We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riad Dar Zitouna en Exclusivite
Nearby Hotels
US$183
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$186/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Riad Maipa(Marrakech)
US$104
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Kniza(Marrakech)
US$471
US$286
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Princesse du Desert(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
US$53
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$72/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$169
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$202/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$143
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$206
US$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$225/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Riad 72(Marrakech)
US$171
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$188
US$182
iberostar.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$253/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$407
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
21
20
3
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
20
3
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmin walkjemaa elmoroccoriadmedina
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Dar Zitouna is a lovely and cosy riad not far from the main square in Marrakech (it is 15/20 minutes walk without getting lost!!!). It is part of Marrakech Riads, and from what I can see in their website the riads are all very beautiful.
I personally tried Dar Zitouna with friends earlz in Jan this year, on the way back from a desert excursion and before going back home. Slept there for 2 nights and must say that it is very well kept, breakfast is excellent and the riad itself is a very pleasant discovery.

Room Tip: room 3 is perfect for a romantic stay, but also room on second floor with direct access to terrace, very spacious and beautiful.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antotitrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

This review is for the Riad Zitouna at No 26 Derb Ihihane, Sidi Ben Slimane, Marraakesh AND NOT Riad Zitouna, 5 Derb Rami Zkak Labghal, Fes.
The link for 'professional photos' on the Trip Advisor 'review' page for this Riad shows the correct photos. There are a couple of Riad Zitouna's and our holiday booking was made, based upon the other one in 'Fes' in error.

We stayed at this Riad in Marrakech for 4 nights from 2nd Jan 2012. As many people state on these pages, the Riad is VERY hard to find. If you do not get a pick up from the airport arranged by the Riad itself you will NOT find it easily and you could also easily be quite intimidated by the people and the area in which the Riad is in.

We are experienced travellers, having extensively travelled the world but initially the local area where you would be dropped off could slightly worry you. Once you have found the place and get a feel for the area it's not so bad. Many people will offer to show you where the Riad is (from where the taxi drops you) but they will take you on a longer route to justify the money that they will demand from you for showing you the way. Ten Dirhams would be an absolute max to pay the locals for this.

The Riad itself is quite old and whilst the days were really warm in January, the nights were very cold and the only heating in the rooms was a small portable, electric, convector heater which was insufficient to make a noticable difference. A walk into the souks or main square will take you about 15 minutes although it's not a particularly 'nice' walk as it goes through a lot of 'run down' area.
A taxi could cost you anywhere from 20 to 60 Dirhams (£1-50 to £4-50 ish if you're from the UK). This price in the main was based upon pure luck, the taxi driver, the time, taxi availability and your bargaining ability or your will to walk away.

The breakfast was OK, not big or lavish in any way but simply 'just enough'. The people at the Riad were always helpful and smiling and we had no cause for concern with any of them at any point during our stay.

My marks out of 10 for the staff would be 8
My marks out of 10 for the location would be 1

Overall, two days would be ample time to spend in Marrakech. In this time you would easily see everything it has to offer. There is not a lot to do at all.
On this occasion, with just having a mini-break I felt like I had totally wasted my time in coming here. It's nice to say, 'yes, I've been to Marrakech' but the reality of the place is actually so disappointing. I would never recommend to anyone to come to Marrakech!

Hopefully the photo I have attached to this post will be of help to anyone travelling to the Riad Zitouna. It is a scan of the arab script given to us by the maid at the Riad. It should get you to within 50 to 100 metres of the Riad and would be worthwhile printing out.

It is at Rue Bab Taghzout (Street of the door of Taghzout) but the taxi driver will not be able to read English?

Room Tip: Our room, number 4 was one of the larger rooms as it had the only balcony
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikelouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

When we arrived in the medina we called about 10 times before we got an answer from anyone who could give us directions to the hotel, which like many riads in Morrocco, was difficult to find without help. We wasted a lot of time wondering around with all of our luggage before someone finally answered the phone.

We had stayed at a real riad in Fes the day before, where we received a warm welcome from the owners who lived there. This place was clearly owned by a larger company that hires out (very young) staff to run it when there are guests.

We were the only people there (on the busy Easter weekend), so the place felt more like an empty apartment building than a riad. Although the room was very clean and well decorated, the double bed was actually just two twin mattresses stuck together. It was uncomfortable.

After staying one night, we decided to leave, but Marrakech Riads forced us to pay for the three following nights that we had already reserved. It amounted to more than $200. After arguing with a person from Marrakech Riads on the phone, we paid for the nights just to be done with it and then found a nicer place (outside of the medina). It was a big waste of money and bad start to our stay in Marrakech :(

I would not recommend booking through Marrakech Riads. If the other reputable Riads are booked, just stay in a hotel in the new town. Many are in walking distance to the medina and taxis are cheap.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank booksmydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

We had a very nice stay here for two nights. The riad is quiet (but see my tip about ear plugs and 5:30 am prayer calls from the nearby mosque; this applies to other Marrakech riads as well, especially if you want to sleep with the windows open). The rooms are very clean and nicely decorated, the bed comfortable, the breakfast good (besides juices and Moroccan pancakes, it is nice to have a boiled egg for protein). And the souks are a short walking distance (about 5-10 minutes) just to the south of the riad ...

Getting to the riad was a bit of an adventure. We arrived in Marrakech by car just before dusk, parked in a parkade in the centre of the medina, and were exploited by a taxi driver who charged us 10 euros (it should have been max 5, as we did not have much luggage) to get to Bab Tagzout (sp?). We phoned the manager of the riad (she appears to manage more than one), and after I had described how we looked, she told me that their agent would meet us within 5 minutes. Apparently she had misunderstood me (perhaps limited English?), as the agent was looking for a couple with a toddler--whereas we had our 21-year-old son with us! It took a few more phone calls, an entourage of local young men who eagerly wanted to show us to the riad (with the hopes of tips, of course) and a half an hour before we finally reached the riad (which is just 30 m from Bab Tagzout).. But we got to watch the bustling activity at the square while we were waiting: a man loudly selling cauliflower from a donkey cart, brochettes being cooked by street vendors, crowds milling about ...

Rashid, the young man who runs the riad ("the agent'), was very helpful. He went with my husband to fetch our car (the ride in a petit taxi was 30 dirhams), ordered a cab to the airport for our son, made restaurant reservations and walked us there, found me a hair dryer, and provided us with maps and directions.

If you are going to stay at Dar ZItouna, I would recommend arriving before dark, agreeing with a petit taxi driver about the rate ahead of time (20 dirhams from Place Jemaa el Fna), and if you are going to meet Rashid at Bab Tagzout, wear something easily distinguishable. The stay is worth the little extra effort needed to find the riad.

Room Tip: Wear ear plugs at night (5:30 am prayer calls ...)
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matter_of_fact_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

The staff was very helpfull, handsome and nice although, the ladie doesn´t speak any english. The breakfast was very good: pancakes, morocan pancakes, egg, cheese, 3 kind of jam, milk, coffee and 2 fresh juices. The room was good and every day cleaned. The location is not so good. Tell the taxi driver to leave you at Rue Bab Taghzout, it´s easyer to find the Dar, do not pay more than 10 dirhams to young people to help you find the place. And from Place Djemaa el Fna by taxi don´t pay more than 30 dirham in a petit taxi.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anitaacr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews