We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Unique Place”
Review of Dar Charkia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar Charkia
Ranked #32 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Dar Charkia fulfills & surpasses the reviews & photos on trip advisor. It's real strength is in the personal touches & care you recieve as a guest there. Michaels pep talk over a cup made our stay so much more enjoyable & relaxed, knowing where to go, how to get from A-B and avoid pitfalls. We were both unwell (a cold we brought with us) and we were served with honey & ginger tea, lazy afternoons on the roof terrace and early nights in the peaceful & tranquil Riad helped too. We will be returning as we loved Marrakech and Dar Charkia is the perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Khmissa Suite but were able to look in most of the pther rooms and they are all stu...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jillley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,319)
There are newer reviews for Dar Charkia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

580 - 584 of 1,319 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2012

Just had a great week's stay in Dar Charkia - fantastic food, service and great location right in the middle of the medina, close to the souks but far enough away to be able to escape for some much needed tranquility at times! Very personal touch from the owners, who imparted their extensive local knowledge and tips on arrival, which came in very useful in a city like Marrakech. Staff in the riad are also brilliantly attentive - unfortunately fell ill for a day, but needn't have worried as I was treated like royalty!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AP65389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We just returned from a wonderful 7 nights in Marrakech during which we stayed in Dar Charkia. This riad is tucked away in the old town down a little alleyway which makes you feel like you are staying right in the middle of it all. It is a wonderfully calm and soothing place, with lovely seating in a courtyard area and up on the rooftop, so you do not feel you have to be in your room all the time. The whole riad is decorated in Moroccan style, with little trinkets and gorgeous rugs/cushions sourced from the souks. The most notable thing about this riad however is the outstanding staff, a team of girls who are always around to help out, bring you drinks etc. Lisa and Michael were also extremely helpful, sitting down with us on arrival to give us advice on where to eat, shop and how much to pay for things. Lisa even booked our restaurants for us before we arrived. It really made a difference as in such a big city it is often confusing when trying to choose where to eat etc. All in all, this is a fantastic place to stay, and compared with staying in a hotel, you really get the personal touch, which is all the more important in a city such as Marrakech. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosycoates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I went to Marrakech for the first time, with a friend, in February.
We picked Dar Charkia with the help of 'tripadvisor', and it certainly was the right introduction to a wonderful city!
Lisa and Michael advised us about everything (restaurants, shopping, guided tours, etc.) and booked trips for us.
My stay in Dar Charkia felt so comfortable and relaxed.
I am planning on going back to Marrakech, but this time I would like to book the whole riad with friends!!
Great place, can't recommend enough..

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nourdjan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

My mum and I have just got back from spending 5 nights at Dar Charkia. I can honestly say it was the nicest and friendliest place I have ever stayed. The decor is breathtaking with amazing attention to detail and it's a beautiful, quiet and relaxing place to come back to after the hecticness of the Medina. Lisa and Michael were extremely helpful for Marrakesh 'newbies', spending some time suggesting places to go which were all extremely good (and most importantly how to find them which can be challenging in Marrakesh!), how much to pay for things in the souks and the current scams operating in the city. The staff were very helpful and for someone who is not good at getting up early, particularly on holiday, being able to have breakfast whenever you fancy was brilliant. It may not be the cheapest place to stay in Marrakesh but for the location, ambience and overall Riad experience combined with extremely friendly and knowledgable staff I don't think you could get better value for money. It also had the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelsarah85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.6 km away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#41 of 502 in Marrakech
823 reviews
1.1 km away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#7 of 502 in Marrakech
816 reviews
0.5 km away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#25 of 502 in Marrakech
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#13 of 502 in Marrakech
560 reviews
0.3 km away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
1.6 km away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#27 of 502 in Marrakech
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: €88 - €150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Charkia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Dar Charkia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing