We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Save yourself the frustration and disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Jardin des Reves
Ranked #395 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2017

I am not even sure TripAdvisor will even allow me the space to express my disgust with this place, but I will keep it brief.

My husband and I wanted to try a different hotel in Marrakech as we usually stay at another one. Our room was on the roof top where there was ZERO privacy asides from the thin window coverings that barely stretched the length of the window. Every morning we would walk outside and find the BUSINESSES LAUNDRY hanging to dry outside our door.

The first morning we went for breakfast. The lady told us she'd bring it to us on the roof top. We waited, waited and waited. Finally, I walked downstairs, and she said she isn't "allowed" to bring the breakfast up, but we can carry it up ourselves.

WIFI was down for the two days we were there. This may not seem like a big deal, but for travellers it is, as they need internet to access banking, ensure contact with family members, and for planning travel. When we went to the front desk, he told us they had forgotten to pay the bill - awesome!

In the room, the air conditioning unit was so dirty that I refused to turn it on, as I did not want to breath in the mould and dust on the vents.

Finally, I decided to leave and stay at the hotel we always stay at. When we left, he made up pay the city tax for the entire 4 days we reserved, instead of the 2 days we only stayed. This was unethical, as we should have only paid city tax for the days we occupied the hotel.

Save your money, service is horrible and unfriendly.

Room Tip: refuse the room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank MyPhilosophy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2017

This was a very nice Riad in an old section of Marrakech. The facilities were nice, and the staff on hand were helpful and excellent. We had some great meals at the Riad and would recommend them. The air conditioner in our room had issues, and then stopped working on our last night. We were moved, which was a great solution. The air conditioning units are getting older, as the one in the room we moved to was noisy but did work. Only a couple of cautions-it was a bit awkward trying to withdraw enough cash to pay the bill-it would be much better if they would take credit cards and we had mixed success with booked tours. We arranged to go to the Atlas Mountains on the second day, and were obvious targets. We paid for the tour, then were charged a somewhat healthy extra sum by a guide we were turned over to for a hike up to falls (not really arranged up front) and were turned over to an hour long extremely high pressure (even abusive) sales pitch for rugs. Small, private outings are good in theory, and work well in other places, but we found in Morocco they make you more obvious prey to these situations.

Room Tip: Be prepared for fact that rooms don't have doors to bathrooms-just curtains or nothing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

Even before we arrived the Riad was so helpful in helping our stay to be the best, offering to arrange transport on arrival, have a dinner waiting and organise our trip to the Atlas mountain. The staff were so friendly and professional and couldn't be more helpful or be nicer!! They are lovely people!!
The Riad was beautiful and very comfortable and we loved the location as easy and close to the shops and restaurants.
The food served at dinner was delicious!!
We look forward to returning!!

Room Tip: The Riad was very quiet and all the rooms are quiet on the first floor and a great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

Upon arrival we were greeted by Abdoul who kindly welcomed us at the door, and shooed away the young boy who had lead us to the riad as he continued to ask for money after we had already given him some. It is tricky to find, but once you know where it is its not a problem at all.

We had lovely mint tea as we waited for our room to be prepared. And even though we arrived considerably early in the day, our room was ready soon after our arrival.

This hostel has a 'dip pool' which is very refreshing. We sat and had tea in the lobby one evening as we read.

Another family had the dinner and said it was very good with several courses, and said the cost is 15 EUR per person.

The wifi is free, it is challenging to connect in your room, but in the lobby it works well.

There is a Moroccan tax, which is unavoidable. However we asked for tea another evening, and we were charged on our final bill. I felt this was a bit sneaky, as it was never mentioned until we went to check out. I would have preferred if they had said how much it cost as 3EUR compared to 15Dir in town seemed a little steep. Regardless it was the best Moroccan tea I had on my trip.

The room itself is beautiful, and had a very comfortable bed! It has air conditioning and towels for you.

The morning we left it was very early in the morning (545am) and had to catch a taxi to the train station. Abdoul booked the taxi for us the night before & said that the other hostess would walk us there as so we didn't need to walk the unfamiliar streets alone. However, when it came time to leave the other host told us where to walk, and seeing the confusion on my face he reluctantly walked us part way. I don't know about you, but walking unfamiliar streets in the dark is not something I feel comfortable with, which is why I was very glad Abdoul said we would be walked, that was until the morning. The taxi to the train station (which is about a 30 minute walk) cost us 20EUR. More than the taxi from the airport, which cost 200Dir. Abdoul did explain that this was because it was early in the morning, is it is usually 15EUR, so my suggestion is to book a later train!

Overall they were very welcoming, and Abdoul made sure to give us the ins and outs of the Medina, and market so we wouldn't get caught in any tourist traps.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JaccyjayTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017

This was our first experience of visiting Marrakesh. We were a party of 4 female friends. We were going to book a hotel stay for our city break but decided we would like to stay in a Riad to get a more authentic feel for our stay in the city and were not disappointed. We had arranged for collection from the airport to the Riad which we were pleased about as the Riad would not have been easy to find otherwise. We also arranged for a meal on our first night which was absolutely delicious. We had booked the two larger double rooms which were very comfortable and across the balcony from each other. The Riad only has 6 rooms in total. However there is no lift in the Riad and you would need to negotiate stairs up to your room and again onto the rooftop. We enjoyed relaxing on the rooftop terrace on very comfortable loungers and even braved a dip in the indoor pool (not heated) which was quite refreshing after a full day sightseeing. It has a lovely homely feel to the place and the staff Abdu and Ra'yan are very friendly and hospitable. Nothing is too much trouble and they will give any assistance you need with local knowledge and booking trips, taxis etc. The fact that we visited during Ramadan did not affect our stay. We wanted to be respectful of the local customs and took advice from our hosts as to what would be acceptable attire etc. but we needn't have worried as they assured us they were used to tourists and our normal way of dress would be accepted. You can exchange money in the old Medina square. Some places will also take euros as well as the local dirham. You will need to make sure you change your dirham back at the airport before you go through customs on your return journey home. Be prepared to put your bartering skills to the test when shopping in the souks (markets). The Atlas Mountains is definitely worth a visit and make sure you wear suitable shoes for walking/climbing - definitely not for flip flops! You can enjoy a nice lunch by the river after. We arranged our tour through our host at the Riad and had our own driver/guide Nouradine who spoke very good English and had a wonderful sense of humour. If you decide to take a tour of the city in one of the horse and carriage, make sure you negotiate your price beforehand. You should not pay more than 120 dirhams. They don't make it clear whether this is per person or per carriage but we negotiated down from 350 dirhams to 150 dirhams for the 4 of us. The tour should last at least an hour and we asked to be dropped off outside the Bahia palace as we wanted to visit that afterwards. It's worth buying the pocket guide book on Marrakesh before you go as it has some very useful information, tips etc. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend a visit to this friendly city.

Room Tip: They have two larger double rooms on first floor and one on ground floor and the rest are smaller ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sybil_Basil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 km away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#11 of 499 in Marrakech
1,051 reviews
2.6 km away
Riad La Porte Rouge
Riad La Porte Rouge
#118 of 499 in Marrakech
621 reviews
2 km away
Riad Fabiola
Riad Fabiola
#272 of 499 in Marrakech
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
2.4 km away
Riad Andalouse
Riad Andalouse
#453 of 1,186 in Marrakech
154 reviews
1.5 km away
Riad Laora
Riad Laora
#315 of 1,186 in Marrakech
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Jardin des Reves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Jardin des Reves

Address: 70 Derb Sidi Lahcen ou Ali Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #395 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: €38 - €129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Jardin des Reves 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Jardin des Reves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing