We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place”
Review of Riad Jomana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Jomana
Ranked #243 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good place”
Reviewed 17 December 2011

My and wife I stayed in this riad with our little boy.

Location: The place is quiet and tucked away from the busy and noisy streets of Medina. However, there is a mosque nearby and it did wake us up every morning during a call to prayer. Having said, mosques are everywhere in Medina and I do not think you can easily find a place where you won't hear the call.

Room: We had a very large room on the ground floor with a large bed. The design was simple and looked like in Moroccan style (not that I know much about Moroccan style anyway). The bathroom was more on the basic side, but it worked and had hot water.

Service: The service in riad was good - we found the staff very friendly and responsive. We were satisfied with breakfast, which you can have either on the ground floor in the yard or up on the roof which has a nice terrace.

Travel tip: if you are taking a taxi from the airport ask the driver to drop you off at Dar el Bacha - from there it's less 5 min walk.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tupos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    69
    24
    3
    6
See reviews for
39
145
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Stay here if you want:

1.Your money to be stolen from the hotel safe by staff, when you complain about it you'll receive no reply! great customer service.

2. Stay right next door to a mosque, being woken up at 5AM daily, very, very, very noisy!!!

3. Stay in an hotel with the worst acoustics, you can hear people chewing a gum outside your door. every night and morning people sit outside your door, and you can hear it all!

4. Have breakfast that consists of bread, butter, jam and a hot drink. That's it!!!! don't be tempted by the free breakfast offer.

5. Have no toiletries in the room, no shampoo, shower gel etc....

6. No bin in the room. when I complained about this i was told to give them any rubbish that i have... really????
7. Health and safety.... stairs that are very dangerous with "mini" steps that you don't notice that can cause you to fall. If you are not 20 years old, don't stay here, too dangerous.

8. small room with very uncomfortable bed. Old towels- get some new ones already!

9.No coffee/tea facility in your room. but they will happily charge you for one if you want to have one in the yard.

10. The good reviews are from people who don't travel/don't know what a good hotel is/sponsored!

Room Tip: If you want a good quiet room don't stay here....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
12 Thank Jess78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kechmar, Propriétaire at Riad Jomana, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
It’s very easy to accuse Moroccan staff when you are not anymore in the establishment. Easy to say that your money has been stolen, without any proof .

About the mosque, it’s normal, should I remind you, we’re in a muslim country ? In each part of muslim countries, there is mosque… You insult the muslim religion about the prayer calling. And it’s mentioned in all guide books.

About the noise, it’s so stupid to read that someone eating chewing gum in the riad is disturbing you…But we can tell you that hearing you singing all the morning with a loud voice, was completely awful, for all the other guests and staff. And, it’s wrong to say that someone can sit nearby your room : there is no chairs, it’s a corridor. It’s a lie.

About the breakfast, you are the biggest liar we have ever met !!!!!!
Hot water, hot milk, hot black coffee, tea bags, chocolate, moroccan pancakes, cake (it changes every day), moroccan bread, orange juice, butter, jams, etc... So, another lie !!!

About the bin in the room, that’s true no bin but it is in the bathroom, a few meters walking … Is it to far for you ?

About the small room, still big liar, that’s wrong 21 m².

About the ‘’mini’’ stairs, It’s so stupid that we prefer not to answer, next time go to International Hotels 5*

About coffe/tea facility in the room, should we remind you that you were in a guest house ? Only hotels have.

About the good reviews we have had about our Riad, shame on you ! How can you write that good reviews are from only people who don’t know to travel ? Who are you to write such things ? You’re insulting the guests.

For you, a trip down to a bin in the room, a shower gel and shampoo free, coffees and teas free, wide staircases!

We’re working in Marrakesh for more than 6 years, we never have such problem with a guest. You told us you didn’t like your moroccan trip, neither Moroccan people. You’ve been so disappointed, you want to hurt all people who remind you that country.
It’s a shame.

Riad Jomana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

The staff here are so friendly and helpful. When we arrived to be served with our first mint tea "morrocan whiskey" the Riad was candle lit and just so calm after the madness of Marrakesh airport. We paid 15 euros for airport transfer and well worth it for the ease, speed and comfort. All the rooms are beautiful. We stayed on the ground floor just off the central courtyard which had a really comfy massive four poster. Only thing is there is no lock but as it is so secure this isnt a problem. Also when you emerge in the morning you might come accross people eating breakfast outside your door, but also no problem as most people had breakfast on the roof terrace. This was the first Riad we stayed in and have no hesitation in recommending it, it was also the quietest. The thing to know if it is your first experience of Riads, as was ours, that most of them do not have external windows but all face into the central courtyard, which makes it quieter.

Room Tip: The suite has three double beds, one in separate room. Rooms on top floor had shared bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wantedwintersun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Riad Jomana is a great place to stay in the Medina. Once you know your way around, it's a 10 minute walk to the Place Jemaa el Fna (took us a lot longer on day one, but we quickly learned that getting lost is part of the fun of Marrakech!). The Riad itself is lovely, and suprisingly quiet compared to the streets outside. The owners, Marco and Piedro are lovely, very helpful and always there to offer directions and hints and tips for surviving the souks. The roof terrace is lovely, with a variety of shaded and sunny areas. Breakfast is good (coffee, fresh orange and typical moroccan breakfast goods eg. pancakes and cake).

Our only complaint was that we arranged airport pickup, which was fine, but when the driver dropped us at the road closest to the Riad, some lads immediately put our bags in a trolley and wheeled them to the riad. At first we thought this was nice, but soon wound up handing over a £5 note as they wouldnt accept coins and we didn't have any dirham yet! but again, this is typical of Morocco.. however, if you don't want to pay up, I suggest you whip your bags out of the trolleys and wheel them the short distance yourselves!

Would definitely recommend this hotel, it was a real place of calm amongst the craziness of Marrakech.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Riad Jomana is without doubts, one of the friendliest and cosiest place to stay in Marrakech. Traditional lookind place with modern touch. Location 10min. walk from the main square. Air conditioned rooms, free wi-fi, very clean. Most of all, it's all about people. Special thanks to Amine and Redium. Tha best mint tea I ever had ( had quite a few). Those guys are full of good surprises. Reccomend this place to anyone visiting Marrakech just for a few days or longer, alone or with company.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcellus-84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 km away
Riad Les Jardins des Lilas
Riad Les Jardins des Lilas
#271 of 500 in Marrakech
72 reviews
0.3 km away
Riad Dar Saba
Riad Dar Saba
#212 of 500 in Marrakech
174 reviews
1.3 km away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#56 of 500 in Marrakech
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Riad Bahia
Riad Bahia
#240 of 500 in Marrakech
145 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Atlas
Hotel Atlas
#333 of 500 in Marrakech
144 reviews
0.8 km away
Riad Zarka
Riad Zarka
#293 of 500 in Marrakech
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Jomana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Jomana

Property: Riad Jomana
Address: 62 Arset Aouzal | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#128 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Jomana 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Jomana, haven of peace and user-friendliness, will know how to enchant you with its Spanish-Moresque architecture. House of charm in the heart of the ochre city, jewel of intimacy and ultimate refuge for travellers in search of authenticity. Sober residence, formerly belonging to the former caravan leader, Riad Jomana has 2 suites and 2 rooms, articuled around a charming patio with Moresque fountain, terrace with tent. Unforgettable culinary journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Jomana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Jomana Marrakech
Riad Jomana Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing