We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy and full of character”
Review of Riad Malika

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Malika
Ranked #106 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Our 2nd stay in Riad Malika and it certainly didn't disappoint. Fantastic decor, genuine collectors items - check out the lights, the seats and ashtrays in particular.Breakfast is wonderful too - especially the orange blossom pancakes.

It is most definitely not 'Riad in a Box' it exudes character. It is a collection of beautiful and wonderful things that wouldnt be out of place in a design museum but have been put together with much thought and love for guests to use and enjoy, not just to look at.

We booked a room but were given a suite at no additional cost which made for a perfect end to our trip. We will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snowjogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
There are newer reviews for Riad Malika
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 198 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2011

We had an excellent experience here. The Riad is a very cozy, remodelled old house that offers peace and tranquility in the middle of a busy city. The staff was amazing and very helpful. The food is also great (specially breakfast!). It is important to say that it is not located in the best part of the old town, but the area is fairly safe, we were two women traveling alone and had the best experience. Ask the staff to instruct you on places to go and ways to bargain.

Room Tip: all the rooms are amazing and unique
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucero P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Marrakech is a labyrinthine city, full of winding, dusty roads that leave a visitor entranced and totally disoriented. This desert city is parched, though the buzzing people create a fascinating hub of activity that is sometimes overwhelming. Among all this, Riad Malika is an oasis. It is the perfect retreat from the craziness that somehow exists just outside its door.

My husband and I spent some time in Marrakech in early September and cannot recommend Riad Malika enough. Not all hotels in all cities are worth a little extra cash but in Marrakech, you want a place to be able to call home and Riad Malika provides the perfect experience with its incredibly attentive staff, delicious food, thoughtfully appointed rooms and cool, refreshing pool. Really, I have absolutely nothing to complain about and only glowing things to say about this wonderful riad.

We started our stay by booking a transit agency through the hotel. We were met by hundreds of people, many waving signs with small names on them but somehow found our man. They were so friendly, we ended up doing a tour with them later in the week. I recommend this option as it’s the easiest way to go and ensures you don’t get cheated by a cabbie.

Once at the riad, we were met by Rashid, an extremely attentive and helpful individual. Throughout our stay, Rashid did everything he could to make us comfortable and feel at home. Our room was spectacular. At the very top of the riad above the pool on the highest level, it had its own secluded patio. The room was long and thin with a gold theme and giant bathroom. It was artfully done. We felt utterly alone in our little corner of Marrakech. I had the feeling that all rooms at the riad were similarly intersting.

The food at this riad was the best we had in Morocco. Go here and go to the square at night for dinner. Unless you have a lot of time, you can skip the fancy restaurants recommended to you by the riad. Restaurant food was good but the price is far higher than food generally is in the city and not worth it.

Some things to be aware of: most importantly, find a clear way to get from the riad to the Jemaa el-Fnaa Square. This will save you so much time and headache, it cannot be highlighted enough. The easiest way is to exit the riad, turning right immediately, then turning left on the small street and right on the busy Bab Doukkala street. Walk until you hit the next main street with cars on it and a small gendarmes cabin against the wall. This is Rue Fatima Zohra. Turn right and take this street all the way to the koutoubia, from which the main square is obvious. Honestly, you might want to write these directions down. Before discovering this direct route, we ended up getting lost on our way back to the riad, resulting in a 2 hour detour through its maze of streets even with two maps and after paying a guide to get us to our riad. It can be fun to get lost but there are plenty of places in this city to lose yourself, other than on your way home. I cannot emphasize this enough. Also, pay the 2 euro to buy the riad’s fancy map.

Another note: there is a main computer in the courtyard but no wifi in bedrooms.

Room Tip: The double room felt like a suite.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank KazSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malika1968, Propriétaire at Riad Malika, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2011
Google Translation

chére cliente
Le personnel du riad et moi même vous remercions de votre commentaire trés detaillé et trés aimable de votre sejour.
Nous avons aussi la chance d'avoir des clients de qualité qui savent faire passer le message le de leurs emotions et donner leurs sentiments à nos futurs clients.
Je voulais seulement vous préciser qu'il y a la wifi dans toutes les chambres,mais il faut demander le code d'accés à la reception.
Nous espérons vous revoir trés bientôt
cordialement
Jean Luc , Martine,Hafid,Rachid,Habdou,et tout le staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We just returned from a two week trip to Morocco not knowing really what to expect. Our booking at the Riad Malika was made purely using Trip advisor comments. On arrival from the airport (ask the management to send their taxi company RZ Tours - approx 15 euros) we were concerned about the location as it looked for want of a better word a bit rough. However when we were escorted to the Riad by the driver we were surprised at how nice the building was inside. The manager greated us at the door and we were shown into a lovely garden with the rooms surrounding this area. On arrival you are asked if you would like Moroccan tea or a cool drink, your bags are then taken to your room. We had a double room just of the central garden which was decorated in authentic style. Bathroom was nice and the room over looked the pool. The Riad is well decorated and you feel a real sense of peacefulness in what is a hectic and hot city. The Riad offers an evening meal at 20 Euros per person, we did this twice but on the third occasion were slightly disappointed with the variety of food on offer, so our recommendation would be try it once at least. The terraces and pool are nice and quiet. Tea and cool drinks are on offer and the breakfast is plentiful and tasty.
The managers and staff here are very nice and also helpful, our AC broke down one night and the night porter got us a fan at 2 am! We returned to the Malika for an additional 3 nights at the end of our stay - this was not booked before we left the UK but we felt that it was worth an additional stay here, mostly because of the relaxed atmosphere and welcome we recieved. Would recommend this Riad, was well within walking distance from the centre of the city. Although initial appreances didn't suggest it, this was a safe area. Don't be worried about trying the local food markets as they were fun and quite good value in this expensive city. Would also recommend the massage avaliable at the Riad. Overall a great experience.

Room Tip: A double room is as nice as a suite!
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayneclive8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We had a terrific time at Riad Malika. The rooms were brilliant especially the Suite. A huge room which includes a grand piano! We ate at the Riad on the first night and really enjoyed the meal. One of my daughters is Gluten Free and they catered for her brilliantly even down to making her bread from Maize. The staff were all friendly and helpful. I highly recommend the Riad and will be back!

Room Tip: Go for the suites - terrific value and really special.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 km away
Riad Sapphire and Spa
Riad Sapphire and Spa
#63 of 502 in Marrakech
226 reviews
0.8 km away
Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc
Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc
#150 of 502 in Marrakech
413 reviews
0.2 km away
Riad Fleur d'Orient
Riad Fleur d'Orient
#113 of 502 in Marrakech
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
1.1 km away
Le Rihani
Le Rihani
#87 of 502 in Marrakech
373 reviews
1.6 km away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#37 of 502 in Marrakech
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Malika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Malika

Address: 29 Arset Aouzal | Quartier Dar el Bacha, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#60 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: €84 - €166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the first charmed hotel in Marrakech, located in a historic place of the Medina, a few steps from the famous Dar el Bacha, Riad Malika offers, in a subtle blend of "Art Deco" and traditional moroccan art, 10 luxurious rooms, patios, its swimming pool, hammam and its beautiful gardens shaded. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad Malika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Malika Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing