We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
16
24
11
2
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
24
11
2
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We only stayed here for 1 night (before flying back home). Beautiful gardens and swimming pool (kids jumped in half an hour after arriving). Decor and furnishings really nice. Rooms nice. We had a problem with air conditioning (blowing hot air - when it was 36 degrees). Staff very helpful and changed rooms for us, also arranged for us to have an early breakfast prior to our departure.
Supermarket 2 mins walk around the corner which was pretty well stocked with most things. Fruit and veg stall outside supermarket (5am-10pm daily). Great Pizza place 10 min walk from Villaguest.
We had already spent 4 days in the Medina so didn't feel the need to go into town. Just wanted to relax before heading home. Wished we could have stayed here longer and would definitely recommend to anyone wanting to escape the hustle and bustle of Marrakech life. Great for families with kids and also for large groups.

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melissa990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We stayed for a week in this hotel with 2 kids. The hotel is set just outside the old town in a quiet neighbourhood. The staff is very friendly and works around the clock to make you feel welcome and at home. The beds are really good and comfortable. The shower in our room wasn't so great, too hot and then all of a sudden the water went cold. The villa itself could use some maintanence too. A good paintjob and some minor repairs would make the stay even more pleasant.
The pool is very nice. There are free sunbeds but I found them a bit uncomfortable (due to chronic backpains). The garden is very nice and secluded. A pleasant place for reading if you need a little escape from the busy city.
If it is your first stay in Marrakech, do some reading about the culture and customs of the country. Marrakech is fastly becoming a modern metropole so you can find restaurants, shops and entertainment for every budget. Besides a few large aquaparks, there isn't a lot of childfriendly entertainment, but in our case our kids enjoyed themselves everyday with cats and their kittens, found on every corner :-)
There are no hammam or spa-facilities in the villa even though the owner advertises it! You could use those situated uproad but we decided not to so I can't tell anything about it.

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G11ling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Villa Guest has pleasant gardens and a friendly welcome from which ever manager seems to be around at the time. January will find the B&B nearly empty. We changed rooms once as there is no ventilation for the bathrooms which are in the room you are sleeping in, causing a lot of damp atmosphere/smell. Given that it is January, the swimming pool is too cold to use, but nice to sit around for reading in the afternoon sun. There is no service for making tea or coffee anywhere in the room. The Hammam/ Spa is not working! This was such a shame as that was the one thing we were looking forward to using on a quiet evening. We used the public Hammam, which cost 12md = .90p which was great and my husband and I really enjoyed. Single sex, steam baths and a wonderful opportunity to meet some of the local ladies. Do not be put off by the scare stories of travelling on the local bus which is 4md into town. It is safe and you must be aware and confident. Day trips are very expensive. We took one as an opportunity for some photography. All it was was a driver on commission taking us to prearranged tourist traps for buying stuff. Very disappointing. The Best thing is to hire a car, 25- 40 Euro pd, buy a good map and be a relaxed and confident driver. The marrakech drivers seem reckless but they aren't, they drive at the speed limits set and overtake carts and smaller traffic, makes sense? Going where we wanted and when without anyone else trying to dictate to us for their own interest was fantastic. We stayed for a week so I became aware of a few issues: Unsafe electrics in shower area of room. Room no4 has a damaged lock and handle. Rubbish is burnt throughout the night and part of the day close to the villa, which gets into your rooms, clothes and lungs. Spa Not working. Evening meals offered overpriced. Night time in Jan cold so take extra woolies. NO SAFE in room. It states on website there is, but there is NOT. The picture of the Pool on the website is not the real one. The young men that work at the Villa on the reception are only allowed to call the deputy manager via a fax machine for anything that you might need help or advice with. This causes delays and misunderstandings. We had our expensive day trip delayed by 1.5 hours. If you decide to stay at the B&B, just use it as a base and be as independent as possible.

Room tip: The room at the back overlooking the pool with a private veranda and views.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catharine l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Pleasant gardens with lovely terrace outside Marrakech, this is a large Villa with 10 bedrooms. It is a cab ride to Marrakech but you can use the hotel's cab service ( which is sensible given that everyone seems to get lost in Marrakech so you cant assume a cab driver will know where they are going and it is at least a 10 mins drive). Breakfast basic. Beds clean but hard mattresses. Everyone charming and keen to make you welcome. We had a problem with the smell of sewage from en suite on our first night but they changed our room and it was fine. My Children very relaxed here with pool and away from hectic hustle of the centre of Marrakech. Lots of birds to watch! Staff very helpful.

Room tip: Lovely bedroom at back of house overlooking pool had own terrace which looked lovely.
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

To start with, I guess the important thing here is to recognise that this is not a hotel. It is in fact a B&B. However, unlike a normal B&B, you have your own ensuite in your room which includes, toilet, vanity basin and shower. The room is fully air-conditioned, which is a necessity.

One important tip. Part of the offering at Villaguest includes transfers from the airport. When we arrived there was no one there to collect us and we paid a premium for a taxi to take us to our accommodation. When I queried this with Villaguest, I was told that you MUST send a specific email to them to advise specific arrival time and date. At no point was this made clear when I made the booking. So make sure this is done and a smooth arrival will be ensured.

On arrival we were greeted with the best tasting Moroccan mint tea, while we filled out their check in form.
While there, we had the run of the house, which is a largish villa with 2 large lounge rooms on the ground floor taking up most of that level. There was only one other family there during our stay so we basically had the place to ourselves.
The large pool at the back of the property was crystal clear and a pleasure to use in the 40+ degree heat.
Rooms are refreshed every day and breakfast is included in the daily tariff. While breakfast is basic it is was very filling and we enjoyed it daily.
The 2 main staff members were extremely helpful, spoke English, and went out of their way to assist. No request was too much and it felt very personalised.
Going into Marrakesh, Medina, made me extremely gratefull to be staying out of that congested part of the city. One way transport into Marrakesh was the equivalent of 5 euros per trip, using Villaguest's own vehicle.
All in all, a great stay and I would stay there again.

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jimdotcom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews