We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Romantic. Terrific.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Dar Saad

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Dar Saad
Ranked #126 of 1,187 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Romantic. Terrific.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Although I was in Marrakech for business I stayed in this delightfully romantic riad. In a word it was terrific. The riad as a whole was like something out of 1001 Arabian Nights. You could easily imagine Scherazade telling you a bedtime story -- or the Prince of Persia slashing his way through the opulent hangings. The rooms were quite variable in size. Mine -- called Jemra -- was huge. It's billed as a "suite" which it isn't. Just a very large room with a double bed and two couches that could be used as beds for children.Dozens of cushions in all shapes and sizes. It also had the only split level bathroom (you reached the shower via its own flight of stairs) I have ever seen. Small "plunge pool" in the breakfast courtyard. Delightful roof terrace with fountain. The location, in the Medina/Old Town, was good. Friendly, accommodating staff. No restaurant. Breakfast on the minimalist side (excellent breads and juice). No other meals. NOT suitable for business (there was neither a desk nor a table nor a chair in my room and internet is only available in the lobby, but who wants to work in such a perfect place for a romantic getaway?

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sleepysteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    36
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
40
101
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rueil-Malmaison, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

We stayed 3 nights in Riad Saad, it was just wonderfull. Food is great ( tagine; pastilla), breakfast can be enjoyed on the roof terrace or near the pool. Service was just great: I just can recommend that place.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

Samira and her team were incredibly kind and welcoming and went out of their way to ensure that we had everything we needed for our short stay at Dar Saad. They were very taken with our 8 month old daughter and couldn't do enough for her, they brought us boiling water in a thermos when we wanted it, let us use the kitchen and fridge for her food and supplied a very decent travel cot for her too. We eat most nights at the Riad and the food was top notch and plentiful. Really great Moroccan stuff and we washed it down with a great bottle of Moroccan red. As we wanted to go out one night they provided a baby sitting service and we felt comfortable leaving our daughter in their care and went out to Jemaa-al-Fna for a great evening of wandering around and eating in at one of the many stalls - just let yourself be pulled in by one of the keen waiters and feast at a very reasonable price! The souks were only a few minutes walk away and it was great to be able to escape the craziness of the markets and return to the Riad for some peace and quiet, a mint tea and perhaps a cold beer!
We'd definitely recommend the place!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cartoonlawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2011

We spent five nights at this guesthouse. The service was impeccable. They even took a pair of eyeglasses to get them repaired. They will arrange transfers to and from the airport. The breakfast was excellent. Each day we were able to eat and tour with friends who choose another guesthouse which was more expensive but with spotty service. Riad Dar Saad also will provide a guide through the marketplace or souk. The room was beautifully appointed, clean and had comfortable beds and a roman shower. This is my home away from home while in Marrakech.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonMCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2011

It's quite hard to write a meaningful review of a riad, as they all seem to get 5 star reviews, and there are so many of them.

We chose Riad Dar Saad after much research. Our main criteria were location, not too small, tasteful decor and an excellent roof terrace. We wanted a riad which would be easy to find in the medina and which was within comfortable walking distance of the things we particularly wanted to see. We didn't want to be in the thick of the souks with the hassle that might involve as we came and went. We also didn't want too much concentrated attention from the staff as we felt might be the case in a riad with only two or three rooms. We preferred decor which was Moroccan, but not over the top, and needed a good roof terrace for breakfasts in the sun, and afternoon reading.

Riad Dar Saad met all our ctiteria, and didn't disappoint. It's a beautiful place, with wonderful helpful staff who gave us much good advice. We were upgraded from our booked room to a suite, enjoyed the delicious breakfast, and admired the decor. We found our way easily to and from the riad each day, usually via the main square but sometimes navigating with the invaluable rough guide map.

Unfortunately the weather didn't live up to our expectations, so we didn't use the beautiful roof terrace very much! We enjoyed the various comfortable places for reading though, including a sumptuous lounge with tadelakt walls, around the courtyard with the plunge pool, and the cosy internet area. This was particularly appreciated when the log fire was lit in the chilly evenings.

We didn't eat in the riad ourselves, but judging from the delicious cooking smells that was probably a mistake. There are two good restaurants very near to Riad Dar Saad, Terraces des Epices and Cafe Arabe. The former is dry, so we much appreciated being able to order a bottle of wine when we returned to Riad Dar Saad, and drink it in front of the fire!

Recommended - and very quiet!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 km away
Riad Hermes
Riad Hermes
#240 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.1 km away
Riad Reves D'orient
Riad Reves D'orient
#90 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
1.3 km away
Riad Marrabahia
Riad Marrabahia
#277 of 1,187 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Riad Zehar
Riad Zehar
#119 of 1,187 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.2 km away
Riad Misria
Riad Misria
#113 of 1,187 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.1 km away
Riad CharCam
Riad CharCam
#108 of 1,187 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Saad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Saad

Property: Riad Dar Saad
Address: 3 derb Ben Chekroune | Dar El Bacha, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 1,187 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dar Saad 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Dar Saad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Saad Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing