We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (469)
Filter reviews
469 results
Traveller rating
260
97
53
23
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
260
97
53
23
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop restaurant location is amazing koutoubia mosque jamaa el fna square charming hotel sahara desert the wi fi the main square big square traditional style tea coffee easy access snake charmers every morning spa morocco medina
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 469 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

Beautiful hotel,interesting art on walls. Excellent view of the mosque & main street from roof top. Very helpful staff & delicious breakfast. Good: Very comfy bed,good bedding, roof top is excellent: no lift, no hot water.no view from some rooms- not a problem if you are out, but windows are high up & frosted. 1 socket in room & non in bathroom.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
Thank MerseysideUKHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driss B, Directeur général at Hotel Islane, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2018
Google Translation

Nous voudrions vous remercier pour votre commentaire et espérons vous revoir bientôt chez nous . A bientôt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

My family of 4 stayed 3 nights in Hotel Islane during the peak X'mas season and generally found the property ok. First impression wasn't great. Past the lobby you'd find a dim and worn out property. Our room was dull, beds a little saggy and lumpy, and our pillows are uncomfortably high for a good rest. We were missing a towel, there was no kettle in the room, the safe wasn't working, and wifi was out of range. And when we wanted to call the front desk to ask, realised the phone was there but not connected to the wall. Hot water is slow but reliable, and there is a fridge and heater in the room.

It got better after the first day, due to the friendly and hardworking staff. We requested for our missing towel and got our pillows changed. Housekeeping was excellent and detailed, and front desk folks warm and helpful. Breakfast was included, simple but sufficient, and the breakfast crew is quick and friendly. There was still no wifi signal in-room, but some guests I noticed would sit/stand around the small lobby to access the internet. The hotel accepts credit card payments.

Another reason to stay would be its location, a short walk to the Djemaa el-Fna and the medina but yet accessible by car. The hotel also has 5-bedder rooms, good for families.

Some other reviewers mentioned that the money exchange in the lobby provides the best rate. Our experience is that it's comparable rates to the banks', while some money-changers in the medina and around the Djemaa provide much better rates.

Overall the hotel's weakness in hardware is made up for with its services and location. Especially during peak periods when Marrakech is packed, Hotel Islane is a pretty acceptable budget option.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank WeeKee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driss B, Directeur général at Hotel Islane, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2018
Google Translation

Bonjour
Merci d avoir pris le temps d écrir les détails de votre passage dans notre hôtel .
On prendra note de vos remarques pour corriger les imperfections mentionnées
On espère vous revoir chez nous une prochaine fois
Cordialement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

This was my very first visit to Marakech. My wife had visited once before. I would like to say I was treated very well by Bedr eddin. He welcomed me to the city and also offered to change our room if we were not happy. He also handed me a morrocon tea voucher for me and my wife to enjoy on their lovely roof top terrace.

The rooms were clean. Room service would change the bed covers and clean the floor and toilet everyday. I would suggest that they also clean under the beds daily. There was dust under ours and I assume that is the same for other rooms.

This hotel is 3 star so I can only compare it to ibis budget hotel here in Britian. There is a simple small room. There is a small shower, small bed and the room in general is small. As you would expect with a budget hotel.

Wi-Fi access only at the reception area and roof terrace.

In our room we did not have any Wi-Fi access even though the roof top was near by.

Each room has a little safe (ours did not have batteries). Plenty of cabinets to place your luggage and a wardrobe. Simple decoration. The window was tiny. The beds are really tough. If you are a thinking they have king size beds ready for you think again. It's just two single beds placed next to each other. I swear my belly got stuck in the gap between the beds. I almost got lost there too.

Toilet had toilet paper, hand soap gel dispenser and a hair dryer which only works for 30 seconds. Very very simple toilet. I prefer ibis better in this department.

The breakfast is kind of pre-set. Everyone is given a plate full of bread, jam, marmalade, butter, yogurt, coffee. May God forbid if you asked for anything different.

The view of the koutibia mosque is amazing. The breeze and wheather makes all the breakfast taste 5 star. But then again on my final day there I kind of didnt eat much of it. You get bored of the same breakfast after 2 days.

The location is fantastic. We would walk to Jama al fana to the souks everyday at different times as it is very very close. There is a KFC which is a few minute walk away. Please do not eat from there. I would rather eat hotel Islane breakfast all day than go to that KFC.

The koutibia mosque is fantastic. Me and the wife visited it.

The cyber park is about a 5 minute walk from the hotel. That was one of our favourite parks. You do not have to pay to enter either. You can just walk around and enjoy the scenery.

The hotel also has a restaurant. We can only recomend the vegetable cuss cuss. Very delicious.

My only complaint is that the meatball tagine we ordered. Some parts of the eggs were still raw. I showed the waiter that the eggs were raw he said we still have to pay for it as we have eaten the meatballs. So he advised us to pick something else. At which point I remembered a stuffed my self at McDonald's and dominos earlier that day and I was not hungry anyway. So i settled to pay for 4 meatballs for £8.

I have to say the food at McDonald was fantastic. As you can tell I have been deprived from such food in Britain as I can only eat halal meat. For this reason I enjoyed the following eateries a bit more than I should have: KFC, Burger kings, Dominos, Pizza Hut and Mc Donalds.

However only KFC is close by to the hotel. The other food joints are easily a 25 minute walk away.

If I was returning to Marakech I would probably go for a 4 star hotel which generally do not have a central location. This is simply because they will offer a buffet breakfast. Also I feel like I have enjoyed the hustle and bustle of jama al fana, koutibia mosque and the near by parks enough to now enjoy other parts of the city.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Dessert Hub D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driss B, Directeur général at Hotel Islane, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2018
Google Translation

Nous voudrions vous remercier pour votre commentaire et espérons vous revoir bientôt chez nous . A bientôt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

The location is good and the staff is friendly. Those were the good points.
The rooms we had were dark and rather dirty, thick air, phone and wifi did not work. In one of the rooms no ventilation and cooler out of order. In the other, noise from kitchen above made sleeping impossible.
We think that the hotel is in need of urgent renovation.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank TarmoP28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driss B, Directeur général at Hotel Islane, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2018
Google Translation

Bonjour
Désolé que notre hôtel n était pas à la hauteur de vos espérances
La wifi fonctionne bien dans l ensemble de l hôtel mais pas dans les chambres ( comme c est bien expliqué au moment des arrivées ) cette intention permet la sociabilité de l ensemble de nos clients )
On aurait pu déplacé votre chambre et évité que votre chambre soit à côté de la cuisine, il fallait juste demander a la réception, on l aurait fait avec plaisir.
Cordialement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

We were there for only one night before heading on a tour to the Sahara Desert.
We checked into our room in the early afternoon. After traveling all night, we wanted to shower, but there were no towels. We asked for towels two or three times before going out to eat and still nothing. They said it was gonna be there when we came back but it wasnt. We finally got them around 6pm.
Bathroom was old and dirty. When we went to take a shower we notice little roaches all over the bathroom. We went to front desk to tell the receptionist but they said they didnt know what roaches were. We asked them if they had a bug spray and they said so. Didnt offer to change room or anything.
Location was good and breakfast was decent. But I wouldnt stay there again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Thiffany1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driss B, Directeur général at Hotel Islane, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2018
Google Translation

Bonjour
Désolé pour ces désagréments vécus dans notre hôtel .
On prendra note de vos remarques pour améliorer le confort et le service de notre établissement
Cordialement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews