We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“feeling at home in bustling Marrakesh”
Review of Riad Dar Zaman

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Dar Zaman
Ranked #74 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 November 2010

I should begin by saying that I tend to be a very critical person - thus the 4 instead of 5 point rating. My husband and I stayed at Dar Zaman at the beginning of Oct. and within a very short period of time felt almost at home there. Peter has done an excellent job of renovating the small riad: in the 4 rooms and the common areas, the decor is tasteful and there are special small touches everywhere. Although the rooms are very small and there is almost no place to put your clothes, the beds are comfortable and the shower was the best we had in Morocco (including a hotel at 4 times the price). Peter also has a computer ( internet ) available for his guests. The breakfast was good and we enjoyed sitting on the rooftop, drinking coffee, and seeing the Atlas mountains in the distance.

Madame Khabira cooks, cleans and does lots of other things at the riad. She is a very special person - bubbling with energy and kindness. She only speaks French, and the great majority of guests are English speaking, so when she found out we could communiate, she practically boiled over.
Everyone working at the riad went out of their way to be helpful in arranging things, orienting guests to the labyrinth of the Marrakesh souks, and just being plain nice. Since this is what makes up a major part of having a good vacation, I can highly recommend the Dar Zaman.
But ... guests should be aware of a couple of things. At small riads (all are like this, Dar Zaman is no exception), the windows face inward to the courtyard. Therefore one can hear other guests and there is little privacy when one opens a window. At Dar Zaman the rooftop room (although with air conditioning units outside of it) and one room with a small terrace door are a bit better in this regard, because others cannot look in. Since the rooms are small, keeping the windows closed and using the air conditioning, does make the room kind of dark and close. So prepare to spend most time in the courtyard, commons room or on the rooftop (that has a nice view over Marrakesh). I must also say that the other guests during our stay were all very nice and pretty quiet.
Another point (also absolutely not unique to Dar Zaman) is that getting to the riad for the first time is kind of shocking. Little alleys, ruined buildings with trash, and then at the end of the path the door to Dar Zaman leading into the small courtyard.
So there are some disadvantages of staying in a real Moroccan house and having a feel-at-home like experience in Marrakesh - and the advantages? meeting really nice and kind people who try to offer a special place and special experience for their guests.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiadDarZaman, Owner at Riad Dar Zaman, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2010

The Marrakech medina is a UNESCO World Heritage site, officially recognised to be of “outstanding universal value”. It’s a fabulous, culturally valuable medieval construction, constantly undergoing renovation and restoration. The “ruin” in our street is a family’s ancient home – restoration is scheduled in a few months.

Dar Zaman is a riad, and like all riads, large or small, has inward facing windows, creating a private, enclosed world, hidden behind an unassuming door. It’s a unique design that makes a wonderful secret retreat.

The glass-paned bedroom windows have wooden shutters, which when closed make the rooms almost totally dark, fantastic for a restful nights sleep. It means you wake when your body is rested, not when daylight starts to bother your eyes. During the day, enter into the spirit of riad life and throw open the windows - let the fresh air, sunlight and birdsong in!

Each bedroom at Dar Zaman has a built in wardrobe with two shelves and hanging space sufficient for around 20 wooden hangers.

Our English speaking team will go out of their way to help you find yours, and give you a warm welcome each time you come home. We love what we do, we have a lot of fun doing it, and our only objective is for you to have a fabulous stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

338 - 342 of 497 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2010

Where to start? Everything about our stay at this riad was excellent. It is conveniently located within the bustling medina but is surprisingly quiet and peaceful. Peter, the English owner, has restored it beautifully (the plunge pool and roof terrace being great places to relax). The hospitality was superb - Kabira, the cook, prepared lovely meals at our convenience and nothing was too much trouble for either Peter, Achraf or Hassan - regardless of wherever we wanted to go or whatever we wanted to do.

We were a group of two families travelling with five children and every one of us thoroughly enjoyed our four night break at Riad Dar Zaman. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leigh_brownsword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

Marrakech is a must. Dar Zaman is a definite. Peter is wonderful, Karibira's cooking superb, Hassan's attention is exemplary and Achraf is just so cute!. If you have not booked to visit this amazing city then you are missing something, do it now and stay in a stylish haven amongst the noisy sprawl of the fasinating Medina. You won't regret this choice and you will want to return so sample more of their fantastic hospitality. I miss them

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ukkris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

This riad is tucked away in a more residential part of the medina. It was soothing and modern, while still evoking "Moroccan" ambiance. Although the rooms are rather small and lacking in storage space, they are clean and comfortable. There are only four rooms total, so it does have a homey feel. They open up onto a charming courtyard with a small plunge pool.
The staff could not have been more attentive. They went out of their way to be helpful in the riad, and to help us negotiate the chaotic Marrakech as well. We had dinner there our first night and the food was absolutely delicious. The hard-working cook Kabira takes a lot of personal pride in making sure everything is up to her standards.
The upstairs terrace is also lovely, and an ample breakfast is served up there weather permitting. The riad was a welcome respite to return to after a hectic day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wala1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

Having recently returned from a four night stay at Riad Dar Zaman, I felt I had to write my first ever review, about the wonderful experience we had there. I went with three girlfriends, and, as we all prefer to have our own rooms to retreat to, we booked the whole riad, which worked really well, as we were able to treat the place like home, without having to worry about disturbing other guests.
There is not a great deal that I can add, to the excellent reviews, that have previously been written, so I will just reiterate, and say, that Dar Zaman has been beautifully restored by Peter, the owner. It is tastefully furnished, in typical Moroccan style, with lovely accessories, and fabulous artwork! The atmosphere is relaxing and homely, which is just what you need, when you return, at the end of a long, hot, hectic day out!
Above all, it was Peter, and his wonderful staff (Hassan, Achraf, and Kabira), who made our stay so special. From the moment we made the booking, until the moment we left, the service, care, and hospitality we received was truly fantastic. Always cheerful, and smiling, it seemed nothing was too much trouble for them, (I just wish I could have brought them all home with me!). To our surprise, and delight, Peter even found time to send us an e-mail, when we got home, checking that we had made it back safely, and saying that they were missing us! We miss them, too!!
I can't finish this review, without mentioning Kabira's cooking, which is amazing! We had arranged to have dinner in, on our first night there, and the food was so good, that we decided we would like to eat in again, on the Sunday, as we had booked (through Peter), to go on a day trip, to the Atlas Mts, and we knew we would probably be too tired to go out. I can honestly say, that Kabira's food was far better than the two meals we had out, in restaurants!
Thank you, so much, for making our first trip to Marrakech so memorable! I would love to return, one day, and cannot recommend Dar Zaman highly enough to others.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbiechatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 km away
Riad Ariha
Riad Ariha
#182 of 499 in Marrakech
379 reviews
0.3 km away
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
#69 of 499 in Marrakech
241 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
#54 of 499 in Marrakech
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#41 of 499 in Marrakech
1,309 reviews
0.2 km away
Riad Sapphire and Spa
Riad Sapphire and Spa
#61 of 499 in Marrakech
253 reviews
0.3 km away
Riad Nomades
Riad Nomades
#306 of 1,170 in Marrakech
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Zaman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Zaman

Address: 29 Derb Bouelilou | Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: €69 - €148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Zaman 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Zaman is an exquisite Moroccan house in the heart of the Marrakech medina. Chic and romantic, we have four, beautiful en-suite double bedrooms, a sun terrace, plunge pool, and most importantly, a fun and spirited team to take care of you! We're English-owned and managed: come and stay with us and savor our superb hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Riad Dar Zaman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Zaman Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing