We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Islane
Nearby Hotels
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$173
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$133
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$182
US$128
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$132
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riad Kniza(Marrakech)
US$407
US$266
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$138
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$475
US$410
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$332
US$324
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (432)
Filter reviews
432 results
Traveller rating
241
93
46
21
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
241
93
46
21
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsreception staff were extremely helpfulchose this hotel basedbasic amenitiesjamaa el fna squareperfect locationkoutoubia mosquecharming hotelstar hotelsahara desertthe wi fithe main squareminute walkbig squaregood sizetraditional styletea coffeeeasy access
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 432 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2018

I just stood there there Jan. 8 and it is one of the worst hotels I've been in. Although the staff is nice, the bed sheets and bathroom were full of hair (not ours)!!! I slept on my scarf since I was so grossed out. The heater also didn't work very well, someone came to help but saw there was some air blowing and said it was fine but it wasn't blowing hot air and then the thing just stopped and I froze the entire night! The shower also had hair and the hot water never came, only lukewarm water. There's no phone in the room so you have to go through dark hallways to get to the lobby. There's light buttons on the walls you are suppose to press but there was no light for the stairs and we had to go down a dark stairwell!!! The bathroom was just a sink with no counter to place your things, and a toilet next to an open shower area separated from the sink by a curtain. The floor was also in bad shape and had missing floor tile. There's a closet but no hangers?
The view from the restaurant is beautiful but sadly, their breakfast was just different breads on a plate, a small yogurt, and coffee.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank YvieS15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

With a perfect location (across the street from the famous Koutubia Mosque and 5 minutes walk from the Jamaa el fna Square) Hotel Islane has clean comfortable rooms (more on the traditional style than the ultrmodern western one) and a chraming rooftop terrace. A privilege to have your breakfast overlooking the Koutubia's minaret.
Welcoming and helpfull staff (both at reception and restaurant)

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jorge C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

Beautiful hotel,interesting art on walls. Excellent view of the mosque & main street from roof top. Very helpful staff & delicious breakfast. Good: Very comfy bed,good bedding, roof top is excellent: no lift, no hot water.no view from some rooms- not a problem if you are out, but windows are high up & frosted. 1 socket in room & non in bathroom.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
Thank MerseysideUKHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driss B, Directeur général at Hotel Islane, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2018
Google Translation

Nous voudrions vous remercier pour votre commentaire et espérons vous revoir bientôt chez nous . A bientôt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

My family of 4 stayed 3 nights in Hotel Islane during the peak X'mas season and generally found the property ok. First impression wasn't great. Past the lobby you'd find a dim and worn out property. Our room was dull, beds a little saggy and lumpy, and our pillows are uncomfortably high for a good rest. We were missing a towel, there was no kettle in the room, the safe wasn't working, and wifi was out of range. And when we wanted to call the front desk to ask, realised the phone was there but not connected to the wall. Hot water is slow but reliable, and there is a fridge and heater in the room.

It got better after the first day, due to the friendly and hardworking staff. We requested for our missing towel and got our pillows changed. Housekeeping was excellent and detailed, and front desk folks warm and helpful. Breakfast was included, simple but sufficient, and the breakfast crew is quick and friendly. There was still no wifi signal in-room, but some guests I noticed would sit/stand around the small lobby to access the internet. The hotel accepts credit card payments.

Another reason to stay would be its location, a short walk to the Djemaa el-Fna and the medina but yet accessible by car. The hotel also has 5-bedder rooms, good for families.

Some other reviewers mentioned that the money exchange in the lobby provides the best rate. Our experience is that it's comparable rates to the banks', while some money-changers in the medina and around the Djemaa provide much better rates.

Overall the hotel's weakness in hardware is made up for with its services and location. Especially during peak periods when Marrakech is packed, Hotel Islane is a pretty acceptable budget option.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank WeeKee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driss B, Directeur général at Hotel Islane, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2018
Google Translation

Bonjour
Merci d avoir pris le temps d écrir les détails de votre passage dans notre hôtel .
On prendra note de vos remarques pour corriger les imperfections mentionnées
On espère vous revoir chez nous une prochaine fois
Cordialement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

This was my very first visit to Marakech. My wife had visited once before. I would like to say I was treated very well by Bedr eddin. He welcomed me to the city and also offered to change our room if we were not happy. He also handed me a morrocon tea voucher for me and my wife to enjoy on their lovely roof top terrace.

The rooms were clean. Room service would change the bed covers and clean the floor and toilet everyday. I would suggest that they also clean under the beds daily. There was dust under ours and I assume that is the same for other rooms.

This hotel is 3 star so I can only compare it to ibis budget hotel here in Britian. There is a simple small room. There is a small shower, small bed and the room in general is small. As you would expect with a budget hotel.

Wi-Fi access only at the reception area and roof terrace.

In our room we did not have any Wi-Fi access even though the roof top was near by.

Each room has a little safe (ours did not have batteries). Plenty of cabinets to place your luggage and a wardrobe. Simple decoration. The window was tiny. The beds are really tough. If you are a thinking they have king size beds ready for you think again. It's just two single beds placed next to each other. I swear my belly got stuck in the gap between the beds. I almost got lost there too.

Toilet had toilet paper, hand soap gel dispenser and a hair dryer which only works for 30 seconds. Very very simple toilet. I prefer ibis better in this department.

The breakfast is kind of pre-set. Everyone is given a plate full of bread, jam, marmalade, butter, yogurt, coffee. May God forbid if you asked for anything different.

The view of the koutibia mosque is amazing. The breeze and wheather makes all the breakfast taste 5 star. But then again on my final day there I kind of didnt eat much of it. You get bored of the same breakfast after 2 days.

The location is fantastic. We would walk to Jama al fana to the souks everyday at different times as it is very very close. There is a KFC which is a few minute walk away. Please do not eat from there. I would rather eat hotel Islane breakfast all day than go to that KFC.

The koutibia mosque is fantastic. Me and the wife visited it.

The cyber park is about a 5 minute walk from the hotel. That was one of our favourite parks. You do not have to pay to enter either. You can just walk around and enjoy the scenery.

The hotel also has a restaurant. We can only recomend the vegetable cuss cuss. Very delicious.

My only complaint is that the meatball tagine we ordered. Some parts of the eggs were still raw. I showed the waiter that the eggs were raw he said we still have to pay for it as we have eaten the meatballs. So he advised us to pick something else. At which point I remembered a stuffed my self at McDonald's and dominos earlier that day and I was not hungry anyway. So i settled to pay for 4 meatballs for £8.

I have to say the food at McDonald was fantastic. As you can tell I have been deprived from such food in Britain as I can only eat halal meat. For this reason I enjoyed the following eateries a bit more than I should have: KFC, Burger kings, Dominos, Pizza Hut and Mc Donalds.

However only KFC is close by to the hotel. The other food joints are easily a 25 minute walk away.

If I was returning to Marakech I would probably go for a 4 star hotel which generally do not have a central location. This is simply because they will offer a buffet breakfast. Also I feel like I have enjoyed the hustle and bustle of jama al fana, koutibia mosque and the near by parks enough to now enjoy other parts of the city.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Dessert Hub D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driss B, Directeur général at Hotel Islane, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2018
Google Translation

Nous voudrions vous remercier pour votre commentaire et espérons vous revoir bientôt chez nous . A bientôt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews