We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveller rating
100
50
13
9
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
50
13
9
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 173 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2014

I stayed at the Dar Elma for 3 nights with my daughter Sept 14 and was not disappointed, a little peace of heaven tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the Medina. The accommodation was beautiful and very clean. It's very small and personal like staying in someone's home and you get a real feel for the culture but if you want to spend time relaxing and lie in you may prefer something larger with more amenities.

Staff were very helpful and friendly more than happy to spend time speaking to you.

Situated in the heart of the Medina is perfect I'm glad I didn't choose one of the larger hotels in the new city because you could be anywhere in the world.

Would recommend a visit to the Jardin Marjorelle Gardens in the new city, beautiful and tranquil and you can have a lovely meal in the cafe.

Taxi's - always agree a price BEFORE you get in get advice from your hotel on how much you should be expected to pay and expect to get them to come down in price.

If you want to eat out at the markets then take plastic throwaway cutlery with you as they don't wash only rinse theirs and don't use the straws again they will be just rinsed.

Lots of advice on trip advisor do your research and you'll have a great time.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed here for a week and on 3 days we didn't leave the Riad as it was so lovely. The rooftop is stunning and provides a great place to relax after the busy streets of the city. The staff were wonderful, always there to help. We went half board and the food was delicious- very good value for money and you get a real mix of local specialities. The only downfall is that not all staff speak good English so communicating was tricky on occasion- but then that's part of the charm!
I would highly recommend this riad for anyone going to Marrakesh.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerinah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Staying at the Dar Elma was a very good experience. We got wonderful service - especially Khadija was outstanding - she really went beyond any of our expectations when we needed her help.
The rooms were charming, nicely decorated and very clean.
The riad is centrally located - if hard to find - but we asked their driver to pick us up and later on take us to the airport. It worked very well.

Room Tip: We enjoyed staying in the Water Room.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We spent two nights at the Riad. The service was superb and the facility was very clean and tidy. From picking us up and delivering us our every need was attended to with courtesy and helpfulness. One evening we had our dinner prepared for us and delivered to the roof top terrace. A great meal and a wonderful experience. We appreciated being able to have a bottle of wine with our meal something that is not possible at many Riads. On the day of check out we were allowed to keep our rooms until late afternoon as we had an evening flight. Much appreciated.

Like many Riads, difficult to find so I would recommend getting assistance when arriving.

Room Tip: The Riad is very intimate. A second floor room is preferable
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trekkinghorners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at the Dar Elma and went half board, the food was very good and the ladies working in the Riad were very friendly.
The only bad point about this riad is that you can hear everything, we spoke in whispers at night as to not disturb the other guests, you can hear everything so if you are wanting a lie in past 8am then this isn't really the place for you.
The positioning of the riad is very central but bring a good map and expect to get lost as Marrakech doesn't have many street names or sign posts.
I would recommend this Riad to people who want a true moroccan experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnalryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews