We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$239
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albakech House(Marrakech)
US$80
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riad Princesse du Desert(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
US$52
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$74/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$175
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$187
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$154
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$129
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$134/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Riad Maipa(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
US$102
US$90
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$240
US$200
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$434
US$425
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,173)
Filter reviews
2,173 results
Traveller rating
1,245
482
240
124
82
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,245
482
240
124
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool areabreakfast buffetjunior suitebeautiful hotelspecial thanksatlas mountainsmint teaconciergepoolsloungeredaluxuryazizasquareguidechaosculture
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 2,173 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

A standard Sofitel product. Large hotel with long walks to the rooms.

Odd that the snack menu in the bar area is just the room service menu.

Rooms are not well lit which is not good for evening working.

Problem of birds in the breakfast area. Disorganised breakfast service with tables not being cleaned promptly.

Friendly staff.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank simonaccra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BENKIRANE A, General Manager at Hotel Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Dear Simon,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
At Sofitel Hotels & Resorts, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.
We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Sincerely,
Ahmed BENKIRANE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

Excellent service, excellent location, excellent food. The only minus is the quality of the toilet paper, other than this I strongly recommend this hotel. The waiters and the staff service is amazing.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank YoelZuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BENKIRANE A, General Manager at Hotel Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017
Google Translation

Cher client
Nous vous remercions pour vos commentaires suite à votre séjour à Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa.
C’est avec grand plaisir que nous recevons vos compliments. Aussi, nous ne manquerons pas de partager vos appréciations avec toute notre équipe. Votre satisfaction est la plus belle récompense pour notre personnel qui travaille jour après jour pour vous offrir un service irréprochable.
Dans l’attente de vous accueillir de nouveau, nous vous prions de croire, en l’expression de nos sentiments les meilleurs.
Bien Cordialement,
Ahmed BENKIR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

So let’s start with the positives: the pool area is very nice, the bed is super comfy (as one would expect from a Sofitel), I appreciated the kettle in the room, there is a nice little gym, breakfast was pretty good in terms of food, the location is great - it’s in the quiet new town but you can still walk to the souks etc. I thought the price was good.

Room for improvement: service is the main thing. It took forever to get served coffee at breakfast, I was quoted one price on Saturday to get my hair blow dried and another price on the Tuesday (I had to challenge the spa to give me the original price quoted). In the restaurant we were told one set of information from one waiter and something else by another regarding prices and the buffet etc

The other thing was the lighting in our room was really poor - if I didn’t have a kindle with a back light it would have been near to impossible to read in bed. Also they should consider having a magnifying mirror somewhere because the mirror in the bathroom is quite far away and it’s really difficult to do your make up. Our room was on the ground floor - my father-in-laws room on the third floor was much better in these respects.

All in all I would stay again because of the location but I would lower my expectations and I would request a room not on the ground floor.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank larissabatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BENKIRANE A, General Manager at Hotel Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Dear Larissabatt,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
At Sofitel Hotels & Resorts, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.
We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Sincerely,
Ahmed BENKIRANE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

You want sun, warmth, good food and a place to chill...the Sofitel is a great place for that.

The personnel is friendly and professional. The overall atmosphere is soothing and elegant enough.

It's not perfect, few places are, but it is a very good deal for the money.
We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite, which could use a redecoration and a real 2nd bathroom but was nonetheless very comfortable.

The pools are super. There are 3. One is heated, great for kids and folks who prefer warm water. There are 2 main restaurants for lunch and the same for diner though you may want to venture out after a couple of days.
Breakfast is awesome.

There is a kid's club and the hotel will find you a nanny if you should need one at night or during the day.

It's located in the golden triangle. A 10 minute ride to Jemaa El-Fna...and its great smells and bustle. Stay away from the food stands. There are assuredly a couple of decent ones but its a lottery unless you have a strong recommendation.

You can walk to Morocco's most renown Casino. There are a couple of clubs and bars 3 minutes away.
La table du Marché, across the street from the hotel is a very nice little restaurant and they are super with kids.

All in all, I would recommend the Sofitel, despite its shortcomings it is Marrakech after all.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LouisSaintCalbre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BENKIRANE A, General Manager at Hotel Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Dear Louis Saint Calbre,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,
Ahmed BENKIRANE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

The hotel was lovely but the concierge was not well supervised. He booked a city tour for us and hired an acquaintance who was impatient, condescending and ended the tour early. The cost of the tour seemed to be whatever the concierge could convince you to pay and his take came off the top. We agreed on $180 for four people to tour the city for the day. He then attempted to take 180 euros saying it was a "misunderstanding". Our guide left us after 3 hours. We spoke to another couple at the pool who paid $25 to the same concierge for two people to have a day tour. Their guide told them they were "driving him crazy with their questions" and he too left just short of 2.5 hours. Don't use the hotel for anything other than your room. Their airport shuttle is 10 times the cost of other shuttles. We were charged $11 for two
10 oz bottles of water on our bathroom counter. It seems they view their customers as opportunities rather than guests.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Robyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BENKIRANE A, General Manager at Hotel Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Dear Robyn ,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
At Sofitel Hotels & Resorts, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.
We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Sincerely,
Ahmed BENKIRANE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews