We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location if driving. And excellent food!”
Review of Riad Layalina Fez

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Layalina Fez
Ranked #7 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2017

This was a great riad with private parking close to the gate of the medina. It is very close to one of the access points to get on top of the old medina walls. The small window out of the shower looks out over the medina walls. The souk is 2 minutes away from the front door by walking. We had the superior double room with king bed and it was a large room. The mattress was pretty stiff like I like it and the frame of the bed is built into the floor so it doesn't squeak at all. Several of the employees speak at least a little english.

Breakfast was good and the mandarins here were the best mandarins we had in all of Morocco. The Tajine dinner is enormous and tasty...two people can't finish it, try as we might. We also did the cooking tour and class where you go to the souk to see and sample the ingrediants being bought and learn to make Tajine later. The hotel guide was great and also helped us find our way to a little art gallery to find a painting. The class was informative (and we learned we'll never take the time to cook Tajine at home) but the cook doesn't speak English. We lucked out though that the manager's wife (who is American) was able to come by and translate for us.

You will need to have euros or Dirham for the room, tours, and cooking class. Email the riad after you book and they will send you good detailed instructions for how to find them. We stayed right before Christmas 2016.

Room Tip: The superior double with king has a stiff mattress, which is great if you prefer that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RamblingManTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (575)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 52 of 575 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

My husband and I had a fantastic stay in this gorgeous Riad. Jaffa our host was very helpful during our stay, showing us areas to visit in Fes and recommending restaurants to try. The staff were warm, generous and made our visit to fez very memorable. The Riad is beautiful decorated and has a wonderful terrace where you can see right over Fes. The Riad is in an excellent location and was easy to find our way in and out of the medina as it is just off the main road of the medina. If I return to fez I will definitely be back!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tash B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

Fantastically located 1 minutes from the souk, the main door entrance, 20
Minutes walk from the royal palace.

This has been the best Riad visited during the trip, in terms of elegance, detail attention, lookalike. And also the most expensive one, of course.

Rooms were a little bit cold, wifi was working with hick-up.

The managers were nice, although maybe because Fes is a much bigger city, less talkative and maybe they were only trying to be discrete.

Welcome food and breakfast were really nice and well presented.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Francesca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Pros:
-good location, close to the main sights but away from the craziness
-very helpful and attentive staff, no hassle
-good value for money, free water and tea and welcome snack
- good roof terrace and pretty courtyard
-hearty breakfast and good dinner (we got beef, almond and prune tangine which was delicious)
-would recommend people to stay here

Some Cons:
-next to road so can be a bit noisy if you are a light sleeper due to cars and motorbikes
-superior room is spacious with ensuite but if you want to sleep in you may be disturbed from 8am onwards since it is above the kitchen
-drainage in the shower needs unclogged so it drains quicker but I'm sure they will look into it once they see this

Day trips:
We took the trip to volubilis (which was really fun) and Meknes with Ali. His English is good enough and we had a nice day out. Only downside is that he took us to a poor lunch place which wasn't great - would have preferred to have the grilled meat in the town centre of moulay idriss. However he said he needed to go to the mosque whilst we ate so we didn't want any hassle.. Meknes was fun but highlight is volubilis if you don't fancy a whole day out

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Michael S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017

Beautiful riad, wonderful staff. Could not have had a more pleasant stay. We loved the courtyard, the room, and the incredibly personable, kind, and helpful staff. Will stay here again next time we're in Fes!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jaquen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.3 km away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.5 km away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#8 of 100 in Fes
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#5 of 100 in Fes
989 reviews
0.7 km away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
0.6 km away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#6 of 100 in Fes
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Layalina Fez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Layalina Fez

Address: 10 Bis Derb el Miter | Aïn Azliten, Fes 30000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Price Range: €55 - €127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Layalina Fez 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad is ideally located in the medina of Fes, 50 metres from the main street, nearby Bab Boujloud the famous “blue gate”. Access is very easy, with secure parking at the foot of the riad. Completely renovated in 2010, the ryad has very high quality traditional decorations. Quiet and peaceful, the hotel benefits from its own private pool. You will be able to rest in the traditional Moroccan courtyard, by the swimming pool, or on the four-level, with it’s stunning 360° view over all Fes medina. Layalina guest house is comprised of 5 bedrooms & 2 suites. All rooms are in tadelakt, have air conditioning, heating, satellite TV and free Wi-Fi (high speed guaranteed in the entire riad). Hearty breakfast is included. When you are at the Riad, attentive staff will ensure your comfort and well-being. A restaurant and cook are at your disposal to simmer up for you the best local specialities or dishes of your choice. The true art of living in Moroccan style, and this haven of peace in the heart of the Fez Medina, will ensure you have an unforgettable stay in our guest house Riad Fes Layalina. Riad Layalina offers two accommodation options : B&B as a guest house or riad holiday rental as private, ideal for families, friends or group events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your Riad Layalina Fez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing