We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (465)
Filter reviews
465 results
Traveller rating
259
95
52
23
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
259
95
52
23
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop restaurantlocation is amazingkoutoubia mosquejamaa el fna squarecharming hotelsahara desertthe wi fithe main squarebig squaretraditional styletea coffeeeasy accesssnake charmersevery morningspamoroccomedina
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 465 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2018

Pros: nice rooms, friendly staff, fine breakfast, good restaurant, nice views from the terrace, very convenient location just opposite Koutoubia mosque and only 5 min. from Place Djema El-Fna

Cons: in winter a bit too cold, AC in the room not sufficient, breakfast on the open terrace even when outside temperature is very low

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

The hotel Islane is situated very near to the Koutoubia Mosque, we could see it out of the hotel window. Short walks take you to lots of tourist sights. The Souk,s. Medina, El Badii Palace (20 Dirham entrance fee, about £1.60). Saadian Tombs (10 Dirham entrance fee). Close to lots of eating places. Kif Kif is a small friendly eating place, serving good food at a very reasonable price. The bread is very good and wherever you eat they usually give you mint tea at the end. The hotel is close to a big square which has lots of activities going on through the the day, however, if you look or try to take a photograph of the Berbers in national costume or snake charmers they will want payment, usually 5 or 10 Dirham. Just off the square is the entrance to the Souk's, and Berber Market with lots of shops selling their wares. They will try to entice you into their shop in the hope of selling you something. If you are interested in a thing "barter" keep a smile on your face and offer a quarter to a third of the asking price, whilst walking around every seller approaches you sell you their wares, a polite no thank you usually sends them on their way, although you can get some persistent sellers. Horse carriages and taxi drivers also try to get your trade. The hotel Islane as stated is very central. The rooms are ok, clean, tidy although they could benefit from a touch of paint here and there. The staff are pleasant and friendly and the food in the hotel is quite nice. The only thing that lets this hotel down is the breakfast. You get plenty, a mini chocopan, mini croissant, a small flat bread, a greasy pancake a boiled egg a yoghurt and as much coffee or tea as you can drink. You get this every morning, and the majority of the time everything is cold except the coffee and tea. On the whole though the hotel is quite adequate in meeting your needs. If you intend to visit in January as we did, you need to take warm clothing as it can get very cold on some days and is usually about 6c at night. When walking about you will be apron he'd by guides who offer to show you around the Souk's, Berber market etc. This usually costs you about 150 Dirham per person and they take you to shops of their friends hoping that you will make a purchase. In my opinion You don't really need a guide, although some visitors may feel more secure having a guide. I was there with my wife and some friends, we thoroughly enjoyed the visit and would highly recommend a visit there. However, take care when crossing the roads, vehicles only stop if you are in front of gem when on the crossing and the small motorcycles just go around you bothe sides, so be aware. Even when walking around the Souk's and down narrow streets take care as bikes and vehicles drive anywhere the choose even on the footpaths. Lots of excursions on offer.

Room Tip: The room at the front of the hotel overlooking the Mosque appeared to be the better rooms.
Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

I just stood there there Jan. 8 and it is one of the worst hotels I've been in. Although the staff is nice, the bed sheets and bathroom were full of hair (not ours)!!! I slept on my scarf since I was so grossed out. The heater also didn't work very well, someone came to help but saw there was some air blowing and said it was fine but it wasn't blowing hot air and then the thing just stopped and I froze the entire night! The shower also had hair and the hot water never came, only lukewarm water. There's no phone in the room so you have to go through dark hallways to get to the lobby. There's light buttons on the walls you are suppose to press but there was no light for the stairs and we had to go down a dark stairwell!!! The bathroom was just a sink with no counter to place your things, and a toilet next to an open shower area separated from the sink by a curtain. The floor was also in bad shape and had missing floor tile. There's a closet but no hangers?
The view from the restaurant is beautiful but sadly, their breakfast was just different breads on a plate, a small yogurt, and coffee.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank YvieS15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

With a perfect location (across the street from the famous Koutubia Mosque and 5 minutes walk from the Jamaa el fna Square) Hotel Islane has clean comfortable rooms (more on the traditional style than the ultrmodern western one) and a chraming rooftop terrace. A privilege to have your breakfast overlooking the Koutubia's minaret.
Welcoming and helpfull staff (both at reception and restaurant)

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jorge C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

Beautiful hotel,interesting art on walls. Excellent view of the mosque & main street from roof top. Very helpful staff & delicious breakfast. Good: Very comfy bed,good bedding, roof top is excellent: no lift, no hot water.no view from some rooms- not a problem if you are out, but windows are high up & frosted. 1 socket in room & non in bathroom.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
Thank MerseysideUKHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driss B, Directeur général at Hotel Islane, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2018
Google Translation

Nous voudrions vous remercier pour votre commentaire et espérons vous revoir bientôt chez nous . A bientôt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews