We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (514)
Filter reviews
514 results
Traveller rating
459
47
3
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
459
47
3
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews owner peter roof terrace atlas mountains wonderful cook cooking class mint tea tagine smallest room other guests home from home yogurt plunge pool tucked away busy medina the perfect place to stay wonderful hosts visiting marrakech
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 514 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2018

Spent 4 nights at Dar Zaman - we had the roof terrace room which was very nicely decorated - shower and toilet are behind a wall (no door) this wasn't a problem. Quite a small room but feels larger as you walk straight out onto the roof terrace which had plenty of comfortable seating. Breakfast was served from 9am and very good although if you have a tour planned they will prepare an earlier breakfast no problem. The staff are extremely friendly and nothing is too much trouble, Hassan, Mohammed, Karima and Yassin really made the whole trip. They explained 'the map' .......best of luck with that!! We eventually resorted to sat nav on our phones it just made life easier trying to navigate the maze! also, if you produce a map you will be inundated by 'helpers' obviously requiring money. We had a late flight home and although our room was re booked we sun bathed on the terrace and had a wonderful lunch before departing prepared by Hassan and Karima, we were also given use of another room to change. All in all a very welcoming Riad, would definitely stay again

Stayed: May 2018
1  Thank embt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018

We had a wonderful visit to Dar Zaman. Hassan greeted us and made every effort to attend to our comfort. He gave us a thorough orientation to the joys and perils of the medina and the Jemaa, and had very good suggestions about where and when to visit sites and to find food we liked. We signed up for a cooking class, which first involved Peter showing us around the market and the bakery, then had Karima leading us through the preparation of several recipes, with Hassan translating from her French and adding commentary. Mohammed, whose English is excellent, was good-humored and always eager to help.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank pbattis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2018

In line with most of the comments below we were very happy with our 1 night stay in Marrakech with Dar Zaman.

Both Peter and his right hand man Hassan were great hosts. Hassan is a fantastic job at showing us the map giving us great hints and tips. Big shout out the the Orange cake... you will have to ask Hussan yourself when you stay. I don't want to give away his big secret!

Will certainly be visiting Dar Zaman if we return to Marrakech.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We stays a week in Riad Dar Zaman and despite our low expectation for this first trip to Morocco, we were extremely positively surprised with the warm welcome and care that the staff devoted to us throughout our whole stay. The homely feeling the hotel managed to create for us definitely enhanced our trip experience and made us think of Marrakesh as a true oasis where one can find not only shelter but also some true friends.

Room Tip: In the terrace you'd have more privacy and more space.
Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rafaelmaia2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

What can I say? Just perfect in every way... a wonderful little gem of a Riad which is situated in a truly authentic, quiet corner of the Medina. Easy access to taxis, souks, restaurants etc. Beautifully furnished and tastefully decorated throughout. Host Peter, and his truly wonderful staff, will ensure that you have a wonderful stay. Nothing is too much trouble for them, so friendly and helpful at all times. If you want to try something a little different, take one of their Moroccan cookery classes, you won’t be disappointed a great opportunity that shouldn’t be missed, and great fun too. The food at Dar Zaman is probably the finest that I’ve encountered in Morocco. I’ve visited Marrakech on more than one hundred occasions and the dining at Dar Zaman is truly special, a feast for the palate and the senses!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely..
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 101rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews