you can eat for about a quarter the price at nearby restaurants), but it had the feel of a much cheaper hotel. Furnishings were comfortable but sparse. When I took a shower, my head bumped the roof and the nozzle went no higher than my chest. I just expected better for the price.

Internet service is both very expensive (8 Euro for an hour) and cumbersome (you have to use your entire hour in one go - you cannot use it when you need it).

On the plus side, it is clean and felt very safe, and the staff are very friendly. Like many places in Tangier, the English spoken was not great, but certainly OK to get by on. The hotel is a little bit out of town, about a 2 mile walk to the Medina/port area (pleasant walk though).

Don't want to judge too harshly, but if I go back to Tangier I will probably try somewhere else.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side of the hotel face (indirectly) the Mosque, so you can usually hear the mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhone_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tangier hotels

Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

In Tangier on business. Hotel is ok. Room is nice, bed is comfortable. Food is good but very expensive. They also have a good gym and great view of bay and city. Staff is very friendly.

Issues:

-Complex process to access internet. Should be seamless, instead is clunky.
-Shower is built for people under 4'10". I almost broke my neck trying to use it.
-Bathroom had no toilet paper when I arrived. This made for an awkward experience. This is a first for me worldwide. Hotel went from 4 to 3 stars due to this alone.
-Maddening air con/ heat system in room. I had to open all windows to cool the room off. Unbearable.

Room Tip: Pick rooms that have toilet paper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freak77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
138 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We did not stay at the hotel but went to the casino for the evening while in Tangier. They have slots and video roulette on the first floor, live tables, more slots and a buffet on the second floor, and the top floor has a sit-down restaurant and lounge area. We ate at the restaurant- the food and service were good. The slots and tables were standard European/American style, with Black Jack, 3Card Poker, live roulette, and Ultimate Texas Hold 'Em. They also have full bar service and there was live music the night we were there. We were pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: See other reviews for room info. I only saw the casino.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lgo987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tangier hotels
0.4 km away
Grand Mogador Sea View - Luxury Hotel
4.2 km away
Mnar Castle Hotel Apartments
3.2 km away
Kenzi Solazur
Kenzi Solazur
#10 of 43 in Tangier
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Royal Tulip City Center
Royal Tulip City Center
#5 of 43 in Tangier
222 reviews
4.4 km away
El Minzah Hotel
El Minzah Hotel
#7 of 43 in Tangier
680 reviews
4.6 km away
Grand Hotel Villa de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel & Casino Malabata Tanger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel & Casino Malabata Tanger

Property: Movenpick Hotel & Casino Malabata Tanger
Address: Avenue Mohamed VI | Baie de Tanger, Tangier 90000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Tangier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Tangier
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Tangier
#7 Luxury Hotel in Tangier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel & Casino Malabata Tanger 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The imposing Mövenpick Hotel & Casino Malabata Tanger is the perfect location for business or leisure. It is set amidst beautiful gardens with a huge free-form swimming pool. Situated on the shores of the Mediterranean, this hotel overlooks the beautiful Bay of Tangier. Only a 5 to 10 minute drive from the city centre and yet far enough away to offer a calm and relaxing environment, it offers everything you expect. Large rooms, several different sized meeting rooms, a casino, a variety of restaurants and bars and a well-equipped and spacious gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Movenpick Hotel & Casino Malabata Tanger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Movenpick Hotel And Casino Malabata
Moevenpick Hotel Tangier
Moevenpick Hotel Malabata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing