We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in the medina”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
Ranked #35 of 495 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay in the medina”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

We came to Marrakech for a short holiday and stayed in Joelle's beautiful Riad in the south of the Kasbah. The place is beautifully decorated with a stylish mix of oriental and non oriental features and an excellent eye for detail. The French hostess is absolutely lovely and very helpful, from restaurant and sight seeing recommendations, she can also organise excursions with local people for you. The rooms with ensuite bathroom are very comfortable, and the roof terrace is a great place to relax and soak up the sun. Breakfast is a true feast with local breads, home made pancakes and cakes, and fresh fruit and yogurt. A true gem of peace and quiet in the crazyness of this vibrant city. We highly recommend it and will definitely come back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieMcLaughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    66
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
69
348
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

I bought 4 nights in this lovely Riad as a surprise for my wife's birthday and could not have been more pleased! Joelle, the owner, has a great eye for detail so the whole riad was spotless and draped in the most gorgeous scented roses - those roses I will never forget! We had one meal in, a very tasty lemon chicken tangine followed by delicious tarte tatin washed down by a bottle of Joelle's house wine. We were served like royalty in the little dining area in front of a log fire and surrounded by more roses!
Les Orangers d 'Alilia is in the Kasbah region of Marrakech close to the Royal Palace. For my old legs It is a little far from the main square (25 mins or so) but the main street on the doorstep in the Kasbah was very interesting in its own right. To get around we sometimes used the little yellow taxis - very inexpensive as long as you bargain hard before setting off!
We decided to use the hotel for the transfer from the airport. It could perhaps have been done cheaper but not more efficiently or by such a pleasant young man who spoke very good English. We therefore kept using him such as for our wonderful trip to the Atlas Mountains and waterfalls which he organised superbly. We were very sad when he dropped us off for our return.
Are there things to criticise about the riad. Yes, our room was over the little street, no cars allowed but the bikes and the early morning rubbish collector slightly spoilt the peace from about 08.00 on and perhaps the bathrooms could have been a bit better organised - lack of proper doors, no light or shelf in the shower, but the roses there made up for this and, the superb breakfasts which most reviewers have correctly highlighted!
Les Orangers d 'Alilia is a peaceful treasure amongst the hectic place that Marrakech is. Thank you Joelle for helping make my wife's birthday treat such a brilliant success.

Room Tip: Try and get 1st floor rooms away from the street. If you don't mind a little extra cost use J...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheoneRoberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

We had a nice time staying in Joelle's beautiful riad for four nights. Joelle is very sweet and helpful and obviously puts her heart and soul into keeping the riad clean and comfortable. Everyone here is raving about the breakfasts for a reason! They are extensive, delicious and different everyday. I requested coffee and mint tea a few times and it arrived on a beautifully set up tray with treats included. One downside to the rooms, as other people have mentioned, is the lack of bathroom door and the fact that the two rooms we stayed in were quite small so there is a feeling of claustrophobia and lack of privacy. I could have easily dealt with these quirks if I had not come down with a horrible flu where I was up coughing and sneezing with nowhere to go. I felt I was disturbing the whole riad because all the windows open onto the courtyard and the sound travels.
Joelle accomodated me with teas and extra tissue but for our last night, we ended up having to leave so I could stay at a hotel with an extra bed and separate bathroom. Also, because of the way the riads are built, the rooms were quite damp even with the use of the heater. Overall, we had a nice time in the riad but just felt perhaps a little hemmed in by the lack of space and close quarters

Room Tip: Spring for a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs, Kent , UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Myself and my husband, brother and sister-in-law stayed here for a surprise birthday trip. After reading all the great reviews I can honestly say we were not disappointed . The riad is perfectly situated not to far from the madness of Jeema El Fna Square but far enough to chill on the beautiful roof top terrace. Joelle is a lovely host nothing too much trouble. Had a lovely evening in eating a great home cooked tagine. Would have no hesitation in recommending this Riad, if I were being critical make sure you try and request one of the rooms on the first floor, as my brother had a room on the ground floor next to the kitchen and it was not en-suite and a little noisy. A great stay nonetheless.

Room Tip: request rooms on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackieBarr12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Simply lovely riad - tranquil relaxed atmosphere, attentive friendly staff, stylish decor, comfortable cosy rooms, wonderful breakfasts, and perfect host Joelle. Lived up to all the previous reviews. Easy 10/15 min stroll to Jeema El Fna square, passing attractions along the way. Great recommendations from Joelle including restuarants and Hammam. Extras booked through Riad were perfect - dinner on first night, taxi to and from airport. Next time we visit, when it's slightly warmer, we look forward to spending time on the roof terrace and dipping our toes in the courtyard pool!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OliandLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.8 km away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#20 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
0.6 km away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#31 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
1.1 km away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#58 of 495 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#14 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
1.4 km away
Riad 58 Blu
Riad 58 Blu
#32 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
1.3 km away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#43 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech

Property: Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
Address: 216 Rue Tadla, Derb Chtouka Marrakech-Medina, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#63 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moroccan hospitality is legendary and at Riad les orangers d'alilia you have the opportunity to experience this fine tradition. Riad les orangers d'alilia is a home with lots of atmosphere and a dedicated staff at your disposal.Riad les orangers d'alilia has been entirely restored in accordance with traditional Moroccan materials and architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Les Orangers d`Alilia Marrakech Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing