We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
12
21
9
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
21
9
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mattresses gueliz heating hairdryer property noise medina
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2018 via mobile

I feel bad for writing a terrible review but our night at this hotel was very frustrating. We were a group of 5 staying just one night and wanted to be close to the bus station. We only had 2 made-up beds (king singles side-by-side) and the other 3 people were expected to sleep on the padded benches in the lounge (which was actually quite spacious). We asked for more bedding 3 times and their response was ‘we will try’. Finally we got some pillows, sheets and blanket at midnight! We tried talking to the manager in the morning but they didn’t really care and didn’t give a refund for any of the cost. The beds and benches were all very hard and uncomfortable. It was very degrading being laughed at by the staff as they did nothing to try and improve our stay. Won’t be staying here again.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
4  Thank agferguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018

After a very bad riad where was no haeting in february we moved to this hotel. The heating was working very well, the room was big the bathroom was clean and warm :-) The breakfast was good, the staff was very very friendly and helpful. After the first terrible night in Marrakech in a riad they made you stay excellent! They organized a sight seeing tour with Mohamed who was a very kind and professional driver with his van. They have a pool as well, but the weather was cold, so we did not used it. (outdoor pool)

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank andras79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

The location of the hotel was good it's near Carre Eden and some restaurants and shops. The breakfast was plain and simple nothing special about it. The room was quite spacious for 3 persons but there's a lot of basic necessities that were missjng. We need to ask them for towels! Also, there's no bottled water provided in the room. Lastly, the elevator was so small and slow.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank werdcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2017

I'm not sure how the Moroccan hotel star system works, but this 4 star property wouldn't earn that rating anywhere else. It's 3 star at best, but since the rates are generally 3 star prices, that seems fair enough. It's just all too 'basic' to deserve that fourth award.

The location isn't ideal for the major sights of Marrakech, being located in the modern town of Gueliz, very close to the railway station and the airport, but about a 45 minute walk to the medina and the ancient sites. The neighbourhood does have a lot of restaurants, shops, supermarkets, cafes and the modern brand stores imported from the US and Europe. If you want Starbucks & McDonalds, they're within walking distance.

The lobby is large and decorated in traditional style. The staff are welcoming and have good language skills. You'll be offered Moroccan tea on arrival. The lobby cafe has indoor and outdoor seating and offers a good menu of local and international dishes.

There are separate buildings, some of which are labelled 'residences'. The corridors are a bit sparse, all of which are lined with tubs of cat litter, which is just weird. I did see some cats drinking from the swimming pool. but none on the hotel floors. I did wonder if there is a rodent problem, hence the cat prescence, but I never saw any evidence.

The rooms are comfortable enough, but the furniture is old. There's no desk and the only chair is a cheap metal folding chair. There is a fridge, but it wasn't plugged in. The room has good aircon and heating, but is limited in power outlets. There's no bottled water, tea, coffee, kettle, all things most 4 star properties provide. There's a flat screen TV with a vast selection of international channels. There's reliable, free WIFI throughout the hotel.

The beds are rock hard. Really uncomfortable mattresses and pillows, but the bedding is all super clean. The same is true of the towels, but the bathroom space is very cramped. The shower is a real problem as it consists of a plastic curtain that provides no protection from water of any kind and the pan has bad drainage. The floor is completely flooded every time. You will be needing your towels to soak up the mass of water. They provide shampoo, soap, hair dryer.

The rooms have absolutely no sound proofing at all. You may as well all be in one dorm. You'll hear everything from the next rooms. EVERYTHING. One woman had a hacking cough that was so bad - leaving aside she shouldn't have been in a hotel infecting everybody - she may as well have been coughing in my ear all night. TVs from other rooms will keep you awake, as will the sounds from the bathrooms. It's ludicrous.

Breakfast is tricky. It's either served in a cold, austere, somewhat ugly banquet hall with really grubby table linens or it's in the lobby cafe. Changes from day to day. If it's in the cafe, all is good as you can choose from the menu including coffee drinks. In the nasty banquet hall, it's all served buffet style, with watered juice, an urn of coffee and congealed eggs. There is no fruit or yogurt on either the buffet or the menu, cut tomatoes excepted. Why they switch the breakfast around isn't clear.

All rooms have balconies, but the view isn't all that great, even if you're on the front of the hotel. There is a large swimming pool, but it's not very well situated, being squeezed in between two buildings and always in shadow, hence it's always cold in the water and around the edge. This is where the hotel cats come to drink too, as do the pigeons. Rather off putting.

The noise issues and the basic amenities, plus the unclean banquet room all knock the stars off this property. Don't expect four star service, but then, you're not being charged for it. It's well suited for Gueliz and reasonably easy for the heart of Marrakech, but the noise is really difficult to deal with.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Jarko2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017

Very helpfull staff: at the reception Abdul, Samir, Hassan, in dinning room the cook , all nice, patient and smiling
Minutes walk from train station. Straight bus line 1 to the Medina.
Room clean and comfortable.
Breakfast nice and fresh prepared.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank azul58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews