We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moroccan Palace ”
Review of Dar Essalam

Dar Essalam
Ranked #149 of 1,034 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: US$12 - US$46
Cuisines: African, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: N full heart of the medina where merges tradition and modernity, an authentic restaurant has several years of perfectly preserved history. DAR ESSALAM is the first moroccan restaurant in Marrakech since 1952, it's here that the Hitchcock's movie "the man knew too much " was filmed. Come and taste our refined moroccan cuisine.
Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

This location is a large palace that offers the morocco experience in all its facets: location, food, music and dance. Staff is very friendly. Due to the size it attracts tourist groups.

Thank Libor V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dar essalam r, Gérant at Dar Essalam, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

Dear Libor V,

Thank you so much for your thoughtful review! We believe that our dedicated staff is our greatest asset, and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal in the restaurant Dar Essalam; your kind comments are highly appreciated.
Thank you for spreading the word on here, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,
mohamed el karnighi
owner manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 1,156 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2018

it was a very nice evening at this restaurant where you can enjoy the Moroccan food and the typical oriental dance and music. But don't go before 9 pm because the show starts at this time.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sanikoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dar essalam r, Gérant at Dar Essalam, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

Dear Sanikoli,

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your meal in Restaurant Dar essalam and acknowledge so many positive elements, your kind comments are highly appreciated
Thank your for spreading the word on here, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon
Warm regards
Sincerely yours
mohamed el karnighi
owner manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

My family stayed at this riad so we had a late lunch there with them one afternoon. The staff were really accommodating even though it was a quiet time due to an odd afternoon hour and also the fact that it was Ramadan. The food was delicious (we all got tagines and couscous). Prices were in line with similar restaurants in Marrakech. We had only wonderful experiences with all of the staff at this restaurant and riad. As a side-note, my family booked the large room at the riad and it was truly palatial and gorgeous.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank clarissahp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dar essalam r, Gérant at Dar Essalam, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

Dear Clarissahp,

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your meal in Restaurant Dar essalam and acknowledge so many positive elements, your kind comments are highly appreciated
Thank your for spreading the word on here, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon
Warm regards
Sincerely yours
mohamed el karnighi
owner manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018

Alfred Hitchkock filmed "The man who new too much" in this restaurant. Great place. Food was really good. The show was great very entertaining.

Thank tere1vane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dar essalam r, Gérant at Dar Essalam, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

Dear Customer,

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your meal in Restaurant Dar essalam and acknowledge so many positive elements, your kind comments are highly appreciated
Thank your for spreading the word on here, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon
Warm regards
Sincerely yours
mohamed el karnighi
owner manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018

Lunched here in out tour trough Marrakech. It was our guide selection.
Restaurant interior is very nice, loved the decor.
Regarding the food it was selected 3 course menu: salads, tagine and sweets. tasty, but not extraordinary.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wondereyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dar essalam r, Gérant at Dar Essalam, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

Dear Customer,

Thank you so much for your thoughtful review! We believe that our interior decoration is our greatest asset, and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal in the restaurant your kind comments are highly appreciated
Thank you once again for your comments and for your support and we look forward to welcoming you back to dar essalam
Sincerely
mohamed el karnighi,
owner manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dar Essalam also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Dar Essalam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing