We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly kind staff”
Review of L'Heure d'Ete

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
L'Heure d'Ete
Ranked #81 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 February 2017

Very polite, helpful and kind people work here. They are doing an excellent job!!
The rooms are tastfully decorated, they are impeccably clean and quiet (if the other hotel guests do not make noises in the corridors), This Riad is near to the Jemaa El-Fnaa square but located in a safe and quiet area.
The food is tasty, the breakfast pastry is varied daily, and if you want something really good, start your day with the "tomatoe and onion omlette" that comes in a snizzling tajine.

Room Tip: No big difference between the location of the rooms due to the typical local architecture
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Gabi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (559)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 30 of 559 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2017

Our stay at L'Heure D'Ete was overall a nice experience. It is a beautifully decorated riad (with candles in the evening and flowers in the hall) and has an incredibly good location - literally a 2 min walk from Jemaa El Fna square. Places like the El Badi Palace and other southern tourist attractions are also close.

Our room was quite decent, with it's own bathroom, safe and king size bed. There was room service every day and on one day they even surprised us with some aromatic oils with candles on the table.

The only problem is that they don't seem to be prepared for colder temperatures. Now this is generally true for a lot of places in Marrakech, so our room temperature was, however a bit chilly, nothing special in the city in January.
What I found a bit annoying however was that we had breakfast every morning on the roof terrace, in a tent, which although had a small heater, was cold everytime. I ate my breakfast in my jacket and a blanket around my legs.
Because of the low temperatures we also couldn't use the jacuzzi as it is outside and was too cold everytime we wanted to get in.

The staff is generally very helpful and attentive, they are eager to explain what to see in Marrakech and provide you with some useful tips about how to get around in the city, what are the reasonable prices, what to avoid, etc.

If I could give one advice, it would be to move the breakfast somewhere indoor (maybe downstairs in the common area) for colder months, as it is really a not pleasant experience to start the day being so cold.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dora0218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017

The Riad was our first hand experience of local Marrakech. We stayed three nights here. The welcome area downstairs was fine. Decent space. You can't get here alone and have to rely on the porter.
The rooms we got was very small. I was shocked actually as it ws quite crammed and so was the bathroom. The smell in reception was very nice but in the room it was bad so we had to ask for a candle or something.

Lighting in the room was also quite low.
This was more like a homely stay wherein there is limited staff who you will see everyday. They were helpful and listened to your needs and tried to address the same, so in that sense I would say that for whatever time we stayed it was ok. As this is a busy place and close to medina, I was expecting noises in the morning. But that was not the case. It was very quiet and no disturbance in the morning which was good.

The breakfast was minimal and pretty much sourced from outside and probably heated there. Very small kitchen but they were helpful with what we needed like I needed some hot boiling water once and once I wanted to heat something in the microwave. They allowed me in the kitchen to do so.

However, there was an issue with vegetarian once as we are vegetarians and on the third day the food we got was not vegetarian and they didnt have any other alternative. Its basically what they have and it wasn't llike they knew we were veg so would cater to that. Maybe the first two days we got lucky to find something veg!

We also did hammam at the place. I didnt enjoy it as it was bit rushed. The massage was better but the bath was not at all gentle. The way the lady was scrubbing or the way she was throwing water, was all very rough.

They did have the hot tub facility but in winter, the water does not heat up enough to use it. If you have plans to just sleep and be out then this Riad is a good option. However, if you are looking for spending time at the hotel itself, i would not recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Chotisiasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

Well run Riad close to the main square. Clean rooms and nice rooftop for breakfast, lounging, evening glass of wine or jacuzzi. Sanna in the reception and all the rest of the staff are very helpful and polite. Great stay!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Greg N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

this riad was amazing! the staff was very friendly and helpful. it has a traditional and very pretty decor. the location is ideal..jist a few minutes walk to jemaa el fnaa. and only a few min taxi ride to gueliz (the new city). breakfast and meals are offered on the rooftop terrace, which is very nice. we would definitely recommend this riad to anyone visiting marrakech. we loved it!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank maroofa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 km away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#54 of 500 in Marrakech
967 reviews
1.1 km away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#82 of 500 in Marrakech
351 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
#55 of 500 in Marrakech
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#39 of 500 in Marrakech
1,093 reviews
1.5 km away
Riad Sapphire and Spa
Riad Sapphire and Spa
#60 of 500 in Marrakech
254 reviews
0.8 km away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Heure d'Ete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Heure d'Ete

Address: 96, sidi Bouloukat, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#46 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#52 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#61 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#115 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: €59 - €106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Heure d'Ete 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is in the fascinating shrine of the Medina, sheltered from too much modernity, that you will find this welcoming house that was a traditional Marrakchi family mansion until 2006It took 2.560 trips by donkey drawn carriage to bring all the new materials needed to renovate the house and make a dream come true. But all our efforts have been rewarded and l'Heure d'Eté is now a lovely ryad proud to combine the discreet comfort of stylish modernity with the best of age-old Moroccan traditions. 13 rooms and a suite are distributed on three different levels around a glass-roof patio-lounge that can be opened at will to enjoy the best of the season.L'Heure d'Eté is located in the vicinity of Jemaa el Fnaa Square (3 minute walk) and will provide you with all the expertise and comfort you need to enjoy the unforgettable beauty of the red city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your L'Heure d'Ete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Heure d Ete Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing