We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”
Review of Villa Makassar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Makassar
Ranked #30 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2012

My mother & I had a memorable stay at the Villa Makassar in December 2011. We used a travelzoo voucher to treat ourselves to a trip to Marrakesh with a stay at a luxury riad :) Villa Makassar is situated down a slightly noisy street in the Medina, but you would never know it as its a quiet zen of a place once you walk inside.

The voucher was a fantastic offer as it is a very beautiful art deco riad, beautifully laid out with its own indoor pool and hammam. The deal included dinner as well as a hammam. Dinner was delicious; canapes, chicken tagine and a delightful pastry dessert called Ktefa. Our waiter was particularly attentive and very friendly and helped teach us some arabic words to get us by during the stay :)

We had a lovely twin room. We had a problem with the shower as it didnt have hot water but as soon as we reported it someone came to look into it immediately and when he couldnt help the charming owner came round to investigate. We were promptly given a key to another room we could use for the duration of our stay to use the shower there (even though our shower was fixed the next day).

Our hammam at the riad was a fantastic experience. Do not leave without having one!

On the whole a delightful stay in Marrakesh.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LFOX79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (691)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

299 - 303 of 691 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2012

An amazing Art Deco riad, made of two riads joined together, so you have plenty of communal areas and it does not feel clostrophobic like some smaller riads do. I have NEVER seen such attention to detail and luxury in a riad (and I have visited many). No wonder this hotel has been featured in top interior design magazines! The owner is delightful and the staff very attentive. After the Mamounia was re decorated in a less art-deco way, Marrakech needed a beautiful art deco place and this is it! Easy access by car all the way to the riad's entrance, great central area.
And it has a pool and a state of the art spa. Note that the pool is separated from the rooms so even if kids play in it, you won't be disturbed by the noise.
The riad is very quiet, you won't get woken up by the call for prayer at 5am!
Could not recommend it more to anyone looking for elegance, luxury and style in Marrakech.

Room Tip: All rooms and suites are unique and delightfully decorated with art-deco antiques.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

This place itself is stunning however to sum it up there are two very different levels to this place and what they offer. If you stay here paying full 'rack rate' I imagine it is perfect. I had a peek at the other rooms and they look amazing. Myself and my partner stayed here on a Groupon / Living Social Deal, still at 130 quid a night and as we were on the 'deal' you could not help but notice you were offered sub-standard service. The room we had was 'okay' nowhere near as nice as the others. Shower pressure is rubbish and there was a leak from the roof the ceiling into the bathroom which was left to drip onto a towel.
We were looking forward to our inclusive meal which turned out to be a joke. Soup for starter was awful, one chicken leg for our mains course accompanied with nothing, was actually quite tasty and dessert consisted of 3 slices of oranges & 2 Slices of Kiwi Fruit & a dusting of cinnamon. Soup & Dessert was sent back to the kitchen with not even a question to ask how our meal was. Wine was paid for and very poor taste, along with the poor tasting coffee throughout the stay. Breakfast is not even worth typing about.

Do not pay for a massage as it turns out to be a back rub by one of the kitchen staff. Very annoyed we did not bring this to the owners attention.

Having said that, as a whole, the Riad is beautiful and if you were paying full price and if the food on offer is as suggested in their website then, fully recommend it. If you are going on a 'deal', well put it this way, we certainly won't be going back!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fouad926, Propriétaire at Villa Makassar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2012

The partner of this customer was very impressed with Villa Makassar. During their 2 night stay, we asked them manytimes if everything was ok (as we do with all our clients) and they answered that they were very happy. So we are very surprised to read this review and we don't understand why they do this.
Indeed, they had a special deal for a junior suite and we gave them a stunning Suite Deluxe with a beautiful desk in galuchat shagreen, an antique bed from Birma , a large dressing, a Bang & Olufsen TV and a shower with light and radio.
Our food is fresh and different every day and most of our customers eat at Villa Makassar many times during their stay.
This customer finished the bottle of wine THEY choosed but they should have returned it if it was so tasteless.
The breakfast is a large choice of hot drinks, different morrocan cakes, fruits, yoghurt, cheese, eggs, fresh orange juice, bread, butter and jam.
Obviously, the staff for the massage don't work in the kitchen. You should have bring this to our attention than writing this afterwards. We are very curious to know how you got this idea.
We work very hard to satisfy ALL our customers and fortunately 99% of them appreciate. Many customers got the same deal in January and the reviews posted were very positive.
Unfortunately, this customer try to spoil our image with subjective and unfounded arguments. We still don't understand why and we are not interested in having this kind of traveller.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We've just stayed in this fabulous hotel situated right in the old part of the town in the medina.It was absolutely fantastic.We want to go back as soon as we can. The service from Soufiane the manager and his attentive team was superb. From when we arrived,to the mint tea provided before our free transfer to the airport was faultless. The Art Deco interior is amazing, we've never stayed in a hotel as beautiful or luxurious before. Our room was so comfortable,I wish I had a bedroom like it at home.We've not slept so well for ages.Very quiet.The bed-linen and pillows felt lovely to the touch.
The food was excellent,a real slice of authentic Morrocco cuisine,and we could even have an alcoholic drink, which is hard to come by outside.The breakfast was up on the sunny roof-terrace,a great start to the day.There was even a lift provided for elderly/disabled residents.
The bathroom was plush and lavish. The shower was incredible,it even had music.Large,thick dressing-gowns and slippers were provided. There was plenty of storage space,a large digital tv and air-conditioning/heater.
We'd certainly reccommend this hotel to anyone,we hope to go back very soon.A big thank you to the team for such a wonderful stay.All the very best !

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philgilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We had the pleasure of staying in Villa Makassar for 5 nights recently and cannot praise it highly enough. We arrived by taxi arranged by the hotel and were slightly anxious when it drew up in a narrow street in the heart of the Kasbah where nothing appeared to have changed in hundreds of years - but what a surprise as we entered the hotel through a dimly lit corridor into a beautiful courtyard where all was calm and tranquility! We were warmly greeted by very gracious staff and from then on we were treated to nothing but first class service and attention. Villa Makassar is a stunning bistro hotel, restored in traditional riad style but exquisitely furnished with original Art Deco furniture and accessories - the whole building is a work of art. We were very fortunate to be upgraded to the grande executive room which was fabulous, however we were able to see some of the other rooms which are all stunning, each with a different theme but with the Art Deco style running throughout. During our stay we treated ourselves to a hammam in the lovely spa which we can highly recommend. The charming owner, Fouad Graidia, can be justifiably proud of what he has created at Villa Makassar and his wonderful staff make it very hard to leave when it is time to go!

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulous - select a room with a walk-in shower if you don't like baths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jo_Syd_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 km away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#11 of 502 in Marrakech
1,270 reviews
8.1 km away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
2.5 km away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#66 of 502 in Marrakech
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#24 of 502 in Marrakech
1,175 reviews
0.1 km away
Les Borjs de la Kasbah
Les Borjs de la Kasbah
#27 of 502 in Marrakech
655 reviews
6.4 km away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#15 of 502 in Marrakech
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Makassar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Makassar

Address: 20 Derb Chtouka | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#20 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#28 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#66 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: €129 - €305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Makassar 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 stars Art Deco Boutique Hotel with heated swimming pool and SPA, restaurant, 10 non smoking rooms and suites, 5000 sqf terrasse, lift, 3 patios, 2 lounges, direct access with car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Makassar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Makassar Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing