We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveller rating
141
12
0
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
12
0
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 156 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

First thing to say if you decide to book this Riad: pay for the transfer. We got ripped off by a taxi driver from the airport, then we had to give more money away to some guys that took us to the Riad's door as it's not where cars can go in. This completely ruined the start of the trip to me as they can be very aggressive if you don't give the money they want and it cost us €50 when could have been €20.
The Riad is beautiful, comfortable and clean, but its location got me uncomfortable and it's not only because it's tricky to find it, it's because it's right in the middle of the locals, with not a sight of a turist until you walk 3-4 min and get to a more touristic area. I know, 3-4 min seem nothing but believe me, you feel intimidated and a bit afraid of walking through those streets.
The staff at the Riad are friendly - no much English though. The food there is expensive but very good and authentic, totally worthy if you don't want to go out at night.
Breakfast is average, no fruits, no protein apart from yogurts, just bread and bread. Some eggs, cheese and fruit would be nice!
The bed was amazing and so was the sunshine in the terrace!
Always negotiate the prices of the taxis before you go in, from the airport expect €20, but to the airport no more than €10 and to the new town should cost no more than €2 day time and max €5 at night!
Day trip with a private driver is €120 -but worthy, go to the Mountains, explore whatever you can. The Riad can organise this for you!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Melicone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2017

As with most Riads this is located off the main drag and down a few turns beneath a low pass (1.7m) - this feels counter intuitive when you arrive on your first day but stick with it, there are only 4 or 5 turns.
We stayed on the top floor, actually on the roof terrace which was very cool (a fair few steps to climb - this didn't bother us but may be a problem to some), one of the few limitations of our room was the inconsistency of the WiFi inside the room (no doubt a consequence of being distant from the router), however, this is such a minor point as the Riad Pourpre is a fantastic place to stay, within close proximity to the Medina, the Souks and the Tannery.
The staff were extremely attentive but not overly so, we arrived back late from a lovely evening and yet mint tea, coffee and cookies was simply not a problem for the staff - there was no cost for this. The Breakfasts differ each day but always included fresh bread and yoghurt.
The Riad was immaculately clean and clean towels were changed each day.
The staff here speak enough English to help you get by; one of the chambermaids even booked a Spa appointment for us. The manager advised us if the price of a taxi to the airport on the last morning and very kindly carried our bags to the El Moukef main street - unlike many there was never any pressure to tip at the Riad just an honest commitment to ensure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. On our first night (arriving around 1930hrs) we were walked to the nearby Le Foundouk restaurant (56 on the list at the time) which we really needed as our orientation wasn't great after being dropped into the City. Foundouk is pricey but if you want decent food at a very nearby location as we did then you may just settle for an over-priced late night meal.
Personally, the best transport option from the airport is a taxi - agree a price up front (should be around 70 Dirham after a bit of haggling). On our first day we took the No.19 bus (30 Dirham each) only to then take the No.2 from the bus stop just inside the City wall - this drops you to the top of El Moukef which means at least a 200m walk to the Riad walkway - the Taxi option is comparable in price and is obviously direct, but don't bargain the driver down too far otherwise he won't drop at the walkway!
In summary, we don't have a bad word to say about this Riad, the staff were amazing and we would would strongly recommend it!

Room Tip: Lovely rooms on the top floor but this may mean a weaker WiFi signal
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Frannee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2016

Excellent choice of accommodation during a work conference. Very quiet, charming with a touch of glam. Attention to detail in the decor was a pleasant surprise. Fantastic rooftop terrace for incredible city views or just to relax and soak up some sun. Great rooms with excellent staff who are very helpful. Close to the square and restaurants. Great internet.

Room Tip: The rooms were great, with working AC and constant internet
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lerato L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016

I was very pleased at staying at this hotel! Stayed with 2 friends, so rented 2 rooms. Everything was very nicely decorated, it has a little swimming pool where you can relax yourself after a long day of exploring Marrakech. Very pleasant people working at the hotel and helped out with every request/question that we had. Definitely would suggest staying here!

Room Tip: Rented out the 2 rooms in first floor, was perfect
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reinis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

It was perfect! Nice and courteous staff, delicious breakfast, clean and with a beautiful roof terrace. We stayed 2 nights and will come back for sure. Not expensive for this extraordinary service, Thank you guys!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Fabian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews