We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place in a crazy city”
Review of Riad Dar Najat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Dar Najat
Ranked #39 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Me and my partner stayed at Dar Najat for 5 nights and had a great time. The staff were very pleasant and welcoming since day one. We had free transfer and meal on arrival plus unlimited soft drinks throughout our stay.
Brownie the dog and the tortoise were so cute. The terrace was beautifully arranged and the little stairs to take you to the top which over looks Marakech and you can see the Atlas mountains in the far background.
The room we stayed in was beautiful with a large bathroom. The decorations were very authentic. Although we were on the ground floor near the main entrance, the room was pretty quiet. There's also an ipod speaker and a nice sofa.
Amin who spoke English quite well recommended places we could do and Aicha was the best cook in town. The food in the riad were delicious. 'La Place' was about 10 to 15mins walk from the riad. It was so busy and loud out there, stepping in the riad was so nice and clam. We used the Jaccuzi at times to cool off from the scorching weather.
The new town Gueliz was not far from the souks but haggling for taxi was a hassle. Each night we were told a different price - watch out!
The new town is very modern with bars and clubs around. I felt like we stepped in a different century.
All in all we had a fantastic time in Marrakech and Riad Dar Najat's team were fabulous. We thank you all.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aaishah25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,093)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

402 - 406 of 1,093 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2011

This riad really made our holiday to Marrakech!

After a long exchange of e-mails between myself and the owner Olliver, we decided to book direct with him. His answers to my questions, always very promptly, certainly helped with my decision to book.

The welcome dinner we had for booking minimum 4 nights direct was unbelievable! Lamb tagine with lots of spiced vegetables etc - without a doubt the BEST meal we had anywhere on a 5 night trip. Breakfast was also tasty, served in the morning sun on the top terrace, which was beautiful. The whole riad was just beautiful - my first impression when we arrived mid-evening was 'wow', the lighting creating a great ambience everywhere.

The service was always brilliant, with Amin always willing to get us drinks and answer any queries we had with the area in general. He even took us to the main square on the first morning so we could find our way. Our shower had a slight problem with the water not being hot enough. Once reported this was promptly fixed by Tariq - another credit to the slick operation in this riad.

The riad is well located, about a 7 minute walk to the main square, which is good as any closer you would hear the constant passing of motorbikes at all hours - they literally ride bikes EVERYWHERE in the medina, even through the narrowest of alleys - be careful!

We had the Sakina room on the ground floor. The bed was firm but comfortable. Bathroom was a good size with powerful shower, and I believe the biggest compared to the smaller ones in other bedrooms we saw. Some may not like the lack of sunlight as the room is inside on the ground floor, but this suited us to enable us to sleep past sunrise!

To sum it up, we'd definitely recommend Dar Najat to anyone looking for a genuine riad in the medina. The staff, service, and the beauty of this riad makes an excellent base for exploring Marrakech.

Room Tip: Sakina on the ground floor has the biggest bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DJjay_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

This is the first time I have ever bothered to do a review and it is because this place was so brilliant. Easily the best aspect of Dar Najat (and possibly Morocco!) is Oliver. That is not to say everything else isn't brilliant as well, as he runs the place his attitude is mirrored in the staff and Riad. It has lovely décor, is very clean, great food, friendly staff, and good size rooms. They are also aware of what a shock the area can be like and escorted us to the square on our first excursion, giving great directions. A nice touch was the mobile (Riad number already entered) on the key ring for the rooms (though it wasn't needed).

I do eat a lot and have a complicated diet for Morocco (ceoliac). We had emailed about this before hand and had a chat with them when I arrived. I had every faith that what I was eating was safe, and the dinner was incredibly tasty as well. ( I struggled in some places so advise you to prepare yourself before travelling). My friend confirmed the breads were incredible too.

I would definitely recommend this Riad, and if I am ever lucky enough to go back to Morocco can't imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Seeking-GF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Look no further, book this Riad.
Oliver is a legend, such a nice genuine guy, and his team is likewise genuine, kind and helpful.
Transfer from the airport, guided trip to the main square, lovely meals, good music. This is the best I've experienced in Morocco (9 trips), and will definitely be returning (with more time to visit the mountains and Olivers other riad in Essaouira).
The riad is well placed, beautifully designed, spotless clean and very well furnished. A calm oasis in a bustling city. Just perfect.
Nothing is too much trouble for these guys. You really wont be disappointed, just book it and let them take care of you (they even purchased train tickets for me).
Honestly, look no further, this is it!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

From our very first exchange of emails when booking the Dar Najat, we knew it was going to be great. Oliver was so friendly, giving great pre trip advice and made us feel part of the family before setting foot in Marrakech. We really could write pages but suffice to say that the Dar Najat is a wonderful, peaceful oasis in a mad and amazing city. But the real gem(s) at the Riad are Oliver, Siad, Amin, Tarek, Souad, Brownie (their dog) and everyone else - always on hand to care for you. A message to Oliver - my friend, you made us so welcome, Jayne and I had a great time; thank you so very much. A message to anyone considering booking the Dar Najat - book it, you won't be disappointed!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Banjio_bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.2 km away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
1.8 km away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#10 of 499 in Marrakech
1,037 reviews
0.7 km away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#33 of 499 in Marrakech
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#11 of 499 in Marrakech
577 reviews
0.4 km away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#81 of 499 in Marrakech
558 reviews
0.9 km away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#7 of 499 in Marrakech
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Najat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Najat

Address: Derb Lalla Chacha 18 | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#24 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#26 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: €73 - €134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dar Najat 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar Najat,Traveller's Choice 2015 by Trip Advisor. "Coolest Boutique Riad in Marrakech" is a very intimate riad with a hot tube Jacuzzi on the roof terrace, 5 minute walk away from the famous and colourful Jemaa el Fna market area, right in the heart of the Medina of Marrakesh. This romantic 4-star boutique guesthouse has been freshly renovated to offer even more comfort and elegance than before. Let our friendly staff cater to your every request, and pamper you in lush, tranquil surroundings. Stepping out the front door takes you back to a former era, with the ancient, echoing sounds of the medina, Jemaa el Fna and the hectic hubbub of Marrakech life. After a busy day of exploration and shopping in this vibrant and exotic city, you can leave it all behind by enjoying a delicious meal or drink on one of our terraces, soothing your body in our rooftop jacuzzi, or just retiring to the warm, peaceful intimacy of your quiet and well-appointed room. Riad Dar Najat is a proud member of the "Coolest Riads in Morocco" Collection and we'll be more than glad if you try our new luxury guest house in Essaouira,Riad Bab Essaouira"Dar Najat's little sister Riad" with the possibility to have a " Marrakech/Essaouira Package Deal "for our best rates.cheers! Oliver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Dar Najat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Najat Marrakech
Riad Dar Najat Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing