We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveller rating
100
50
13
9
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
50
13
9
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 173 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

A fantastic little riad. Spotlessly clean, great food, relaxed atmosphere.

All the staff are lovely too. As a solo traveller on my first visit it was great to be made to feel so welcome. Particulary Abdo the Guardian de Nuit, who was kind, friendly and professional. After only three nights I thought of him as a friend.

A little oasis.

Some people have reviewed this riad and mentioned that it is tucked away down some side streets, via a small door and the drop off point was some five minutes walk. This is actually true of most of the smaller riads as much of Marrakech is pedestrianised and that is the nature of the architecture. It's all part of the experience and the locals are generally lovely, so don't let that put you off.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2016

I stayed at Riad Dar Elma with a friend a couple of weeks ago. We got our room through a discount website and it was good for the discounted rate we paid, but not worth the published rates. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the location is quiet.

We arrived late at night as our flight was delayed. I had emailed via the Riad's website a couple of days beforehand to try to arrange an airport pick up but got no reply, so we had to take a taxi. The taxi drops you in the nearest square and someone then offered to guid us through the pedestrian alleys to the riad. He got upset when we weren't prepare to tip him around £9 for this service.

A rather surly night manager from the riad also encouraged over-tipping our self-appointed guide (although not as much as the guide was requesting) and begrudgingly showed us to our room - he spoke to us in a mixture of French and Spanish but no English. The same staff member was also quite grumpy when serving breakfast each morning. One evening we asked for a half bottle of white wine to drink on the roof terrace. The one we requested was not in stock and the alternative was not chilled so we had to wait the best part of an hour for it and were then served wine which was still slightly warm.

The riad was clearly not fully occupied but we were told we could not have a twin room the night we arrived. However, the next day we were able to speak to a lady who spoke more English and had a more helpful attitude and she arranged an alternative room, which was also decorated better. The same lady gave us a map and helped with queries about onward transport.

The fresh baguettes, jam, tea/coffee and yoghurt (don't pour it in your coffee thinking it is milk) were quite tasty. There was also some additional starchy reheated item each day - slightly different each morning - which was generally pretty tasteless and not worth eating.

Other meals were not readily available, and we had to ask for bottled water all the time as they don't automatically give you a new bottle each day, but the food at the local restaurant by the parking/taxi drop off point was pretty good.

Overall I didn't feel the riad was fulfilling its potential.

The location is within the medina but not as near to the main sites as I expected. Within Marrakech being quite a challenging city to navigate and everyone keep to give you directions that may throw you off course, it took quite a long while to walk anywhere we wanted to visit.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2016

I stayed 2 nights here (and also 1 night at their "sister" Riad Baba Ali - my comments apply to both).

What a great feeling as soon as you step in the door. Beautiful, calm and cultured. The staff were so friendly helpful and charming.

I'll be going back next year to Marrakech and I'll definitely choose this place again.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dalquhurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Dar Elma is probably one of the best places to hide from hustle of the medina of Marrakech. It's calm, relaxing not only because of the nice interior, but also because of extremely nice personnel, who made our stay there unforgettable! we experienced a perfect example of oriental hospitality!Thanks a lot!!!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Екатерина Б
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2015

The staff was always very kind and helful any time of the day or night. Beautiful place to stay and relax and really nice breakfast!!!
Also the location is very good, so we could get to any place without problem.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauralves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews